Skip to content

Peanut Butter Gnu Bars

August 14, 2009

The Peanut Butter Gnu bar was a winner in my opinion. I’m the kind of person who likes flavors to scream at me. When something says blueberry, I want it to be loaded. When something claims to be chocolate, it better be dark and indulgent. With peanut butter, I’m the same way. Peanut butter cookies should be 2 parts peanut butter to one part everything else. I thought with just 140 calories and 5 grams of fat, Gnu probably wouldn’t be able to pull it off.

The bar has a tantalizing when opened, with an aroma of sweet peanuts. It reminded me just slightly of the peanut butter smell in those Little Debbie Nutty Bars, (which smell much better than they taste!) It had a nice texture, if a little on the dry side. I noticed very small peanut pieces along with the seeds and fibrous grains.

The first bite confirmed my suspicions: It wasn’t an ooey-gooey peanut butter cookie. But, with my second bite, I realized I didn’t care! It was delicious with a sweet nutty peanut butter flavor. The taste was actually more reminiscent of peanut butter than peanuts. I enjoyed the taste and the feel of this flavor, and it’s one of my favorites so far.

Just for curiosity’s sake, I decided to compare Gnu bars to other high fiber bars.


With 130 calories, All Bran bars are the closest match to Gnu. The ingredient list is long, frightening and contains milk. Much of the fiber is insoluble and All Bran packs in more sugar than Gnu.

 

Fiber One bars are highly artificial and have more calories, along with less fiber.

Nutrition Facts:
Serving Size: 1 Bar (35g)
 
Amount per Serving

%Daily Value*

Calories 140
Calories from Fat 45
 
Total Fat 5g

8%

Saturated Fat 0.5g

3%

Trans Fat 0g  
Cholesterol 0mg

0%

Sodium 90mg

4%

Potassium 80mg

2%

Total Carbohydrate 19g

6%

Dietary Fiber 4g

14%

Soluble Fiber 1g  
Insoluble Fiber 3g  
Sugars 5g  
Protein 7g  
 
Vitamin A

0%

Vitamin C

0%

Calcium

0%

Iron

6%

   

*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.

Ingredients: Kashi Seven Whole Grains & Sesame® Blend (Whole: Hard Red Winter Wheat, Oats, Rye, Barley, Triticale, Long Grain Brown Rice, Buckwheat, Sesame Seeds), Peanuts, Brown Rice Syrup, Soy Protein Isolate, Soy Grits, Evaporated Cane Juice Crystals, Natural Peanut Butter, Chicory Root Fiber, Evaporated Cane Juice Syrup, Rice Starch, Corn Flour, Honey, Expeller Pressed Canola Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Oat Fiber, Natural Flavors, Evaporated Salt, Molasses, Soy Lecithin, Peanut Flour, Almond Flour, Whey, Annatto Color.

The Kashi bars are the most natural of the three comparison bars, and have much less of the beneficial soluble fiber Gnu is built on.

In addition, all three competitor brands have a much inferior taste to that of Gnu. I preferred this bar over any other high fiber bar that I’ve previously tried.

Overall, I have to say this was another winning variety of my newly found bar love. These make me feel great and taste wonderful. The seedy texture is growing on me, and now something I look forward to!

J

Nutrition

Price

Flavor

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Gnu Love! « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

