Skip to content

A Crippled Workout, Green Grocer, and Raw Lunch

July 15, 2009

Some happy things are currently transpiring!

  • I ordered Photoshop! Finally! After our home computer broke, Picture it wouldn’t install on my laptop and I missed screwing with photos so much!!
  • I ordered Intuitive Eating, the book…
  • I got a rolling chair so I’m zooming around my kitchen, prepping veggies and making breakfast! The transition between my kitchen and living room, pantry, and deck don’t work so well though.
  • I have a surprise coming in the mail, picas to come and it promises to be fun-ay!
  • I just downloaded a ton of Spanish music so I’m psyched to rock out en Espanola!

This morning I got up pretty early and made a bowl of banana bread cherry oatmeal. Okay. I’m going to be completely serious; it is a pain in the jass to prep breakfast with a cast. It really makes cooking 400x more difficult. That won’t stop me though!



French toast style oat bran, cooked with 1/3 cup mashed banana, EXTREMELY overripe, about a cup of cherries, 1/3 cup egg whites, cinnamon, and crunchy almond butter. Very yummy!

The Workout

I started with 30 minutes on the arm bike. Forward 5 minutes, 2 minutes harder, then 5 minutes regular pace, 3 minutes harder… SWITCH directions! 5 minutes then 2 harder, 5 then 3 harder. Haha… ohh before the last 3 minutes Paul, the Abs class instructor came over and told me I was WAY too low in the seat. He helped me raise it and I felt like someone had just turned a light on. Next time will be better I think. I can work up a sweat, but I’m defiantly not panting. It’s not nearly the same as running, and I’m not really sure if it’s giving me any cardio work yet. I had it at level 2 today! My arms are not exactly arm bike ready- I guess I have to build up to it right?


I did Paul’s abs class, which was pretty good. It wasn’t as challenging as I would like but worked to motivate me… sometimes it’s hard consistently work hard doing abs alone because I get distracted.

  • Shoulder workout (5 weighted (5 lb) exercises)
  • Butt curls with 8 lb on good side, 5 on other (3 sets 30)
  • 3 sets 30 runner crunches
  • 3 sets 30 pushups, as best as I could do them.

 

After I wandered to the Green Grocer, where I did some light shopping J! The people there are so so sweet, I love getting groceries there and just browsing. They have so much cool stuff! I bought chocolate coconut milk yogurt, 2 plain coconut milk yogurts (for ice cream!) Unsweetened vanilla hemp milk, oat groats (yay finally!), peanut butter granola from the bulk bin (umm, parfait with the chocolate yogurt!? Yes please!!) and red miso paste. It all came to $18.00, which I didn’t think was bad at all. The coconut milk yogurts are way pricy though!

The peanut butter granola is AH-MAZEING! I can’t wait to devour it. When I got home I snacked on our fruit filled fridge… then got to work on my lunch project!

Raw Massaged salad! Hence the miso paste…

I used a HUGE zucchini, a bunch of baby spinach and arugula, ½ an avocado, 2 cloves minced garlic, about a cup of fresh chopped basil, lemon juice, salt, pepper, and red pepper strips. I used the recipe from Heather’s Blog, and it turned out wonderful!

 

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 814.3g
 
Amount Per Serving
Calories 335

 Calories from Fat 

141

 

% Daily Value
Total Fat  15.7g
Saturated Fat 2.9g
 

 

 

 

 

Sodium

 

748mg

 

 

 

 

 

Total Carbohydrates     46.2g
Dietary Fiber 19.1g

 

76%

 

 

Sugars    17.6g
Protein 14.9g
 

Vitamin A 285%
Vitamin C 562%
Calcium 21%
Iron 30%
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 grams of protein, 19 grams of fiber, TONS of vitamins and minerals, lots of healthy fats. Wow! That’s a power lunch. Unfortunately my IBS/Squid ward stomach isn’t a huge fan of tons of fiber or all things raw so my belly was aching a little. I don’t know why I expected anything different… It’s high in fat and raw veggies, two of my biggest triggers. It was so filling and maybe with some modifications I could make this more Meagan friendly!

Tonight I have a hair appointment, so I’ll be home late. I’m so excited- pictures will follow!!





I had two dishes… aka, the entire salad. This was HUGE and SO GOOD!! I was curious about the nutrition facts of this creamy creation and I found my answer…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

