Skip to content

Cupcakes for Kate, Fruit and Nut bars, and Death by Cookies

August 13, 2009

I started the day bright and early with a good book, a bottle of seltzer, and an Espresso chip Gnu bar. It was really delicious; I’m concocting the full review right now.

After Le Dentist, I had an over-the-top breakfast…

 

Chocolate chip coffee cookie dough oats…

1/3 cup applesauce

½ cup coffee

½ cup water

1/3 cup oat bran

1-2 tsp agave

½- 1 tbsp cocoa

1/3 cup egg whites

2 crushed Newman’s Organic Espresso Chip cookies

A Sprinkle of instant coffee

A scoop of Naturally More Almond butter

 

Cook the oats the French toast way, adding the cocoa to the water when it boils. Top with cookies, coffee crystals and almond butter… enjoy.

I was feeling creative so I used something I had picked up a while ago in Boston:

In the food pro, I made a paste with about 1.5 cups dried pears, 1 cup dates and a little water, vanilla and salt. I pulsed in 1 cup of toasted walnuts and then kneaded it together, adding 2 cups toasted kamut puffs. I spread in an 8×8 pan and then cut into 18 bars.

 

They are good! I had 2 while baking (For lunch, because I was stuffed after!) and one as a snack later.

I went to the Y and did an easy 60 minute “shake out” pool run, just to get my legs mobile again. My calf is probably the sorest muscle I’ve ever had. It’s intense. What else is intense? The pain the air cast causes… seriously, I was limping out of the Y and decided I couldn’t take it anymore and ripped it off halfway to my truck. Much better.

The Workout

60 minute shake out pool run

I returned home and ate a bunch of pineapple, then a huge pink lady with brownie batter and SB CPB WA (Smart Balance Chunky Peanut Butter with Agave!) a little later while reading I had some more pineapple and the third walnut pear bar.

See, even with a broken camera, their delicious properties shine through!

For dinner, I had an amazing Dijon herb filet of grilled salmon, with marinated crimini mushrooms, a tomato sesame herb salad and grilled sweet corn.

A KERF style corn vessel…

The mushrooms were marinated in Dijon, black pepper and salt. The tomato salad was made with white wine and toasted sesame oil vinaigrette, sprinkled with home grown herbs. The salmon had a country Dijon, parsley, oregano and chive crust.

After dinner came dessert…

I made chocolate banana whip (1/2 frozen banana, 2 cubes frozen Chocolate nasoya pudding, 1 tsp cocoa) and layered it with chocolate almond fudge So Delicious soy ice-cream. I crusted it with a crushed up espresso chip cookie, sprinkles, instant coffee and cocoa. Of course you can’t tell because my camera is possessed by the devil…

Horrible news! It’s not coming until the 22nd of August. Sweet. L Happy belated birthday to me. I’m actually really upset because I’ll be back in school like 5 days after I get it. I’m having trouble seeing the point of getting a $350 camera, when I’m going to be swamped and completely unable to use it. I was hoping for a month of photography (from August 9th to September 9th) but unfortunately I start early this year, and the Cam’s coming late. BOO!

I baked chocolate cupcakes from scratch for my cousin Kate, who just jot engaged. I’m frosting and decorating them tomorrow, and then playing cupcake fairy and delivering them! They’re double chocolate and the decorations are going to be amazing… just wait and see!

My ankle was in A LOT of pain today, and not just muscle soreness. I hope tomorrow is better, I have to work! I had to take time off from Price Chopper, meaning I won’t be put back on the schedule for eons because my supervisor does that. L Boo boo boo. Why am I not happy!? I have my cast OFF, it’s still summer… Boo boo boo. Next week cross country starts, and I’m not running for at least 3 weeks. When I start running the program is about 10 weeks to get mileage back. BOO BOO BOO. Starting school on August 31st prevents me from babysitting, and 8 hr Price Chopper shifts. BOO! I’m actually supposed to be in Newport right now… at running camp… cool right? L Booooooo. I need to get to bed now before I put any more negative thoughts on this computer screen!

One Comment leave one →
  1. redeemedbyblood permalink
    August 19, 2009 5:31 am

    sw33t! corn in a glass!

Leave a Reply

