Skip to content

Make-Believe, Chocolate Covered Cherries, and Salmon Double Duty

July 9, 2009

In spirits of pretending nothing’s wrong… on goes my day:

 

If a chocolate covered cherry is your idea of indulgence…

And you’re a fan of breakfast…


Maybe it’s time you try…


Chocolate Covered Cherry Oats

They were, in fact, just as decadent as they sound.

And would you know- with one bowl you’re closer to being this guy:


And this girl:


This bowl of oats brings you one step closer to bliss like this:



I started with 1/3 cup oat bran in 1 cup boiling water

Add 1+ tsp cocoa powder

After it’s thickened, add 1/3 cup spinach blueberry puree

Keep it over the heat so the purée can warm and thicken further.

In a separate bowl, mix 2 tbsp chocolate jayrobb and a heaping tbsp of chocolate silken creations, stir and add enough water to thin to icing consistency

Pit and chop about a cup of fresh summer cherries

Pour half in the bottom of the bowl, add the chocolate oats

Top with the chocolate icing, remaining cherries and a large glob of chunky peanut butter.

Breakfast BLISS


 

And if you’re not full yet…


Smoked salmon arugula
salad

  • With chives
  • Minced red onion
  • Eggplant hummus
  • Lemon juice
  • Capers
  • And a diced tomato


I made my dad a similar creation in a wrap…


Seeded Rye wrap with Arugula, lemon sesame vinaigrette, smoked salmon, capers, grey Poupon, and minced red onion


I don’t want summer to end.

The Workout

I did 60 minute run with 25 m reps with 25 m recovery… and I worked HARD. I had a lot of stress to work out. Right now, I half way feel like going to the gym is pointless, but then I realize the biggest reason I love to workout is how it clears my head…

We went out to the Olde Brian Inn, in Saratoga and I ordered the pecan crusted salmon salad over baby greens. (haha, what does it mean when the food you cook at home is more gormet-ish than that you pay $17 for in a restaurant?) It was yummy, and then we walked around Saratoga for a little bit. I’m so tired from being so upset today… Tomorrow may be my last day babysitting, and after that probably the Y… Then off to fireworks with Jenna Lara and Steph! Sleeping over Jenna’s, then home early early to leave for BOSTON. Yay! I get a weekend to walk around all I want before I’m immobilized!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

