Skip to content

Banana Coconut Gelato

June 19, 2009

Banana Coconut Gelato


I’ve been on a homemade frozen yogurt kick for the past couple weeks, and decided banana would be a great addition.

The idea came together when I saw this at the health food store:



Ingredients…

Slice 2 of the bananas and microwave them until they are “melted”, about a minute and a half. Mix with the yogurt and chunks from the third banana.

And add “secret ingredient” (1 tbsp)


Coconut milk yogurt is so WHITE compared to my usual Soy-gurt!


Freeze for several hours… then process until creamy. Freeze again and when its solid, add 1/3 cup toasted coconut.



Process until creamy. Realllllly creamy!



Gelato goodness!


Keep in the freezer until ready to serve!

This recipe is:

*Vegan

*Dairy Free

*Kosher

*Soy Free

*Nut free

*Egg free

*Gluten Free

Yay! Everyone’s happy!! The toasted coconut makes it really nutty and buttery, the banana is sweet, but not overwhelmingly so (like my banana Serbert…)

This is yummy served with a sprinkle of coconut, in a banana split, with caramel sauce, or dulce de leche.


One Comment leave one →
  1. ohhmay permalink
    December 3, 2009 12:36 am

    This isn’t on my recipe page because I haven’t tried it with my revison yet:

    Next time I would add 2 tbsp of liquor (I think rum wold work best… I didn’t have any) instead of just one. It becomes easier to scoop!

Leave a Reply

