Skip to content

6 Days to a Cast Free Leg, a College Essay, and The best bread ever

August 4, 2009

So this is the camera I have been eyeing…

http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ModelInfoAct&fcategoryid=144&modelid=18329

It seems to be a pretty good compromise between an SLR and point and shoot. I don’t really want the bulk (or price) of an all out SLR, but I really want to get more into food photography… especially if I drop calculus… J

I think this is option 2, and option 3… I really think I want a powershot. The question is do I want a $200 camera, a $300 camera, or am I willing to invest even more than that….??

Yesterday, I had a big smoothie and some avocadoe on Dakota bread. I do not lie when I say this bread is one of the most magnificent masterpieces God has allowed on to this beautiful green and blue sphere we call home. Fresh Dakota bread, I have an intense passion for you. I could eat you plain, smeared with avocado, almond butter and figcoco, toasted or grilled, even French toasted. Your flavor is that of the Gods, and you are superior to all breads around you. My dearest Dakota.

Okay so I stole that from Google. Give me a break, my camera needs an exorcism!

Is that weird??? NAHH! Anyway, the smoothie had 2 tbsp vanilla jayrobb, frozen pineapple, ice, hemp milk, and fresh strawberries and blueberries. Yum!

I had a breakfast cookie and a bite of the um… pancakes… while babysitting.

So my girls woke up and said they wanted pancakes… and PB&J. I said we have to choose, but then I suggested PB&J pancakes! They were, of course ecstatic…

I mixed up

1.25 c flour

3 tsp baking powder

2 tbsp brown sugar

1 egg

1 cup of milk

2 tbsp melted butter

Pinch of salt

¼ cup melted peanut butter

And cooked them like one would cook pancakes. For the syrup, I mixed maple syrup, strawberry jelly and sliced strawberries. It was beautiful! So did my lovely chickies eat these pancakes they asked for? No. They cried. They hated them and yelled they wanted bagels and scrambled eggs. L I was so annoyed, but I quickly prepared breakfast numero dos with a smiling face. What had gone wrong? I tasted a pancake, milk and all, in the syrup… and… they were good! Seriously good… I’m going to probably make them with soymilk! WTF children!? Haha ohh well, you live and you learn!

And my stomach was like “WTF Meagan? Seriously?!” so it started its squirrel antics…

I went to the Y to workout

The Workout

50 minutes arm bike, .84 miles

    Thorough job with abs

    Super man x 5 minutes

    Shoulders with 6 lb weights

    Glutes with 8 lb weights 3×30

    Pullbacks, 8lb, 3×20

    Leg lifts (no weights… I’m afraid with the cast…) 3x40xeach leg

    Pushups (1 leg)/ runners crunches 3×30

After the Y I came home and made up some lunch:

Tomatoes, baby greens, green beans, Salmon mixed with chipotle salsa and marinara sauce, additional marinara sauce, sriachi, a little garlic powder.

I also had a zbar. While I was making dinner… (Buffalo tacos?) I accidently ate about a cup of marinara sauce.

Meagan Quirk: I could drink red sauce… especially homemade. Hot or cold, I usually eat it like soup with a spoon. I love it so much!

I made some broiled tofu cubes to go In my tacos, and felt really sick to my stomach because of some news my mom came home with. I threw some tofu chunks in lettuce, salsa, and tomatoes but just picked on it. My belly was not cooperating. I finally got hungry at 9:00 and had some ice-cream

2 tbsp protein powder, a little cocoa, a little chocolate pudding, ¾ bananas, 2 coconut milk yogurt cubes. Sprinkled with instant coffee and a cherry!

My mom and I worked on my resume and college essay for HOURS until midnight and I was hungry before bed.

There you are Dakota bread I love!

I had energy after this, so I was up until 1 reading. I love the book I’m into right now… I woke up at 5:30 and read until I was starving (Haha 7:45) and made breakfast.

Parfait day! Sliced strawberries, blackberries, vanilla soy yogurt, protein fudge sauce, 1 cup Newman’s honey flax flakes, and lots of almonds. So GOOD!

And later, a Dakota flavor trifecta! Figcoco, almond butter, homemade Peanut butter on Dakota. Note the pink cast in the background…

I wrote my essay and finished my resume. Wow, it was not an easy task.

I’m going to the Y with some new Latin American music, so hopefully that will pump me up for my work out!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evan Thomas permalink
    August 4, 2009 5:17 pm

    I love tomato sauce too. Ive been thinking of adding it to my oars with some cheese and just going at it with a spoon

  2. emily permalink
    August 5, 2009 1:04 am

    what’s dakota bread? where do you get it?

    +1 on the red sauce obsession. also, those pancakes sound really good. kids are crazy about food sometimes.

Leave a Reply

