Skip to content

A Real, Live Fudge Baby!!

December 13, 2009

IMG_2146

A little fudge baby to play with!

IMG_2139

At 1:11, Trevor Michael was born. He is so beautiful!! He’s my cousin’s first baby, and she delivered him without any medication. Now that’s inspiration! :-P

We’re so excited to have an infant to play with around the holidays. My cousin and I (and our whole family!) are so, so close and I’m so happy to see her as a Momma!

P.S. The baby’s momma’s name is Katie, so it reminded me of Chocolate-Covered Katie and her fudge babies

This brings me to the recipe of the day:

2newrecipe Power Fudge Babies!

I love the concept of fudge babies, and recently as I’ve been eating less soy it’s hard to find an on-the-go protein filled snack or bar. Enter power fudge babies!!

IMG_2099

These pack protein, chocolate-y goodness, greens and energy in each three truffle serving! I’m not much into calories, but three Power Fudge Babies contain just 145 calories, packing 9 grams of protein and 5 grams of fiber!

  • 9 oz medjool dates, for me it was about 12
  • 2 oz Jay Robb Chocolate egg white or brown rice protein powder
  • 3 scoops Amazing Grass Chocolate Superfood
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • about 1-2 tbsp water (or espresso)
  • 1/3 cup coconut, chopped nuts or seeds
  • optional: 3 tbsp ground espresso

Directions: in a food processor, process the dates then add each powder ingredient individually, processing in between. Add the liquid as necessary to form a thick dough.

With wet hands, form the fudge dough into balls. Resist from consuming the chocolate in massive quantities. Roll each ball in a mixture of coconut and ground espresso, then refrigerate or freeze.

IMG_2059  IMG_2100

These are seriously so, so delicious. The flavor is rich, deep and indulgent while filling and satisfying. They’re the perfect bite to round out a meal, and each contains 3 g of protein!

These photos don’t give justice to the creamy texture or how much these taste like melty bon-bons. Ahh, so good!

Today was the Farmer’s Market, so I got an early start with a good breakfast:

IMG_2129

Without nut butter!? (I snuck some in there with my last few bites!)

IMG_2130

At work I snacked on a power baby trio. I LOVE these!!

…and an apple! Peanut butter went well today, a lot of people came to buy Christmas gifts, so I was busy! :-D

IMG_2134

While I put all the peanut butter back at the factory, my mother called with the news about baby Trevor! I rushed home, grabbed a quick hummus sandwich (on sprouted bread) and we headed to the hospital.

IMG_2147

We had everyone over for dinner after visiting the baby, so my dad cooked a pot of sauce and we had whole- wheat linguine for dinner. I love my dad’s sauce, I eat it like soup!!   

I went back for seconds and thirds, and after felt a little too full. I whipped up a batch of Saratoga’s and then munched an apple and sipped some tea.

(I don’t think I’ll ever remember to take a photo of my Piñata before I eat it!)

4News

P.S. Are you entered in Heather’s Give-a-way?! The Vita-Mix will have a new Mommy (or Daddy!) tomorrow!!

Goodnight!!

6 Comments
  1. December 13, 2009 2:06 pm

    Yay, thanks for adding me to your blogroll :) I added you to mine also :) Such a sweet baby!
    All your eats are fantastic…I really need to start switching things up instead of eating the same kind of breakfast and lunch meals daily…I am gonna try to start doing that for sure.

  2. December 13, 2009 5:40 pm

    Oh wow, Mae, this post is awesome! And you might’ve missed the last tribute post, but I’ll put ya front n center in the next one, because your awesomeness is too good not to share with the world ;)

    And um Michael? Yeah, he’s way cuter than any fuge baby I’ve eve made!

Trackbacks

  1. Live and Learn « Ohh May…
  2. Ou vous sont Noel? « Ohh May…
  3. 2009 is winding down… « Ohh May…
  4. Made to order… « Ohh May…

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

