Skip to content

Chocomize Me, Captain!!!

January 8, 2010

DSCN0284

Chocomize recently offered to let me design a few chocolate bars to review for the blog. Let me just start by saying it is the most fun I’ve had on a website… ever.DSCN0282

Chocomize is a company that makes custom chocolate bars with a choice of three bases (milk, dark, or white) and over 80 add ins. They incidentally have all of my favorite foods available to mix in!

You choose from nuts, seeds, herbs, spices, candy, dried fruits and pretty decorations. They offer a little bit of everything!! Nuts like almonds or peanuts for the traditionalists,  chipotle peppers or parsley for the experimenters, and everything in-between.

image

DSCN0281

My two flavors both had a dark chocolate base (bonus: the dark chocolate is vegan and dairy free!).

Flavor number one had pine nuts, sea salt, and crunchy almond croquant.

Flavor number two had sour cherries, sliced almonds, coffee beans and crystallized violet petals.

DSCN0283

#1: Dark chocolate. Pine nuts. Sea salt. Crunchy almond croquant.DSCN0286

DSCN0295

This was so amazing! The base dark chocolate has 58% cocoa, so it was a little sweet for me but was very creamy, smooth and rich. The sea salt was in nice, large granules and you just got one with every nibble- the perfect amount to highlight the chocolate. The pine nuts were so buttery and the almond croquant, (something I’ve never tried before) was crispy and added that perfect caramel-almond flavor note. If I could do it all again, I would choose the same combination.

5 stars out of 5. Fantastic.

#2: Dark chocolate. Sliced almonds. Sour cherries. Coffee beans. Crystallized violet petals.     

DSCN0285 DSCN0303 DSCN0304 DSCN0305

I chose this combination because I love almonds and the smell of violet. (I was very intrigued by their decoration section!!) The sour cherries and coffee beans are both favorites of mine, especially paired with chocolate and because this dark is on the sweet side, I thought it would add the perfect contrast.

It was so good! The cherry flavor really infused the whole bar and the almonds and coffee beans were the perfect textural and flavor additions.

The crystallized violet was so pretty, sparkly and different. They were sweet and crunchy and added the perfect amount of “pizzazz”.

If I had to pick a favorite, I would choose bar #1 because I really liked the sea salt, but both were amazing!

Pros:

  • These are packed with clear wrapping so you can see your beautiful creation. It also prevents the flavors from contaminating each other. (I don’t even want to talk about my chocolate stash- the whole lot is contaminated by orange dark. :()
  • They offer the most unique add-ins and I could spend all day creating new flavors.
  • The chocolate is beautiful, rich and smooth.
  • There are plenty of options for vegans and dairy allergies!

Cons:

  • Absolutely none.

Just look at their fun decorations!!

image

Now, if I were a boy (and I’m not saying I am…) I would get me a birthday present of dark chocolate with a Happy Birthday Plaque, Gold flakes, and crunchy almond croquant. (Oh! and sea salt!) August 9th… Just sayin’ ;-)

If I were a boy (still not one) and I were to propose to my girlfriend I would so ask Chocomize if they could do a “Will You Marry Me?” plaque, then complete it with gold flakes and sugar hearts or rose petals. Maybe strawberries too.

image

If I were to get married, these would defiantly be my wedding favor… I would probably go with the dried flower mix, caramel pieces and hazelnuts. And hearts. (Those are too cute!!!!!)

& For the kids that attended the wedding I would put together something with milk chocolate and tons of candy!!

image

If I  were to thank someone for a big favor (I have some ideas of people I owe…) I would do some research and piece together a bar that’s perfect for them. :-D (Like they did for president Obama!)

All in all, Chocomize is my new favorite company. You will love it. ORDER NOW!!! (I’m not paid by the company to say this. I sincerely adored my order!)

**Update** Nick from Chocomize has offered Ohh May readers a $5 gift certificate redeemable with the code: ohhmay at checkout! Enjoy!!!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 8:59 pm

    Wow – so this review is STELLAR. You are a fantastic writer, dear. Chocomize sounds and looks wonderful :)

  2. January 9, 2010 12:42 am

    Lucky you! Those chocolates look absolutely tasty!

    I had never seen those, are they sold in Europe?

    • ohhmay permalink
      January 9, 2010 10:37 am

      Hello! I’m not sure if you saw the comment another reader left, but they linked to this company: http://www.chocri.de... a European version of Chocomize! It’s so exciting that custom chocolate is all over the globe. Cheers, Mae

  3. Amber permalink
    January 9, 2010 3:49 am

    I hear there’s a German company that’s invented this concept, so yes, something like this is sold in Europe. They’re called chocri, and their German website is http://www.chocri.de

    Great idea!

    • ohhmay permalink
      January 9, 2010 10:35 am

      Wow! That’s awesome… I love that custom chocolate is all over the globe! ;-) Mae

  4. January 9, 2010 8:04 am

    Wow what creative chocolate ideas!

  5. January 9, 2010 10:42 pm

    OMG. I just died a little.

  6. Amber permalink
    January 10, 2010 2:43 am

    Actually, I just found out that chocri is coming to the US as http://www.createmychocolate.com!

  7. January 28, 2010 10:40 pm

    Sooo cool

Trackbacks

  1. Update « Ohh May…
  2. Two Types Of Syringes. « Ohh May…
  3. Mark My Words « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

