Skip to content

Gnu Lemon Ginger Bar

August 12, 2009

A word about fiber: I have IBS and it used to be very severe. It takes a lot of fiber to keep it under control, but certain (most) fiber fortified products have a horrible reaction with my stomach, making it blow up and giving me cramps for hours.

I was so excited when I received Gnu Bars to review, but worried they would have the same effect. I’ve tried the bars a couple times since I received the package, and they not only do they agree with my angry stomach, they have been a great “stabilizer” for me! J

The nutrition is phenomenal, and the bars naturally fit in more fiber than any of their competitors. Fiber is important to your digestive system, your heart, and your overall health. These bars are loaded with soluble fiber, the kind that Cheerios boast lower cholesterol.

Nutrition Facts

Serving Size:   1 bar (45g)
Amount Per Serving

 

Calories 130

Calories From
Fat 30

% Daily Value *
Total Fat 4g

6%

  Saturated Fat 0g

0%

  Trans Fat 0g

0%

Cholesterol 0mg

0%

Sodium 35mg

1%

Total Carbohydrate 32g

11%

  Dietary Fiber 12g

48%

    Soluble Fiber 8g

  

    Insoluble Fiber 4g

  

   Sugars 10g  
   Other Carbohydrate 10g
Protein 3g  
Vitamin A 0% * Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 6% * Iron 8%

 

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.
 

 
 
 
Unlike the 8 grams of soluble fiber Gnu bars possess, Cheerios have just one gram. Nutritionally speaking, these bars could be the answer to high LDL levels, or an Irritable Bowl. Gnu Foods Company are actually very in touch with Eating for IBS by Heather Van Vorous, the book that helped me get my life back under control. The benefits of Gnu bars are truly endless and you can read about even more on their website, as well as see comparisons between Gnu and other high fiber foods.

 

The Lemon Ginger bar was one of the first I tried, and I was very impressed. When I first opened the package, I was excited by the chewy soft texture and the citrus aroma. The bar is soft and pliable, and is studded with various seeds and grains. With the first bite was a couple observations:

  1. This is very tasty
  2. This is very seedy
  3. This is health food

The bar had a light lemon flavor, similar to that hidden in a Christmas cookie, and the ginger paired nicely. Neither component was overpowering, and it was refreshing on a hot summer day. The seeds got stuck in my teeth on occasion, which was only a slight deterrent. Unlike many granola bars, it wasn’t too sweet or overpowering.

As good as this bar was, it defiantly tasted healthy. Sometimes protein, energy or fiber bars truly taste like cookies, and this wasn’t the case. It was great in its own way though! 

Ingredients: Gnu High Fiber Blend™ (whole rolled oats, organic whole wheat flour, wheat bran, organic kamut, psyllium, flax, millet), chicory root inulin, fruit juices, rice dextrins, apples, canola oil, rice, plums, lemon, ginger, wheat protein isolate, baking powderDSCN7093

The ingredient list is clean without any sketchy ingredients. Rice dextrin is another natural sweetener, like agave or brown rice syrup. The list is reasonable and not too long.

 

These retail for about $2.00 a bar, which is a steep price to pay for fiber! It makes it difficult to make these a part of your daily diet.

 

I had the Lemon Ginger Gnu bar as a snack and it kept me full for quite a while. I can see how these could be used for weight management as well as for overall health. I definatly will be incorporating a Gnu bar every day when my stomach goes through a rough patch. I’m excited to try the other flavors!

 

Nutrition:

Flavor:

Price:

Leave a Reply

