Skip to content

Beads, Pain and Oreos.

August 17, 2009

This morning I woke up and tackled the kitchen floor I destroyed yesterday with my naan experiment. I scrubbed the whole floor with bleach and then did the grout with a magic eraser… better for 2 minutes!

I had an orange cranberry Gnu bar (good! More orange than cranberry…) and then dipped one NOO Oreo in my coffee, and one in almond butter. Yum!

This 95 degree day called for Italian ice:

This was so refreshing!!! About one cup of pineapple (frozen), 3 or 4 ice cubes, and a little crystal light lemonade mix made the perfect creamy Italian ice in the food pro. Sweet!

My mom and I went to Saratoga to bead! Being on my feet in the morning and then making jewelry had me in tears. Even with NSAID, which I hate to have to take. I am in so much pain. I hate this!

EVIL EVIL tendons! I hate you.

After a long afternoon at Beads, we went to Putnam market…

Where I found…

Something I had been searching for…

Saratoga Peanut Butter Company ADIRONDAK JACK! Woo hoo!!

The verdict:

Nutty, sweet, warm, delicious. (this picture is just the half of it! :-P)

Half peanut butter, half almond butter, with cinnamon sunflower seeds cranberries and flax seeds! It was yummy. BUT:

It was 14 dollars. That’s 2 hours of work for me. For the price, I wouldn’t buy it again. I LOVE Saratoga peanut butter company, but that was a little bit pricey… Okay A LOT!

Lunch was a barbecue tempeh grilled wrap and half a mango…

And dessert was a little ice cream sundae, with some NOO alphabet cookies.

Dinner was delicious…

Pesto Shrimp with Sundried Tomatoes

Brine 1 pound raw, peeled, deveined shrimp in

2 tbsp salt

1 tbsp garlic powder

4 cups water

2 tbsp sugar

For ½ hour…

Put water on the stove to boil for pasta and salt it

Preheat 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil in a pan and add

4 large cloves crushed garlic

Over low heat, caramelize the garlic.

Add a splash of white wine and about ½ cup veggie broth

Add about 1/3 cup of your favorite pesto… (mine happens to bee my homemade tofu spinach pesto I thawed out earlier)

And cook.

Add 1/3 cup sundried tomatoes, sliced thinly

Drain the shrimp and rinse quickly, spread on sprayed baking sheet (don’t crowd it!)

Add ½ pound whole grain thin spaghetti to the water and

Place the shrimp under the broiler

When the shrimp are opaque and pink, toss them in the sauce. As the pasta reaches al dente, drain it and toss all together.

Makes 3 large servings

Easy Squeezey…

And good!

I had an ice cream cone for dessert with this stuff:

Delish!

Tomorrow is XC day one. KILL ME…I’m going to practice to play injured captain. We’ll see how that goes.

And then work.

And then Y.

And then Pool?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Evan Thomas permalink
    August 17, 2009 11:10 pm

    I first red that title as Bed Pan and thought something had gone horribley wrong, haha. Adirondack Jack sounds impressive and appealing, but I feel like it’s something I could replicate on toast with the plane ingredients. Oh well, I’m curious about Monkey Boy if I can ever get my hands on that

Leave a Reply

