Skip to content

Flaw-free Barley

March 1, 2010

I think that rhymes… maybe not.

I love the chewy satisfaction of barley, it’s one of my favorite grains. I got a rice cooker this Christmas (they’re $15. Very sensible!) and I love how easy it makes grain cookery.

The problem with cooking grains is they sometimes just taste…bland. Problem solved my friends! This barley is nutty, salty, a little sweet and completely delicious.

IMG_1315

Pour 1 cup pearled barley into the bowl of your rice cooker, and place in the oven on broil for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

IMG_1310

Once toasty, add 2 cups of veggie broth (16 oz) or 2 cup hot water + 2 tsp organic veggie bouillon base. (this stuff is a life saver!!). Add 5 more oz of water, for a total of 21 oz.

IMG_1306

Highly recommended! 

IMG_1305

Make sure you pour the broth with the pan slowly. The hot surface and warm water superheat and EXPLODE! (just kidding, but it can boil over while you’re pouring if you’re not careful.)IMG_1311

Add 1/4 tsp salt and place in the rice cooker. Cook for 35 minutes, then turn to warm. (Add 2 tbsp water if they look dry) Warm for at least 5 minutes and serve.

 IMG_1312 

Viola! Perfect barley, every time.

Let’s recap:

Perfect Barley

  • 1 cup dry, pearled barley
  • 21 oz warm water
  • 2 tsp organic vegetable bouillon
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Toast the barley in the bowl to the rice cooker under the broiler for 5 minutes.

Mix the water and bouillon. Slowly add to the toasted barley. Add salt.

Cook in rice cooker for 35 minutes, then warm for 5 minutes. Add another 2 tbsp water if the barley looks dry.

Now use this to make some comforting humgrain salad.

~~~

BUT. That’s not all you can do with a rice cooker. Fluffy French Toast Oats? No problem.

IMG_1342

Rice Cooker French Toast Oats

  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 cup pureed squash (or pumpkin)
  • 1/2 banana, cut into chunks and microwave for 1:20. (Katie’s brilliant trick!!)
  • Cinnamon
  • 1 vanilla tea bag

Mix first 6 ingredients well. Add tea bag.

Cook in the rice cooker for 15 minutes, then turn to “warm” for 5-10 minutes. Remove tea bag and enjoy!

IMG_1344

This may be even better than the stove top method.

IMG_1341

Rice cookers are allowed in many dorms, so they’re a great option for college!

~~~

Bahaha this is my physics project. It’s pretty much the epitome of senioritis. But it’s 3D so I should probably get a 100.

Hope everyone is having a great day!!

Are/were rice cookers allowed in your dorm?

IMG_1293

My babay!!!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 10:23 pm

    Sheesh you are too cute!
    LOL as is that project!

  2. March 1, 2010 10:53 pm

    Love barley!! Now I want a rice cooker- you’ve successfully convinced me. Especially with the looks of that French Toast Oat bowl! Deeeelicious!
    What a beautiful dog!

  3. March 1, 2010 10:58 pm

    Dang that makes me want to try barley! Too bad it’s not gluten free
    I’m not sure if rice cookers are allowed in a dorm but… you could probably sneak it in and use it really easily without anyone noticing

  4. March 1, 2010 10:59 pm

    I have never had barley but that looks soo good. I don’t think we were allowed to have anything like that in our door from what I remember, but I did sneak in a little foreman grill!

  5. March 1, 2010 11:32 pm

    I’m always intrigued by barley- it’s such a pretty grain! I love that they call them “pearls” haha..girly girl alert! I think we are allowed to have rice cookers, but I live in a dorm with kitchens, so we can have pretty much anything but hot plates and toasters!

  6. March 1, 2010 11:48 pm

    I don’t have a rice cooker, but now I really want one! Between the barley and the oats…I need to get on it. My husband just pointed out a bag of barley we have in the pantry the other day. I bought them before we found out he has celiac and now I need to eat them. Thanks for the recipes. Oh and we agree that the Better Than Bouillan brand really is the best around here!

  7. March 2, 2010 12:38 am

    Um yeah… oats in a rice cooker? Too cool. I don’t have a rice cooker but I had no idea they were that reasonably priced. But I don’t live in a dorm, I live in a house so I *think* I’m allowed..haha
    I’ve never had barley before but I’d like to try it! Never met a grain I didn’t like. Or a carb I didn’t like for that matter.

  8. March 2, 2010 1:49 am

    I’m seriously in need of a rice cooker now. The French toast oats sound perfect!

  9. March 2, 2010 3:10 am

    I love your dog and your physics project and the word “pearled.” I like barley a lot.

    In physics, we had to form 3-person musical bands, make instruments, compose songs about the physics of the instruments, and perform them. My group did a “Puff the Magic Dragon” thing — and I played a bucket bass. ;)

  10. March 2, 2010 3:18 am

    Barley is my favorite too! I’ve never cooked it in a rice cooker before though. I probably wouldn’t have been able to have one in my dorm room but would have brought it anyways!

  11. Jenna Quick permalink
    March 2, 2010 3:30 am

    Rice Cookers = Love.

    Barley = Not so much. hehe :)

    • March 2, 2010 3:47 am

      tehe You’re the only reason I got a rice cooker. You and your stupid bastami. Yes it’s spelled that way ahahha

      • Jenna Quick permalink
        March 2, 2010 4:04 am

        Ohhhh Bastamiiii :D How was your day of not-school? hahaha

  12. March 2, 2010 4:40 am

    That barley looks beautiful! I havent had it in a long time, but I used to love it in soup! Also a big fan of rice cookers, they make life so much easier!

  13. March 2, 2010 5:04 am

    I love any kitchen appliance that cooks stuff without me needing to be there. $15 you say…? Might be worth it just to try your french toast oats. I bet they’d be good savory-style too. Some spinach and mshrooms, and um, nooch, perhaps? OK, just convinced myself to buy the rice cooker!

  14. March 2, 2010 6:26 am

    GIRL that looks AMAZING for real!! okay i tried quinoa for the first time yesterday and HATED it!! but that barley looks sooo great! okay and those oats-to die for!! i NEED to try them!

  15. March 2, 2010 8:37 am

    I’ve never tried to make barley before, but my greek mama uses it to make a SUPER sweet rich dessert..with powdered sugar and pomegranate.

  16. March 2, 2010 8:45 am

    Those oats look AMAZING!

    Rice cookers were probably not allowed in our dorm, but if I had discovered them at that point, I’m positive I would have had one. I’m not sure how I got by with merely a microwave!

    Well I just got my blog up and running but have no readers yet… if you check it out, I’d love to hear your comments :)

  17. March 2, 2010 11:22 am

    I am a fan of your physics project – it looks like a fun one!

  18. March 3, 2010 8:25 am

    You are so into barley recently!!! I love that chewy texture too ;-D

  19. March 4, 2010 2:28 am

    Rice cookers were allowed in our dorms, yes. I didn’t have one, though, some of our neighbors did. We, shamefully, had one of those sandwich press cookers and made gads of grilled cheese! It wasn’t very healthy. Oh the things I would do differently!

  20. balancejoyanddelicias permalink
    March 5, 2010 4:12 am

    great idea that french oat! I’ll definitely try it! ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Ready-For-Me Oats « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

