Skip to content

“Deep in Figgy Chocolate”- Vegan Fig Cashew Truffles

November 15, 2009

   IMG_1696

Thank you Katie, thank you Katie, thank you Katie!

Fudge babies have been on my “to make” list since they were posted. I have an obsession with recreating Clif products, so this idea was right up my alley. I bought fresh (?) dates at the market and I felt prepared to create some vegan truffles.

IMG_1687

By fresh, I mean found in the produce section. They weren’t dry or especially shriveled so I’m taking it these were “fresh dates.”

IMG_1688IMG_1690

I used this fig medley; I realize they’re “gently” preserved with some icky ingredients… Next time I’ll hopefully be able to find organic. My nuts of choice were cashews. These seemed  especially oily!!

IMG_1691

Once I had beautiful balls of figgy dark chocolate, I was ready to take it to the next level… :-P

Haha I don’t typically have success with melted chocolate. I seize it EVERY TIME, even using Alton Brown’s fool proof directions. It’s either too thick or seized.

Today I decided to skip the double broiler and heating pad and just try the easy route: Mr. Microwave! In a ceramic bowl, I combined 2/3 cup vegan chocolate chips and 1 tbsp coconut oil then melted it in 20 second bursts, whisking in between.

And success!! Finally, after years of making my life too difficult and making a mess, I found the microwave works great, and I think it even kept its temper. Nice, nice!

IMG_1693 

Dip, dip dip… sprinkle sprinkle. Viola!

IMG_1696

Here’s the recipe… and the printer-friendly recipe!

  • 6.5 oz dates
  • 2 oz figs, dried
  • 1/2 tbsp prepared espresso
  • 1/4 cup quality cocoa powder
  • 3 oz cashews
  • pinch salt
  • 2/3 cup vegan dark chocolate chips
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • Toppers such as non-perils, course sugar, additional cashews etc.

Process the dates, figs and espresso until a very smooth paste is formed. Add the cocoa powder and salt, process in. Add the cashews and pulse in until they’re the desired size.

With water-moistened hands, roll 20- 22 small truffles.

In a ceramic bowl, add the chocolate chips and coconut oil. Microwave it for 20 seconds at a time, stirring in between until just melted.

Dip each into the chocolate:

  • drop into bowl with spoon
  • roll in chocolate, then transfer to fork
  • tap the fork on edge of the bowl, forcing the excess chocolate to drip off
  • transfer to waxed paper or small candy cups
  • If the chocolate gets too thick, remove all utensils and heat for 15-20 more seconds.

Top each truffle with optional toppings and let cool in a 68 degree room. (Chocolate hardens best at this temperature. :-P)

Oh and P.S.: you won’t use all the chocolate…. ohhhh no you won’t! Stick around to find out what to do with your leftover!! :-D :-D

I hope you enjoy my variation!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2009 7:23 pm

    Holy amazingness, you are a culinary SUPERSTAR! Wow, those look awesome! Waaaay waaay better than anything I’ve ever made! You have a serious talent, girl!

    • ohhmay permalink
      November 15, 2009 11:39 pm

      Thank YOU so so much for this recipe!! It’s great to treat my family and friends to vegan truffles that aren’t horrible for them…You rock Katie! Thanks again!

Trackbacks

  1. P-p-p-pressure… « Ohh May…
  2. Renewed hope for Charlie? « Ohh May…
  3. Sweating out a bad evening. « Ohh May…
  4. And when I arrive… « Ohh May…
  5. Frozen Chocolate Dipped Banana Pops « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

