Skip to content

Happy Father’s Day, all day cooking, and lunches for the parents!

June 22, 2009

So summertime means one of my duties is lunch for my parents


Daddy’s Lunch-

Salad with zucchini, grape tomatoes, baby romaine, oil and vinegar… Sourdough with Dijon, tomato paste, zucchini, turkey, asiago, and Capicola

Mommy’s Lunch-

Lobster raviolis in a vodka sauce

Wasmagal!!





The Dough was 2 eggs, 2 cups hard flour 1 cup all purpose flour, 1 tsp olive oil and 3 tbsp water. It needs to rest for an hour before you start rolling


For the filling I started with a steamed lobster

.

Harvest ALL the meat, from everything- legs, tail, claws, etc.


In smart balance, I sautéed shallots and garlic… let it cool COMPLETELY.



In Stanley, I threw some pine nuts, fresh herbs, nutritional yeast, plain soy yogurt, cognac, and lemon juice.

Mix it all (including the shallots) with 4 oz crab meat.

It needed a few crushed ritz crackers to absorb some moisture



Rolling the dough was hard work, and I filled them and sealed by hand.

I had a ravioli tool, but it really didn’t work. I was getting air bubbles. I dried them in a 170 degree oven for about 5 minutes then threw them in the freezer as I worked.


They just chill in the freezer until you’re ready for them.

I started the vodka sauce with a little smart balance and 2 oz pancetta. I sautéed shallots and garlic in that. (More shallots here)


I added tomato paste then crushed in a big can of roma tomatoes (Buy whole, crush yourself…) Vodka and cognac were next, then dry basil and hot red pepper flakes, along with black pepper.

Note the superb quality vodka used. I assure you the cognac was top shelf! Haha



Cook for a bit before adding the next set of ingredients. (Burn off some of the alcholol)


I added the rest of the soy yogurt (about 4 oz) fresh herbs (basil thyme and chives), and some chicken stock to thin it out


This is the sauce after the creamy addition. Don’t really cook it after this, or it’s going to curdle.


Get a big pot of water boiling…


Toss in the raviolis when it comes to a rolling boil.


When they float, about two minutes, drain them and toss with some sauce.


My vodka sauce is chunky. Do you have a problem with that!?


I plated with some fresh basil and they were DELICOUS.


All together now! A nice wine and a beautiful vodka sauce over fresh lobster raviolis.

My daddy loved it! It was a great father’s day meal… well actually everyone loved it, but my dad gave me plenty of “constructive” criticism.


Happy Father’s day daddy!!!

Homemade pasta is a blast, you should so try it… Its really not that hard at all. Just time consuming… But worth it!!

 

Today I lectured- that went well, a car alarm went off right as I started reading. Haha. I was so annoyed… but trucked on and read from the book of Job, pronounced johb, Haha that was fun figuring out the other day

And this was my symphony salad the other day.


I was so sweaty after a walk with my dog and could not wait to come home to a huge salad with a leftover turkey burger, every veggie on the face of the earth, bbq sauce, hummus, and my jicama slaw. Ahhh soo much better.


My baby refueled with a peanut butter smoothie. Seriously!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

