Skip to content

Rosey Sunday!

February 22, 2010

Today I had had my first official blogger meet up!!

More on that in a minute.

IMG_0957

Last night’s concoction de jour was vanilla bean chunky Macarona almond butter. Ohhhh yes!

FYI, I don’t post any nut butter recipes. The reason is in working for Saratoga Peanut Butter Co. I’ve picked up techniques, and to keep them confidential I don’t share on the blog. I’m sorry!!! :-(

Breakfast…

IMG_0958

Kabocha-banana French toast oats with Vanilla Bean Almond Butter and Udi’s Granola.

IMG_0961

Look at that glob with specs of vanilla. Heaven!! 

Theeeen it was time for a blogger meet up, with my favorite Rosey Rebecca!! We met at Uncommon Grounds in Albany.

IMG_0980

IMG_0979IMG_0981 IMG_0982

I had the Jambalaya. I jumped on the opportunity as soon as I saw “dairy-free” but I completely forgot jambalaya is made with chicken. It was delicious, though!

The tea was maple spice, which was just okay.

 

 

Then. Becca introduced me to the wonders of the Honest Weight Food Co-op.

image

It rocked my world. Seriously!! I found so many things there and we spent like 2 hours gawking at all the fun foods. The bulk section was amazing!

IMG_0983

Becca, I had such an amazing time!! I’m so glad, and I can’t wait to meet up again. Shopping with another food blogger is the best thing in the world, especially if they’re as sweet as Rebecca!! (Don’t forget, her birthday’s in a month!)

 

 

~~~

The co-op LOOT.

 IMG_0984

Big coconut flakes!

 IMG_0985 IMG_0986

Agar agar agar agar!!! :-D Katie, look what I got!!

IMG_0987 IMG_0988

Turmeric and oat bran. I have a history teacher that pronounces India “Innnnnnnnnnndia” and turmeric “tooooooooooooooomer-ic” Haha he talks in my brain every time I use this spice.

IMG_0989

Grape leaves!!! Kitchen experiments to come. Ohh yeah, I feel a step by step post in my future.

IMG_0992

This picture stinks, but I got some bulk Apple Strudel Tea. It has chunks of apple in it!

IMG_0993

Bulk sunflower seed butter. Life doesn’t get much sweeter than this. Hahahaha Becca and I were a little challenged getting the butter into the containers. It was all over the place!

IMG_0990 IMG_0991

KD energy!!! A new flavor! A student at Skidmore College (Hi Katie!) came up with this recipe for a class project and launched it. I’ve seen them at local health food stores and tried the ChocoNut* over the summer. I can’t wait to try this flavor.

*image

Honest Weight is my new favorite place in the world. I had an awesome day and I CAN’T WAIT to try my new goodies.

 

I’m weird.

 

I know.

~~~

I hope everyone else had a great weekend!

Prolotherapy, round 2 tomorrow. Bahhhh.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 7:14 am

    You are so cute! OMG! :) :)
    And sweet, and funny…
    I’m just a *little* jealous of Rebecca for getting to meet you!

  2. February 22, 2010 7:24 am

    I think u are so so amazing. Do you even realize how special u are? Honestly, the comment u left for me recently Really floored me…it helps…more than u might think.
    Wish I could have a blogger meet up with ya chica :)
    Wish I could contact some companies for some free nut butter :(

  3. February 22, 2010 7:54 am

    You are so sweet!! I had a great time today! That pic of me taking a picture of my food is a bit scary though! HAHA! Glad you liked the co-op! We can move in there together! I can’t wait to hang out again!!

  4. February 22, 2010 8:08 am

    Sounds like an amazing meet up! That co-op sounds like heaven…so fun you can churn your own nut butter! Have a great night :)

  5. February 22, 2010 8:22 am

    If you’re weird, i’m right along with you :D
    The co-op sounds so cool!!! I’m jealous.

  6. February 22, 2010 8:29 am

    Awww, glad you had a fun time meeting up with a fellow blogger! Looks like yall had a great time together!! :)

  7. February 22, 2010 9:04 am

    kobacha and banana oats!! I bet that would be amazing baked…almost like a big muffin YUM! I love starting Sundays with a heart warming breakfast, love the idea!

  8. February 22, 2010 9:05 am

    Meagan!!! I just want to say I LOVE your blog! I have commented once before : ) I read your blog daily and just think you are wonderful and have such a bright future!! U are so mature for your age, i cant get over it!!!!!

    I wanted to tell you I tried the humnut tonight on my tortilla pizza and LOVED it!!!! I think you are a genius!!! It was amazing !! I have a new addiction!! Thank you for sharing this delish stuff!!!

    So cool you had a blogger meetup, I cant wait to do that one day in my area!!! Looks like you had a great time and Becca seems like such a sweetie!!!!

    Have a great night love!!!!! xoxo

  9. February 22, 2010 9:41 am

    What a classy lassie you are! Love the pearls and scarf.

    If I were in your area, you’d better believe I’d make you meet this old lady!

  10. February 22, 2010 9:46 am

    Oh my gosh yay for bloggy meet ups :)

  11. February 22, 2010 9:48 am

    Lol! If the recipes are from Saratoga Peanut Butter Company, I know they’ve got to be good! I always drool whenever I see one of your nut butter concoctions on here :)

    I love Uncommon Grounds! I miss Upstate NY so much sometimes … *sigh*

  12. February 22, 2010 10:01 am

    Homemade nut butters? Splendid looking brekkies? Blogger meet-ups? Fun health food store finds? Sounds like the perfect day to me :)
    Have a good week Mae!

  13. February 22, 2010 10:37 am

    Mae, Looks like you had a fabulous day today! I really want to do a blogger meet up, it sounds so fun! And bulk bins are the best for getting a bit of everything. Since I’m always trying new recipes, I often need ingredients in small quantities and bulk bins are perfect for getting just the right amount and variety!
    Have a great night!

  14. February 22, 2010 11:37 am

    You work for a peanut butter company!? That sounds amazing. I eat too much peanut butter as is so I’m not sure that would be healthy for me haha, but I would definitely love it!

  15. February 22, 2010 11:48 am

    Sunflower Butter is my favorite! The fresh grind machines are amazing :)

  16. February 22, 2010 12:09 pm

    hey, found your blog through katie’s! very cool, i love that you’ll be studying food science next year, what a great major for a food blogger :)

  17. February 22, 2010 12:11 pm

    Ok, I want an Honest Weight in SC!

    And how much do I have to pay you in order to gain your pb making knowledge?

  18. Jenna Quick permalink
    February 22, 2010 6:55 pm

    INNNNDIA! haha fun times :)

    And good luck with your sugar ankle ;-p

  19. February 22, 2010 7:30 pm

    wow the almond butter looks amazing YUM!! And I hadn’t thought about trying marcona almonds for it.

  20. Danielle permalink
    February 23, 2010 12:05 am

    Hey! I feel like we cross paths all the time so I just thought I’d say hi & let you know that I’ve made your humnut before…except it never made it to the blog because I inhaled it haha. Glad to find someone who enjoys grocery shopping as much as me :D

  21. February 23, 2010 4:01 am

    Vanilla bean almond butter, WOW! What a fun meet up. Sunbutter rocks my world, I would love to find sunflower seed butter in bulk. Can’t wait for your grape leaf surprise!

  22. February 23, 2010 8:28 am

    i met becca! she rocks!

  23. The Brunette permalink
    February 23, 2010 9:35 am

    I may go through a significant amount of bulk bin almonds trying to recreate that almond butter! It looks delicious.

  24. February 24, 2010 11:03 am

    Thanks for the mention of KD Energy! What did you think of the new flavors? I would recommend putting Mint Chip in the freezer – my favorite :) Also- happy to see that you’ve discovered Honest Weight. Isn’t it awesome!? So happy to be selling there because it’s where we actually buy a lot of our ingredients. Next time you’re there, in the bulk section try the ginger agave cashews = amazing. Thanks again and great job with your blog!

    • February 24, 2010 8:57 pm

      Katie- I tasted a piece and I LOVED it! I can’t wait to write the full review. I haven’t seen the mint chocolate chip anywhere (Honest Weight must’ve been out?) but I’ll keep my eyes peeled.
      I loved the co-op so I will be back ASAP looking for mint chocolate and now ginger agave cashews. They sound great!

Trackbacks

  1. The Dark Knight « Ohh May…
  2. Vegan Overnight Oats « Ohh May…
  3. Oh What A Beautiful Lunch Date, Oh What A Beautiful Day « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

