Skip to content

Sweet September

September 21, 2009

I’ve never liked September before this year. The only positive element has always been the running weather… This year, September has literally flown by, but it’s been a good month.

REVIEW #1


I tried my first Amazing Grass… This was Green Super Food. I mixed one packet in the shaker with about 9 oz of fresh water and an ice cube to chill. It took just a couple seconds to shake until it seemed well blended. I thought chugging would be in order, but actually I didn’t have to. It really wasn’t bad. The smell was pretty neutral and the taste was, how can I describe it? Not bad.

The directions say to take it first thing in the morning with water, juice or a smoothie. I think it could really blend well into a smoothie with some blueberries and bananas. This might be my next application for the Greens SuperFood

The website lists the many benefits of this powder and they include:

 A delicious drink powder to help you achieve your recommended 5 to 9 daily servings of fruits and vegetables

 Naturally balanced source of antioxidants, B- vitamins, carotenoids, phytonutrients, enzymes, dietary fiber and essential fatty acids

 Sustains energy naturally and boosts your immune system

 Great for detoxifying and cleanses

 Probiotics and enzymes to aid digestion and absorption

 Complete raw food with powerful antioxidants

 Alkaline green plant foods help balance acidic pH levels

 More organic whole leaf greens per gram than any of the leading ‘green drinks’ – not from juice

 Featuring Sambazon organic pure acai and organic maca

 No soy lecithin fillers

 Non dairy, Gluten free, Non-GMO, Vegan

 Certified Organic

The ingredient list 1. Is crazy, 2. Made my mom laugh, and 3. Is very impressive! The Amazing Grass includes things like spinach and broccoli, but also more exotic items like alfalfa, maca, and acai. This company’s commitment to organic ingredients mean a lot to me. The thing that really catches my eye is the probiotics, because I don’t get a lot of yogurt or other healthy bacteria anymore.

Basically, I felt this was a really great all natural liquid vitamin. It takes two minutes to drink and you feel great after…

TWO THUMBS UP!

For breakfast has been quick for the past couple days, pitas stuffed with peanut butter, honey or protein brownie batter.

I love these pitas! They’re packed with protein, fiber and contain flax! They’re not expensive and actually taste Yummy.

Review #2

I had an amazing Greens + bar with lunch. I tried it and I enjoyed it… I would defiantly eat a bar like this in a situation with no veggies (gasp). It didn’t wow me with flavor, and Miss Jenna spit it out. I wouldn’t look forward to this bar, but I see when it would become super useful when life gets crazy.

The ingredient list is very impressive, the macro breakdown is decent, but the micros steal the show: it has plenty of vitamins and minerals and probiotics to keep your body happy. This bar actually deserves the title of “energy bar” because I was buzzing after I had this with lunch.

Ingredient List:

Organic Dates, Organic Agave Nectar, Amazing Grass Green SuperFood (Organic Wheat Grass, Organic Barley Grass, Organic Alfalfa, Organic Spirulina, Organic Spinach, Organic Chlorella, Organic Broccoli, Organic Acai, Organic Maca, Organic Carrot, Organic Beet, Raspberry, Organic Rose Hips, Pineapple, Green Tea, Organic Flax Lignans, L. Adidophilus, Alpha and Beta Amylase, Protease, Lipase, Lactase, Cellulase, Organic Peppermint), Organic Cashews, Organic Almond Butter, Organic Almonds, Organic Sunflower Seeds, Organic Dried Cranberries, Organic Pumpkin Seeds, Organic Dried Coconut and Organic Vanilla Extract. Allergy Information: Contains Almonds and Cashews

Overall, thumbs up

The following food is in a random order because I really have no I idea what day it belongs to! Haha…

French toast oats with chocolate caramel chai tea, cocoa nibs, Vanilla HazelAlmond butter with Flax, and a bruleed banana a la chocolate covered Katie.

Greek Salad with everything… and Tofurkey!!! I dressed it with loose hummus and topped with veggie parm.

This whole grain bun if filled with Naturally More peanut butter and a pear… toasted…. It’s the perfect hearty combination after a long swim.

Dinner after babysitting was cereal with cocoa nibs… I had another bowl with granola and a banana. Delish! Yah… Gourmet? Nah…

The best chocolate banana whip with the works: coco nibs, instant espresso and cashadamia butter.

Tofurky grilled wrap with a rainbow of veggies before the big Vegan dinner.

And I present, the Speaker Recognition dinner for the 2009 NY Vegetarian Expo.

We started with a cold grilled veggie course. It had portabellas, which made me happy and everything was marinated in balsamic and oil. The oil part made it a little greasy.

Next was an unpicuted salad course with a sad vegan dinner roll.

The main dish was tofu raviolis in roasted red pepper sauce with mixed veggies. The veggies did not impress me at all, but the ravioli was good. I would prefer the sauce spicier, but I really liked the chance to eat raviolis again!

Dessert was a poached pear in Chianti syrup. It was nice, but not impressive. Ok, I know, I’m a critic.

George Eisman spoke, which was AWESOME! He talked about going dairy free for cancer prevention and it just made so much sense. He was really down to earth and I hope to read his books and hear him speak again soon. Two thumbs up, George!!

Review #3

I tried wheat grass. It smells like sludge and tastes like it smells. I would drink Greens SuperFood a million times over instead of wheat grass.

Chugging effort… not good.

Thumbs down.

 

These are my cocoa nibs by the way…. HYPER delicious!!

LaraBar sent me 4 bars! I’m so excited! I love these guys; they’re the bomb… for sure.

This sums everything up leading up to the Expo… big expo post coming your way!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 21, 2009 2:35 pm

    That all looks fun and delicious! I must admit one thing I really miss in college is banana whips, haha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

