Skip to content

Green Grocer, Goat’s milk yogurt, and secretly talented parents

May 16, 2009

We went to the green grocer today after Physical therapy… And I was soo excited!

I saw

  • Kombushka’s
  • Jayrobb of every type and flavor
  • Chia seeds
  • Maca Powder
  • Oat goats
  • Cocoa nibs
  • Greens plus bars
  • Spiruteen and greens plus
  • Hemp milk, almond milk, soymilk
  • Goat cheese, milk, yogurt
  • Every Amy’s, Vegan, and Gluten free meal imaginable
  • Better n’ Peanut Butter
  • Cliff bars maple nut (Fav!)
  • Bulk bins of every seed, bean, and legume, and grain… even flours…
  • Organic coffees and tea
  • Agave nectar, Comb honey
  • Miso (white, red, I think black??)
  • Soy creamer, milk, etc.
  • Organic produce

So obviously I couldn’t buy everything. I settled with a small (teeny tiny!) thing of chia seeds… (1/3 cup?) I want to try them and see if I like… Maple nut Cliff bar, Unsweetened vanilla hemp milk, trail size jay Robb vanilla egg white, and bum bum bum bum…

Goat’s milk yogurt!!

Plain…

With some maple syrup and cinnamon…

The flavor is phenomenal. Tart, but so so creamy and smooth. It has almost nuttiness, and I detected no “grassy” flavor. It was great with cinnamon and maple, and was also delicious plain. This was a test. I ate it at 3:40 and we shall see how it affects my hyper-sensitive stomach. If I have no problems, I’m defiantly going for the quart size. It is really that good.

The nutritionals aren’t bad either! I would love to make some goat’s milk fro-yo, parfaits, Goat milk Greek… The possibilities are endless!

If it sits well. I will for sure update and let you know haw it went.

Breakfast was a parfait with a silk yogurt… which I probably won’t be able to stomach after trying this! It had strawberries, mango, pineapple, pb puffins, 1 tbsp PB2, 1 tbsp Jayrobb, 1 tbsp peanut butter

Lunch was delicious. I broiled some tofu I had marinated in chicken stock and seasonings froze it then thawed it. I had that on a grilled sandwich with Arnold F&F brad, hummus, baby spinach, and tomato paste. “Dessert” was some pineapple and then snackage was a brownie Z-bar and my new yogurt. Wow I’ve said yogurt a lot in the past couple minutes!!!

I made stuffed zucchini for dinner, pics to come… (I haven’t cooked it yet) the filling is ½ onion, sweated with some salt, some of the zucchini innerds, lots of seasonings, some hot chopped pepper spread, cilantro, parsley, about ½ pound lean ground turkey, 1/3 (heaping) cup oat bran cooked in chicken stock, and tomatoes (canned, diced)

The braising liquid is very gazpacho- like… I blended the tomato liquid, zucchini, salt, pepper, seasonings, red onion, a little spinach, and some anchovies paste… We shall see the outcome. The filling is the most delicious savory oat bran- EVER. You’ll be seeing the leftovers as breakfasts, maybe lunches, maybe dinners!

Now for part dos of this post… My hyper-talented parents. Where do they hide these things?

My mom decided she was going to paint today. So she did.

WTF!! I am in awe!

Signing the work… All I can say is wow.

My father built a garden arbor. What!!?? Okay- That was so random!

The arbor- a work in progress…

The father… who was “too busy to smile!” haha hard at work. I shall show pics of the finished product!

So I will update with mon petite diner, e mon statut d’estomac!

Leave a Reply

