Skip to content

Cheesecake Protein Ice Cream

January 28, 2010

Heather, you genius you. Why haven’t I made protein ice cream before?

I love this treat after a workout or for a substantial dessert. Lately I’ve been adding a secret ingredient though:

Nutritional Yeast!! (I’m slightly obsessed. Can you tell??)

IMG_0259

I know it may sound weird, but nut. yeast gives the ice cream that light cheese taste that reminds me of cheesecake! It’s so easy too:

  • 4 large ice cubes
  • 40 g frozen fruit of choice (banana, strawberries, blueberries, squash-pictured above)
  • 3/4 c. Almond milk
  • 1/4 tsp xanthen gum, 1/4 tsp guar gum
  • 20-30 g Jay Robb protein powder (Chocolate or vanilla, egg white or rice)
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast (adjust to taste!)

Crush the ice and fruit then add the rest of the ingredients and blend ‘er up!

IMG_0268

Healthy Chocolate variation:

  • Add an 8 g scoop of Amazing Grass Chocolate and 1 tsp cocoa powder, chocolate protein

 

IMG_0220

Kahlua Cheesecake:

  • Add instant espresso powder and 1 tsp cocoa powder, chocolate protein

Strawberry Cheesecake:

  • 40 g frozen strawberries, vanilla protein

IMG_0291

Blueberry Cheesecake:

  • 40 g frozen blueberries, vanilla protein

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Cheesecake:

  • 40 g frozen strawberries, chocolate protein, 1 tsp cocoa powder, 1 scoop Amazing Grass Chocolate (optional)

*Edit: Reader variations!

  • Monica suggested making chocolate protein cheesecake ice cream and topping it with pecans for turtle cheesecake!

 

Top your protein-packed vegan cheesecake ice cream with crushed graham crackers or wheat germ, and Udi’s granola! ;-)

Enjoy! What wacky ingredient to you add to your food all the time?

~~~

There’s another chance to help Haiti! Click here to bid on some delicious baked goods for a great cause.

44 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 1:25 am

    Great idea for nutritional yeast! I’m slightly obsessed too! I use it in large quantities… it’s just so good. I can’t wait to try out a cheesecake ice cream recipe! Yuuuuu um.

    Another thing that I use in excess… adding it to almost everything (minus desserts) is miso. So “cheesey” and salty… hmmm… and tahini, which goes with ANYTHING out there.

    Thanks!

  2. January 28, 2010 1:53 am

    Mae,
    YOU’RE the genius. Got some kabocha in the oven right now. Will freeze half for this recipe as well as your frozen kabocha whip. I love you.

    I’ve been adding tahini to any and everything. You got me started on another tahini kick and for that I thank you. :)

  3. January 28, 2010 1:56 am

    Do you have a Vita? I don’t but I want to try making these recipes and hope they come out just as great!

  4. January 28, 2010 1:57 am

    Ok, so I’ve definitely thought about adding nooch to my smoothies, but I’ve never actually done it before…You’re an adventurous soul! I’m totally going to try this in a chocolate smoothie. With some pecans on top? Chocolate Turtle Cheescake smoothie!

    Also, I add miso paste to EVERYTHING! Well, everything savory–it would be funky in brownies. Spaghetti sauce, baked potatoes, pizza dough (yes, it does work!)…

    –Monica

  5. Lexi permalink
    January 28, 2010 1:57 am

    Your protein ice creams looks so good!!! To sweet foods, I usually don’t add much, but I add pepper to most savory foods that I eat!

    P.S. The color of that blueberry variety is so beautiful!

    Have a great day! :-D

  6. Jenna Quick permalink
    January 28, 2010 2:50 am

    I hope it all work out Juuuulia! :D

  7. January 28, 2010 2:59 am

    Too funny girl — you and Heather coming up with these crazy concoctions with stuff I have never even heard of :)
    Craziness…Udis granola looks yum…love granola.

  8. January 28, 2010 4:28 am

    Hi Mae — I love your blog! You might know me from RWOL.

    Something I add to a lot of things lately: carob powder!

  9. January 28, 2010 5:31 am

    Oh goodness, your ice cream looks amazing!! I really need to buy some nutritional yeast – it sounds great. This is probably a dumb question, but what section would I find it in at the grocery store?

  10. January 28, 2010 5:42 am

    Nooch goes good in everything. Do peanut butter with it and agave and pumpkin-omnomnom.

  11. Rachel permalink
    January 28, 2010 9:19 am

    I’ll add Udi’s granola to almost anything! I love it :D

  12. January 28, 2010 10:19 am

    That sounds so good and so creative

    !! I’ve actually never had nutritional yeast or xanthen gum.

    I’ve been looking into protein powders and i’ve heard such good things about Jay Robb’s. I just hate it when it tastes all artificial and chalky.. yuk.

  13. January 28, 2010 8:32 pm

    Mmm anything with cheesecake in the title sounds delicious. Too bad I don’t have any xanthan gum, guar gum, or protein powder :(

    I tend to add flax to everything. I love it!

  14. January 28, 2010 9:11 pm

    I’ve got to try that sometime!

  15. January 28, 2010 10:28 pm

    Great recipes!

  16. February 6, 2010 10:30 am

    ooohh I just made the blueberry one- except with goat yogurt in there- so, so good, sweet and tangy!

  17. February 8, 2010 3:08 pm

    Ms. Mae – I have been scanning your blog and at more than one place I am seeing something about grass chocolate something. Please I must know more – where do I get this crazy grass chocolate from? and can I use it in more than just smoothies?

  18. Alyson permalink
    February 8, 2010 10:48 pm

    I’ve tried 2 different versions in the last 12 hours.. I’m in love :) Last night I did Kabocha (w/ 2 tsp PB) and for breakfast this morning it was Strawberry. I love your site, creativity, and positive attitude & energy! Look forward to learning more. Have a wonderful day!

  19. August 4, 2010 7:54 am

    oooo…I am so excited! I have been dreaming up HEAB’s Protien Ice Creams Since I found the post last month and now to add squash. How Great I LOVE IT! Thanks for the fabu Ideas. And I agreee how had I not made Protien Ice Cream Before?
    Penny

Trackbacks

  1. Make This Now « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  2. An Ode To Amazing Grass « Sweet Cheeks
  3. It’s Time To Sell Peanut Butter « Ohh May…
  4. Fashion, Function and Curry « Ohh May…
  5. Guess My Breakfast « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  6. And I Force Them To Eat Vegan Food… Again. « Ohh May…
  7. Vino Vendredi « confessions of a health nut
  8. Looks Can Be Deceiving « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  9. What I’m lovin’ « Sweet Cheeks
  10. Souper Kabocha Recipes « homecookedem's Blog
  11. Monday is the new Humpday « Ohh May…
  12. Be Present and Eat Protein Cheesecake! «
  13. Chia Seeds, Animal Fat, & Hormones « Heather Eats Almond Butter
  14. Rick and his Bee Pollen « Ohh May…
  15. I’m bringing ugly back…yeah « Making Food and Other Stuff
  16. Beanyes « Ohh May…
  17. Engagement Excitement + Guest Post: Mae from OhhMay « eating bender
  18. Ready-For-Me Oats « Ohh May…
  19. Breakfast of Champions…Nope, Not Wheaties!! « Gluten Free Muse
  20. Kitchen Essentials, Part One « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

