Skip to content

How to: Fluffy French Toast oats

January 11, 2010

This. Is. How. We. Do…

You probably see me feature “French toast oats” all the time on OhhMay. I wake up craving nothing else but warm, fluffy oat bran filled with a protein boost and topped with melting nut butter.

After receiving many questions about my specific method, I decided it was time for a how-to post. Ready?

Pour 1 cup hot water into a small non-stick sauce pan. (alternatively use 1/2 c. water and 1/2 c. milk of choice)

IMG_0039

Add 2 bags of tea. Why? Tea adds some caffeine and in the morning I don’t have time to make both coffee and oats (so I usually choose oats.) Tea infuses the entire bowl with flavor that doesn’t “burn off” like most extracts do.

 IMG_0040 

As far as what type of tea, I like something that sounds more appealing to eat rather than drink: Vanilla Caramel, French Vanilla, Gingerbread Spice, Sweet Apple Chamomile, Peppermint (for chocolate oats), Almond Tea… you get the idea!

Add 1/4 c. oat bran. Why? Oat bran is higher in both soluble fiber and protein than regular rolled oats. It cooks quicker and I feel the size of each “bran” doesn’t get in the way of the cooking eggs so it won’t get lumpy.

IMG_0042

Alternatively, you can use 1/3- 1/2 c. rolled oats and get fantastic results, just cook a little longer. This is your personal preference!!

Bring to a boil then cook for 4 minutes over medium heat.

IMG_0045

Remove the tea bags and add 1/3- 1/2 c. egg white, then whisk vigorously. Why? Egg white add protein and cooks up to be light and fluffy. I’ve tried this with whole eggs with big expectations for a super creamy and delicious result but it really didn’t make any difference.

IMG_0043 IMG_0046 

Now, I use carton egg white because it’s quick and easy but regular egg white is fine- go with 1-3 eggs worth.

IMG_0049

Cook, while stirring for about 3 minutes then add your fruit add in. Why? I love fruit in my oatmeal. It adds vitamins, minerals and tons of flavor. There are so many combinations you can try!

IMG_0050

Here are my favorite fruit add-ins:

  • 1/2 banana, split then microwave for 1 minute 20 seconds. So sweet! (Thank Miss Katie for this brilliant idea)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 apple or pear, chopped
  • 1/3- 1/2 c. blueberries (either fresh or thawed)
  • My favorite: 1/2 c. mashed kabocha squash!

Mix in spices, extract and a pinch of salt. I like 1 tsp Bourbon vanilla extract, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, or ginger. Try almond extract (5 drops) or lemon zest. Taste test!

IMG_0052 IMG_0053

IMG_0054

Plate in a big ‘ol bowl and add a scoop of nut butter.

IMG_0057 IMG_0058IMG_0059

I measured today to find out the perfect amount for me: about 15-20 grams.

Here are my all-time favorites: 

Add the rest of your toppings. (and spray with vanilla extract if your cool like me! ;-) )

IMG_0060 

 IMG_0062

Here are my all time favorite toppings:

  • Pom aerils
  • Wheat Berries
  • Granola
  • Dark chocolate chips
  • Berries: strawberries, black berries (I don’t like these cooked.)
  • Jam (especially fig)
  • Crumbled cookie or muffin style like Kath!
  • IMG_0068
  • Viola!
  • IMG_0069
  • Pose for the camera! 

Change it up! Add 1 tbsp cocoa in the first step and a packet of stevia or tsp of sugar in the last step. (In this case, my fruit add in is usually apple sauce)

Add 1 tbsp chia seeds in the first step and watch how thick and creamy your oats become!

Try different combinations of tea, fruit, extract and toppings. The options are limitless!

If you’re interested in the nutrition facts, click here. (I stopped counting calories and it’s the best thing I’ve ever done. I don’t typically measure almond butter, toppings, or fruit. This is a base recipe and depending on how hungry I am I’ll use more oat bran, almond butter and fruit/ veggie add ins.)

La Galleria de Oats: (descriptions below photo)

DSCN0158

With melted banana and pom

2010, mom camera 019

With nuit foret butter and cherries

DSCN0039

Kabocha and pear

Amazing grass, cocoa and banana

DSCN0031

With rolled oats

IMG_2437

Panettone Oats

IMG_1731

Peanut butter & fluff chocolate oats off of a chocolate covered spoon!

IMG_1580

Chocolate, topped with cookie dough nut butter

Broiled bananas and granola

Fig jam and Almond butter

Under banana bread

With Newmans’ Own Organic Ginger O’s and “Catch Me if you Can”

Sunflower seeds!

GREEN!

Layered chocolate and plain with strawberries and…

a cookie!

Granola and chocolate nut butter

Berries and cream

Pumpkin with almond butter

with prunes & plums

Chocolate chip cookie dough with chocolate chip cookies

With Adirondack Jack and cranberries

Strawberry Rhubarb

With pumpkin and Monkey Boy 

Banana oats with mixed nut butter

Cherries and chunky peanut butter

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 4:03 am

    A freaking mazing ….honestly…that is so cool…how did you get to be so cool ? :)
    I need to go back and look thru them all again for some amazing ideas…
    overload of awesome creativity :)

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    January 11, 2010 4:11 am

    i LOVE french toast and i love oats, so the two of them together = amazing. i’ll have to try your method

  3. January 11, 2010 4:48 am

    Mae,
    How are you feeling today? Better I hope!

    What a beautiful oat filled post. Thanks for the tutorial. I need to try your egg white method. I whipped mine before adding them to the oats, and I always forget the tea bag method. I think my favorite add-in would be 1/2 cup squash as well…which reminds me I still need to make your whipped frozen kabocha…and your hummus tahini tortilla pizza. Lots of Mae recipes on my t0-make list! Need to get on that. :)

    Love your header!

  4. Ruth permalink
    January 11, 2010 5:48 am

    A-MAZING! These look so good. There are so many different ways to eat oats!

  5. January 11, 2010 9:03 am

    Wow – great blog! I’ll have to come back. The only problem with these oats is ….they look too good to eat!! haha – check out my site if you wish , love new readers/opinions :) …but yeah there are no pretty pics like yours :)

  6. January 11, 2010 7:00 pm

    I am in heaven!! All these amazing breakfast combos are just to die for!!! I will make you a deal, you can babysit Starla if you make me oatmeal bowls like that!!! lol!! I am loving them all!!!! Have a great day Meagan!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. January 11, 2010 8:28 pm

    Hi, Mae! Thank you for the sweet comments! The book was worth the read. Some concepts are very abstract, but it never hurts to expose yourself to more ideas.

  8. January 28, 2010 10:39 pm

    Wow! Your bowl of French toast oats looks delishhhh!

  9. February 2, 2010 2:22 am

    I have not tried oat bran before..I need to get on that. I am an oatmeal girl all the way! I love all the variations you can use to make it different every time! My all time favorite is pumpkin! I tried the egg white version not too long ago and loved it. It completely changes the consistency of the oats!

  10. March 15, 2010 1:31 am

    i love your oats! your flavor combinations… i’m inspired :)
    and it’s nice to know i’m not the only one who thinks adding egg whites makes oats DIVINE!
    i like!
    - rebekah

Trackbacks

  1. Up to Snuff « Ohh May…
  2. Two Reasons To Eat Chocolate Before Noon « Ohh May…
  3. What Are Saturdays For? « Ohh May…
  4. Fill Me Up: Chewy Peanut Butter Cup! « Ohh May…
  5. A Real Zinger « Mish Mash Cat
  6. Rosey Sunday! « Ohh May…
  7. The Dark Knight « Ohh May…
  8. The how-to post « Viva Girl
  9. Flaw-free Barley « Ohh May…
  10. Ready-For-Me Oats « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

