Skip to content

Up in the highest tower…

August 16, 2009

I feel like Fiona. I hung out up in my room all day (which I never do…) because I’m so bummed.

My ankle hurts. It always hurts. Evan with pain killers it hurts. Something’s wrong, and it’s not getting fixed. This is all wrong, this isn’t me. I shouldn’t be afraid that standing for 30 minutes baking will put me out of commission. With every painful step, I feel like running is another mile away. It’s to the point where I don’t know if I’ll ever be back to my passion. How can I not be a runner? It defines me, and being sidelined for four and a half months doesn’t make it any easier. It’s supposed to get easier! I’M SUPPOSED TO GET BETTER.

Early this morning, I woke up starving so munched on a Lara Bar in bed while plotting my day…

SO GOOD!

Real breakfast was delicious… I used the leftover piece of the whole wheat Tandori Chappati, toasted, and smeared with Naturally More almond butter and Ficoco. 😀 Of course there was fruit… and the coffee was delicious! I put a couple drops of almond extract in a big cup of black coffee. It was really delicious; like a flavor shot without all the nasty sweetness!

I ate fruit while I proofed yeast for my Dakota naan bread I was planning on making…

Oh naan… why did you cause me so much grief? While kneading, the kitchen aid started jumping. I fixed it and stepped away for a second and heard a HUGE crash and an EXTRA LARGE crack. Ut oh. The bread dough and the $300 artisan cinnamon colored Kitchen Aid were lying on the floor. And under them was a cracked tile. Big deal, BIG DEAL. We don’t have any tile extras, they were discontinued several years ago… and it’s a bad crack. As in pieces of tile went flying.

This all went down after lunch and a plum…

I made tempeh for my fist time… I sliced it really thin and marinated it in crushed tomatoes, fennel anise, paprika Sriachi mustard powder oregano cumin soy sauce and liquid smoke… basically the spice cabinet. I broiled it and then filled a bun with tempeh and tomato.

For dessert I had banana coffee almond soft serve because it was about 400 degrees outside…

Delicious! At around 6:30 I was hungry and it didn’t look like there was any hope for dinner so I put my new Marshall’s bowl to use:

Pink lady with brownie batter and PB2 hemp milk…

Then Newman’s Own Flax and Honey flakes with berry blues and unsweetened vanilla hemp.

Around 8:30 I was ready for dinner so I made a quick cous cous scramble

¼ cup cous cous, 1 egg. Peas, carrots, a cubannilee, a shallot, veggie broth and marinara. Plus a hit of soy sauce.

It was yummy and filling. Late at night dessert comforted my very unhappy day:

A little piece of cake, heated up with a little drizzle of vanilla pudding, an Oreo and a little Mocha Almond Fudge soy ice-cream.

Tomorrow will be better.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evan Thomas permalink
    August 16, 2009 3:01 pm

    Isn’t that mocha almond fudge ice cream great? I’m so glad I picked some up, I just might have to finish the carton so we can buy a new one this sale period

    • ohhmay permalink
      August 17, 2009 12:26 am

      Yah, I love it… I grabbed the soy version and I want to try the coconut milk variety so bad!

Leave a Reply

