Skip to content

Toastaroma

February 15, 2010

I hope everyone isn’t sick of my grocery store re-makes, because I have another one!

Have you seen this tea before?

image

I’ve always been intrigued by faux coffee, and while cleaning out the cabinets I found a whole bag of barley I didn’t know I had.

Time to make barley tea!!

I saw a tutorial on this blog and then did some research. I decided to go with the roast-grind-roast method and it ended up working really well!

 IMG_0789

Spred a little over a 1/2 c. pearled barley on a baking sheet. IMG_0793

Toast at 400* for 7 minutes, stirring on occasion until it’s very dark.IMG_0794

[They look like mini coffee beans!]

IMG_0797

IMG_0799

Grind coarsely in a coffee grinder or Magic Bullet. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Shake, then dump back out onto roasting pan.

IMG_0798

This time, roast at 300* for only 3 minutes. Let cool, then transfer to the grinder again. Grind until drip coffee ground consistency.

Add 1/4 tsp cinnamon (again) and 1 tbsp toasted wheat germ (adds viscosity).

IMG_0800

Brew 1 tbsp in 8 oz of boiling water for 6 minutes.

IMG_0801

It will look like coffee at the end. Strain.

IMG_0802IMG_0803 

Add a little almond milk, and honey or stevia, if desired.

Enjoy your yummy Fauxffee! (pronounced Foe- fee)

Vanilla Cinnamon Fauxffee

  • 1/2 c (heaping) pearled barley
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp toasted wheat germ

Directions:

  1. Roast barley at 400* for 8 minutes, stirring occasionally. (It should be dark brown, but not burnt.)
  2. Let barley cool, then coarsely grind. add the vanilla and half the cinnamon and shake together.
  3. Roast ground barley again at 300* for 3-4 minutes. Let cool.
  4. Grind until “drip coffee grounds” consistancy
  5. Stir in rest of cinnamon and wheat germ. Store in airtight jar.

To prepare:

  1. Add 1 tbsp barley tea to a loose leaf tea brewer. (or infuser)
  2. Add 8 oz boiling water and brew for 6 minutes.
  3. Pour and enjoy!

or

Bag tea using bags bought online or at a restaurant supply store. (some health food stores carry them too.)

  1. Add 1 tbsp barley tea to each bag
  2. Brew with 8 oz boiling water for 6 minutes.
  3. Remove bag and enjoy!

This makes an awesome mocha with this secret ingredient!

I love the flavor and “cling” of coffee, but not the jitters I get from it. At night it’s nice to sip on a something decaf and this doesn’t leave an icky taste in your mouth or upset the stomach.

Barley tea has an awesome roasted flavor and is more vicious than tea.

According to TouTou,

  • Barley tea may help supplement daily nutrition levels.
  • Barley tea may help improve blood sugar levels.
  • Barley tea may help in reducing bad cholesterol levels.
  • Barley tea may help protect against certain forms of cancer.
  • Barley tea may help facilitate proper digestion.
  • Barley tea may help in cleansing the body of toxins.
  • Barley tea is believed to be good in relieving early symptoms of colds.

 

~~~

How is Valentines day going for my sweet bloggies!?

I’m currently switching e-mail addresses so if I don’t get back to a comment right away, it’s most likely due to technical difficulties.

Yahoo mail keeps on spitting my organized folders (college, urgent, blog, recipes) back into my inbox so I’m mixing up the emails I answered and didn’t answer. I’m trying the new hotmail sponsored by Windows Live.

image

My new address is ohhmay@live.com. I’ll still be checking yahoo, just not using it exclusively.

[I liked gmail’s organization, but it’s SO SLOW on my computer. Did anyone else have this problem!?]

AND I redid my Google reader with the new address (because mine was a mess!). I think I subscribed to everyone’s blog, but if you would leave a comment so I make sure I didn’t leave anyone out, that would be great! [Sorry!!]

~~~

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 4:05 am

    Brilliant idea, Ms. Mae! Fauxfee… tres posh. You know, I’ve never had any trouble with Gmail, but I hope your new system works out well for you.

  2. February 15, 2010 4:07 am

    That’s so cool – does it actually taste like coffee? I don’t like coffee, but this sounds like a great fix for those trying to limit coffee intake!

  3. February 15, 2010 4:48 am

    You always have such creative ideas! What does barley tea taste like? I’ve never had problems with Gmail, but every computer is different…so frustrating!

  4. February 15, 2010 4:56 am

    oh I love the name of this post! You are so creative I have never even heard of barley tea. Also big news – I got chocolate amazing grass. I looked on your website, but it was the same price and whole foods so I bought it! I haven’t put it to use YET but I am pumped about trying it!

  5. February 15, 2010 5:20 am

    Haha thank you so much guys!
    Brittac, you will LOVE your chocolate Amazing Grass. It’s awesome!

  6. February 15, 2010 5:32 am

    Oh I love the new name Foe- fee!!!!!!!!! that’s so cool you recreate it, and now it looks very thick and coffee style :-D
    Hope you have a sweet V-day :-D

  7. February 15, 2010 6:23 am

    girl, u confuse me with all your kitchen gadgets….i can only manage a kettle :)
    happy v-day to ya pretty girl.

  8. February 15, 2010 6:24 am

    I had NO idea you could make tea with barley…awesome!

  9. February 15, 2010 6:46 am

    I love coffee too much to even attempt this, but kudos to your creativity! And Fauxfee? LOVE IT! I laughed out loud!

    I’ve never had any troubles with gmail; I actually have all of my emails filtered through it, so I only have to check one website. I bet you can do that with your hotmail account though too. Good luck!

    Happy V-Day!

  10. February 15, 2010 7:20 am

    I LOVE Celestial Seasonings! My dad lives in Boulder, CO (where it’s made) so I always stock up when I go visit.

    Barley tea is delicious, but I’ve never thought of making it myself. Thanks for the step-by-step!

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  11. February 15, 2010 7:58 am

    It looks like you had a productive day!

    I bought barley tea once at an Asian grocery store. I hated it but my Mom loved it. She drank the whole box!

  12. February 15, 2010 9:10 am

    comment! comment!

  13. February 15, 2010 10:24 am

    Thats such a cool idea! I stopped drinking coffee so this is a really awesome thing for me. Ill be making this tomorrow :)

  14. February 15, 2010 11:09 am

    I haven’t seen that flavor yet, but I do LOVE Celestial Seasonings!! :)

  15. Alyson permalink
    February 15, 2010 11:31 am

    I love faux coffees, love love love (just if the 1st love wasn’t enough :p)! I never thought to make it myself though, I’m so excited to try this. I consume silly amounts of Roastaroma, Pero and my latest, Teeccino. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  16. February 15, 2010 12:00 pm

    I love barley tea! I never knew it was considered “fake coffee” or a “coffee replacement”…but I just love the taste of it!

  17. February 15, 2010 1:42 pm

    This is SO creative. I would never in a million years dream this up…love it! :D
    I don’t drink coffee but this sure does look like the real thing.

  18. February 16, 2010 3:39 am

    barley coffee…that’s crazy! the toasted barley really does look like little coffee beans!

  19. February 16, 2010 10:41 am

    I had NO idea you could do that with barley. I don’t really like coffee, but that is fascinating.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

