Skip to content

Scallop Dakota Pizza

August 21, 2009


This idea has been brewing in my head or quite some time. A pizza, made with the dough of my favorite bread. Dakota bread is a nutty, seedy artisan bread from the bakery at Price Chopper. Due to my very tight friendship with the bakery guy (Haha) I was able to buy a loaf of Dakota dough. With this powerful one and a half pound ball of dough, the possibilities were endless. The basil from my garden has been doing fantastic, so I know that needed to be incorporated. While devising my toppings, the idea of scallops was hard to pass up, and with a jar of roasted red peppers that I bought last week, some shallots and garlic, the pizza began to unfold.

 

I first made a sauce by pureeing a small jar of roasted red peppers with a 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, one shallot and a teaspoon of Dijon mustard. I poured the puree into a hot sauce pan and cooked it until the shallot flavor mellowed, about 15 minutes. I added white wine, vegetable broth and about a cup of crushed tomatoes, along with 6 cloves thinly sliced garlic, crushed pepper flakes, and about 2 tbsp capers with a little of their brine. I cooked it for quite some time, until it thickened up and the garlic lost some of its pungency and sweetened.


The dough had been in my refrigerator for a couple days, and I took it out about an hour and a half before I began the project. I cut it into four 4 oz. Pieces and stretched them into disks. (This left enough dough to make 4 “crusties”, details later!)



Dill weed and minced onion, yet it still tastes great with sweet toppings. Curious, no? The disks rested for an hour on the counter.


I soaked the scallops in a brine of salt sugar water and black pepper for about 45 minutes, then preheated the oven to 500 degrees. The original intentions were to cook this pizza on the gill but it was fresh out of propane, so the oven it was.



I topped the pizzas with the sauce, drained and dried scallops, and snipped basil. My parent’s pizza received a dose of shaved Parmesan and grated Romano cheese.

I made sure there was plenty of cornmeal under the crust to prevent sticking. Normally, I would have put these on a preheated pizza stone, but the crust is more delicate than average pizza crust so I wanted to avoid disaster. They cooked for about 12 minutes and made the house smell phenomenal.

 



The pizzas came out looking amazing, and after a two minute rest I sliced them. To serve, I included lemon wedges and snipped chives.



And that, my friends, is the best pizza I’ve ever had.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evan Thomas permalink
    August 22, 2009 1:05 am

    Hmm I’ve never took notice of the bread at Price chopper, but now I definitely will!

  2. April 13, 2010 9:08 am

    This. looks. beyond. words. amazing!! I think I need to go befriend the little old ladies workin’ the G-ville P. Chop 😉

Leave a Reply

