Skip to content

Two Types Of Syringes.

January 26, 2010

Hello everyone!!

Last night’s dinner went great! The baby was here so I spent a lot of time playing with him. He’s so cute- if you lay him on your legs, he pretends he’s swimming. Unfortunately, I think he’s going to have a lisp. I can just see it in his eyes! ;-)

IMG_0342

Haha the lisping baby…

IMG_0330

Back to the roast from yesterday… I “seared” it under the broiler because there wasn’t space on the cook top then roasted at 350* for 80 minutes.

  IMG_0333  

The meat came out delicious according to my parents and guests but I would give it a 2.5/5. (This is not a reflection on Zesty’s recipe at all!) The “crust” was very tasty but the meat was just okay. (maybe it’s because I barely ever eat meat?)

 IMG_0339

For the pan sauce, I deglazed the roasting pan with a cup of coffee and 1/2 a cup of sherry, then finished it with beef stock and corn starch to thicken. The sauce was very, very rich and I would love to make that again.

IMG_0335

I’m not publishing the recipe because I wasn’t fully satisfied, but coffee+meat: you haven’t beaten me just yet!

Vegetarian readers, I hope I don’t loose you here but I’m really interested in experimenting with meat syringes. I think it would be a much more effective way to impart flavor into a meat when you’re short on time line. Marinates penetrate only ~.66 cm, so they’re rather ineffective for large cuts (Wolke 230). If anyone has experience with this kind of thing, let me know!

Veggies: I would love to experiment with “syringe-stuffed” tofu, eggplant, and other veg. friendly things so there will be something for everyone! ;-) Any suggestions?

Back to dinner, my father made classic mashed potatoes (with cream and butter) and I diced butternut squash and sweet potatoes then roasted them in olive oil and salt on 400* for 40 minutes. That was my favorite part of the meal!

IMG_0337

IMG_0340This is the first meal at our house with the baby!

IMG_0341

Nobody puts Baby in a corner.

- – - -

This morning I craved green so I whipped up a green chocolate S.I.A.B.

IMG_0346

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 ice cubes
  • 1 (8-10 g) scoop Amazing grass, chocolate
  • 1 (25-30 g) scoop Jay Robb, chocolate egg white
  • 8 g cocoa powder
  • xanthen and guar gum
  • 2 large handfuls of spinach

Toppings:

  • Coffee beans
  • Udi’s granola, vanilla
  • 1/2 banana
  • Vanilla extract (from a spray bottle of course!)

Either my stomach just hates meat or it’s not used to it because it hurt all night and I felt sick (but hungry) this morning. The smoothie fixed some of my tummy trouble. Partial vegetarians: do you feel sick when you eat meat after taking a break for a while?

~~~

I’m getting a little more nervous for my first prolotherapy session tonight. I’m trying to be cool with several syringes in my ankle but the thought has me a little anxious. I’m actually really excited to try it, and I’m not afraid of pain or needles… mostly of driving home when it’s over. I don’t know how that’s going to feel!! haha

I’m planning on doing a full post about the experience. I may or may not be under the influence of Hydros tonight so posting will resume when I’m back from la-la land!

~~~

Remember the Chocómize review? I made my Aunt Mary a custom chocolate bar for her birthday. Look at the fun ingredients!

image

 

Katie, thank you for the shout out today! (Mudslide oats are amazing. TRY THEM.

Have a good day everyone!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 2:06 am

    Re the last question: Not really, because the only time I go back to meat is when I’m craving it and so very much in the mood to eat it.

  2. January 26, 2010 2:08 am

    Your steak looks delicious! But like you, I don’t eat meat very often, and I do have some digestive problems when I do eat it!

  3. Daniela permalink
    January 26, 2010 3:58 am

    Hi there!
    1.) As a partial vegetarian I can only seem to eat fish now without getting sick. I can manage a little chicken but man does it make me feel lousy.
    2.) I just got through many sessions of prolo and it saved my life. I had many torn tissues (as well as torn dics in my spine) and was in so much pain I could not work.
    1.5 years later I’ve moved to London and am loving my life and am well on my way to a pain free life. Mind you I had disc injections as well as prolo but if you have the right doctor the stuff is amazing. If you have any question please ask away!
    All the best,
    Daniela

  4. January 26, 2010 4:20 am

    Hi Mae
    The baby is so sweet.
    I am not vegetarian…but I would assume that u felt achy cause u are not used to it…but if u keep it up more, it will get better..all normal!

  5. January 26, 2010 4:49 am

    What a cutie pie! Can’t wait to hear about your experience–hope it goes well!

  6. Jenna Quick permalink
    January 26, 2010 5:14 am

    Aww he’s so little!! Hahaha he is soooo gonna have a lisp! :D good times.
    Good luck at the doctor’s!

    • January 26, 2010 8:44 am

      Hahahahaha Jenna in a year when that boy starts speaking, you’ll see what I mean. And I’ve seen pictures of baby Drew- I hate to tell you but he might stutter. :-P

      • Jenna Quick permalink
        January 26, 2010 9:19 am

        hahaa he doesn’t believe me. He’s a very clear speaker. VERY clear. and very loud :) and he says Nenna when he wants something. That’s me by the way. He can’t say J’s yet cuz he’s a baby and all….. soooo it’s pretty cool…. except for the fact that anything he wants (i.e. the remote, the nasty baby food, etc) is called Nenna so he doesn’t know that that’s me yet. He can just say it :-p

  7. January 26, 2010 6:05 am

    Adorable baby, great SIAB!

  8. January 26, 2010 6:26 am

    Aww Mae, honestly I would feature you every single stinkin day if I could… you’re one of my favorite bloggers! And obviously one of my OTHER favorite bloggers noticed your talents too (Miss Heather!).

    You rock, Mae!

  9. January 26, 2010 7:58 am

    Aww that baby is adorable:)
    I’ve never even heard of SIAB Before!!! It looks pretty good though!
    The butternut squash & sweet potatoes also look super delicious!:)

  10. January 26, 2010 8:34 am

    Good luck tonight!!

    And that baby is too cute! I love babies!

    I’m a partial vegetarian in that I only eat chicken and fish/seafood. But even now, sometimes when I eat chicken my tummy hurts. The thought of red meat… yikes! My body would not know how to react as I haven’t had that in about 7 years now. But the squash and sweet potatoes sound great!

    There’s nothing a lot of GREEN goodness can’t fix! :)

  11. January 26, 2010 9:28 am

    What a cute baby! I love how they do that swiming thing. THey have so many odd reflexes when they are tiny.

    *2 great giveaways going on @ monicaonthego.com, yoga mat bag and perfume/lip gloss gift set*

  12. January 26, 2010 10:43 am

    I rarely ate meat before I became a vegetarian. But when I had a burger for the first time in a while, my stomach ALWAYS hurt afterward. Same thing with added sugar and other things I haven’t had in a while. I think your body just gets used to not having it.

  13. January 26, 2010 12:23 pm

    Hi Mae! I just stumbled upon your blog thanks to HEAB. I ABSOLUTELY adore you and your creations. Keep it up!

  14. January 26, 2010 2:50 pm

    Love the sweet taters with this dinner!!

    Your blog is great doll!

    XXOO

  15. January 26, 2010 8:31 pm

    Hi Mae!

    I came across your blog on HEAB and CCV–and I’m glad I did! I’m especially obsessed with your chocolate mudslide oatmeal with the addition of instant coffee. I’m now on a complete caffeine high (because I also had my morning giant cuppa joe). Thanks for having such a fun blog!

    -Monica

  16. January 26, 2010 10:01 pm

    Even if it didn’t taste all that great, the roast still looks good! I rarely eat red meat so I tend to get tummy aches when I do asw well. I think it’s an adaptation thing..
    Kudos for wanting to try a marinade injector. We use the injector on roast chickens now and again or we go with a 24-hour brine. I haven’t heard of brining red meat, but it’d be worth a try!

  17. January 26, 2010 11:56 pm

    Syringed tofu sounds really interesting. I think it would definitely work! I’m excited to see what you come up with :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

