Skip to content

The Banana Bizaar Snack Bar

January 28, 2009

Today was off from school because I didn’t have any exams, so I really wanted to bake something with my overripe bannanas.

 Originally, I was thinking a clif-style bar, but we were out of rolled oats. I sometimes get hungry right before I go to sleep and I never know what to have as a little baby snack to put me to help me sleep well. Filling, but not too filling, sweet, but not too sweet, something that is just enough to satisfy a little sweets craving.  Also, I need a snack for between breakfast and lunch. It needs to be light, but not make me more hungry. Ususally I have an apple but I go through apples really quickly so sometimes I run out. Plus- my midmorning snack has to be tidy and compact (and quiet) so I can eat it in class.

SOOO… I devised the Banana Bizaar Snack Bars (they’re not really bizzare, but whatever!)

Recipie-

1/4 cup quick brown rice (10 minute)

1/4 cup hot coffee

-Combine these and let sit

In food processor, prosses 2 tbsp raisins into a paste. Add 2 and a half black bannanas and puree, then 3 egg whites

Add to 3/4 cup cooked quinoa (or brown rice or cooked steel cut oats) and stir. Add in 1/4 cup corn meal, 1/2 cup plus 1 tbsp oat bran flour, and 1 tbsp powdered egg white, and 3 tbsp honey Add the brown rice mixture to the bowl, add in a pinch of salt, a tsp of vanilla extract, 1 tsp cinnimon and 1 tsp baking powder

Line a 13x 9 pan with foil and spray well, sprinkle with a little bit of additional corn meal. Pour in the batter and level out.  Sprinkle on 3 tbsp soy nuts and some additional cinnimon.

Bake for 30 minutes at 325 degrees and then cut into 16 bars. let cool on a cooling rack, then put them in some tupperware!

Bannana!

Bannana!

These were really good! They’re yummy warm, cool, microwaves, toasted, and even spread with peanut butter. Plus, they were easy. I was going for a Kashi 7 whole grains on a mission-

Meagan’s Grains on a mission: Oats, quinoa, brown rice, and corn!

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 53 g
 
Amount Per Serving
Calories
95
Calories from Fat
24
% Daily Value*
Total Fat
2.6g
4%
Saturated Fat
0.6g
3%
Cholesterol
52mg
17%
Sodium
30mg
1%
Total Carbohydrates
15.3g
5%
Dietary Fiber
2.5g
10%
Sugars
6.3g
Protein
3.4g
 
Vitamin A 2% Vitamin C 3%
Calcium 1% Iron 3%
Nutrition Grade A-
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet

 

and while I’m at it

I miss Summer

I miss Summer

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

