Skip to content

Monday is the new Humpday

February 9, 2010

I see nothing wrong with Wednesdays.  They’re half way through the week, but I think Thursday and Friday go by much quicker than Monday and Tuesday.

In my book, that makes Wednesday the 3/4 mark. I do, however, hate Mondays. I’m never organized or ready for the week. I vote Monday should be part of the weekend! What’s your favorite/ least favorite day?

Cheesecake time!!

IMG_0689

I found kabocha! Legit, 100% kabocha right from my grocer’s produce department. The produce manager (Ted, AKA Teddy Bear!) told me to not get used to it, so I bought four.

I was so excited to roast it up, freeze and make a cheesecake protein ice cream.

Chocolate Kabocha!! Yeahhhh!!!

  • 1/3 c. kabocha, roasted and frozen in chunks
  • 1/4 large banana, frozen in chunks
  • 4 ice cubes

Crush, crush crush!

  • 1 scoop chocolate Jay Robb
  • 1 scoop Amazing Grass, chocolate
  • 1.5 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Blend, blend blend!

Top with granola and coffee beans. Mmmmm best breakfast ever!

Check out Heather’s Chocolate Kabocha cheesecake, or Sweet Cheek’s Strawberry Cheesecake!

THIS JUST IN: Em’s Chocolate Kabocha Cheesecake made me drool on my AP English. Check out all her kabocha creations!!

IMG_0691

Perfect.

Do you like drinking your smoothies (or cheesecake) from a straw? Do you hate it when every single straw in the box has a hole in it? (My brother thought it would be funny. This is when I converted to spoons.)

Audrey is giving away glass straws that are guaranteed for life. Take that, Joe!

I had a treat for dinner tonight:

IMG_0695

Ahi tuna, my love. I marinated it in some soy sauce and a ginger/ sesame vinaigrette (rice wine vinegar, sesame oil, honey, ginger, and sesame seeds) then seared it as rare as possible.   IMG_0693

With burnt broccoli, sautéed mushrooms and shallots, and brown rice… err courtesy of my Uncle.

 

Ben.  

 

I’m not superwoman!

~~~

image

I spent way to much time with this diving brick today. 10 pounds is nothing, until you have to put it on your chest and try to float! Ahh!!

Have a great day everyone!!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 9:27 am

    That tuna looks like it was perfectly cooked! Pass me some please :-)

  2. February 9, 2010 9:35 am

    I love drinking from a straw! I’ve been meaning to tell you – we’ve eaten ‘burnt broccoli’ for years – just broccoli roasted until it’s dark brown/black. I always thought we called it such a funny name, and never knew anyone else that ate it that way!! I’m assuming that is what yours is too??

    And PS – Uncle Ben cooks for us alot, too. ;)

  3. February 9, 2010 9:44 am

    OMG that ahi tuna looks delicious! Move in and be my personal chef, please?! I agree about the Monday thing…Thursday and Friday aren’t nearly as bad! Friday is definitely my favorite day. I love the promise of the weekend :)

  4. February 9, 2010 10:01 am

    Floating with a 10 pound brick on your chest. Um, hellooooo, that would be hard! Love to try it. :)

    Definitely a spoon girl over here, although I think those glass straws are so cool. As far as smoothies/ice-cream go, I like to feel like I’m “eating” them, not drinking them.

    I so wish I liked seared tuna. However, not a fan. :(

    Thanks for the chocolate turd shout-out. Hehe.

  5. February 9, 2010 10:11 am

    So I totally just wrote this long comment and my internet decided to take that moment to die. Ah. Hate it when that happens… such is life.

    Anyways, your tuna looks fantastic. I love seared tuna but have never made it myself. I may try that! And smoothies with a spoon in a bowl is something i’ve been wanting to try and I think I may give it a go tomorrow.

    I also wanted to say that you are such an inspiration!!! I’m taking a trip to Whole Foods this weekend and i’m going to be looking for nutritional yeast, protein powder, chia seeds, among other things, mainly because of your blog!

  6. February 9, 2010 10:11 am

    The tuna and smoothie look great. I love eating smoothies with spoons — I always have. In fact, I did so just yesterday!
    I totally remember having to get those diving bricks from the bottom of the pool in middle school gym classes! I kind of liked it, weirdo that I am, lol!

  7. February 9, 2010 10:13 am

    MAE!! Thank you so much for the shout out!! You and HEAB both have been such inspirations to me lately!! I love all of your recipes and have enjoyed trying them out on my own. I’m definitely trying my chocolate kabocha with a banana in it next time!!

    I am definitely a spoon girl. Straws never work for me… they always get clogged, haha! ;)

    Have a good night, Mae!! :)

  8. The Brunette permalink
    February 9, 2010 10:34 am

    All I can say is… WOW. You are seriously so creative and obviously extremely passionate about food, and I look forward to seeing what new things you create! The ahi tuna looks like a restaurant meal :) Except better, because I find that restaurants tend to over-sear it, which makes it dry and sort of ICKY…

    http://brunettewalksintoabar.wordpress.com

  9. February 9, 2010 11:26 am

    Tuna looks delishhh!

  10. February 9, 2010 12:21 pm

    Your dinner looks exactly like a restaurant entree. So pretty!

  11. February 9, 2010 7:15 pm

    Haha, this post made me crack up! Your “Uncle” Ben?? I always get a little help from my bff Annie whenever I make salads ;)

    That tuna looks divine. Where did you get it? Was it frozen?

    I’ve been wanting to get make protein ice cream but haven’t gotten around to it yet … I’m expecting to see more here because it looks like you have kabocha to spare! hehe :)

    • February 9, 2010 8:53 pm

      I can’t wait to make kabocha cheesecake every day now! Haha

      The tuna was fresh from the seafood dept… My dad knows the manger there so he got it from new shipment. :-D
      Do you love how I have such close relationships with everyone from the grocery store? Haha that’s what you get when you work there as a “greeter” the whole summer!

  12. February 9, 2010 7:58 pm

    thanks for linking to me May! I agree; Mondays are now officially part of the weekend!

  13. February 9, 2010 11:03 pm

    I’m not a fan of Mondays either. Wednesdays are definitely way better because you can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel that is Friday. And I prefer straw for my smoothies. Never eaten one with a spoon actually.

  14. February 9, 2010 11:41 pm

    Holy cow, you had to float with that brick? Wow! I’d sink.

  15. February 10, 2010 1:36 am

    Monday’s actually my favorite day! I’m usually ready to start the week after the weekend.

    That tuna looks absolutely amazing!

  16. February 10, 2010 3:48 am

    By the way, I MUST agree with you on the Monday = humpday stance.
    Wednesdays usually go by in a flash…but oh, how a Monday can drag on!

  17. February 10, 2010 3:52 am

    Sorry for all the comments – I was wondering – how do I personally the little picture by my name?

  18. February 10, 2010 5:52 am

    what GREAT meals! omgsh chocolate kabocha? that is so creative!
    i actually like mondays for some reason! prob bc i have shag class (its a dance!) that day and its super fun.
    agreed-wednes and thurs go by MUCH faster!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

