Skip to content

A New Box, a Peaceful Swim and a Delicious Bar

August 27, 2009

TUESDAY

Very little food Tuesday was photogenic. I went to cross practice early in the morning, so I was not a happy camper. I want to fully embrace my “managerial” duties and love my team like I used to, but I just feel so discouraged. I don’t want to give them advice and hold back encouragement because I feel like somehow, these 4.5 months has “disqualified” me from being a runner. I’m changing my attitude and want to do everything I can for these guys. Austin, Keith, Z, Sammy, and more… I have high hopes for Billy! J

I have also identified cross practice as being a source of emotions that drive me to overeat. Before I leave even if I’m full, I just munch and munch until I’m sure I will be late. Behavior needs to change. J

I went to the gym and the market, and by 4:30 I was drained, starving and exhausted. I threw together a black bean burger, some lettuce, and organic ketchup, Sriachi a honey oat bun and my latest find: roasted pine nut hummus.

Sabra officially has the creamiest, smoothest, most luxurious hummus in the world. If it didn’t cost more than out-of-state tuition to a 4-year school, I would buy it every day of my life. My dad gave me a coupon for a dollar off Sabra hummus, so I stood in front of the hummus case pondering the options for a good 10 minutes. Sabra has the best variety of flavors and it makes it so difficult to come to a decision. Roasted red pepper and garlic are par for the course, but how about caramelized onion? Greek olive? Sundried tomato? Or roasted pine nut? I cannot tell you how many times I put a flavor in the cart, and then changed my mind. This has been the most difficult decision I’ve made in a long time. I finally chose the roasted pine nut.

Wow wow wow, this stuff is so good.

The Workout

20 minutes arm bike, .35 miles

A few abs, but the floor was being refinished and I was really sick to my stomach. Excuses, excuses… Haha no seriously, the guys who work there had to leave the weight room the smell was so strong.

25 minute swim, felt good minimal rest

5 minute pool run (enough time for 2 fast reps)

For a snack I sampled the newest flavor of LARA Bars:

This is officially my favorite flavor ever. It smells like peanuts, it tastes like heaven. I want to marry this bar. Is that extreme? Okay, I have a healthy relationship with food, despite the life changing hummus and my marital status with this PB&J LARA Bar. The texture was flawless, crumbly yet dense. It was sweet yet just a little tart and I want more!

WEDNESDAY

Breakfast was strange, and not too pretty…

Toasted leftover waffle, some Honey Flax flakes, Vanilla hemp, brownie batter and peanut butter. Waffles in cereal? Hmm… I’m not sure if this one’s been done before. I went to therapy, then the petite Abuelita’s.

I had a kiwi and a slice of Italian bread with some smart balance and pineapple preserves… which is an awesome combination. Pineapple Pine Nut LARA Bar… I’m a culinary genius!

I picked up my brother and we went to Aunt Di’s. I did laps for 30 minutes, which felt really good, and then about 20 minutes of Abs work.

Peach!

Crunchy grilled wrap with a hardboiled egg and veggies!

Maggie and I split some chocolate goldfish and peanut butter… this is awesome!

We baked a low fat chocolate zucchini cake:

  • 2 eggs, 1 egg white
  • 6 oz vanilla yogurt
  • ½ cup plus 2 tbsp evaporated milk
  • ½ tsp cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1.75 cups sugar
  • ¼ cup cocoa powder
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 ¼ cups flour
  • 2 cups zucchini, grated
  • ¾ cup shaved semi sweet chocolate

Bake at 350 for 40 minutes, frost with cream cheese+ powdered sugar+cocoapowder+melted chocolate (mixed together, obviously…)

For dinner, I made myself a Mediterranean adventure of a sandwich. I’ve never tried sardines before, but when I saw these at price chopper I knew it was time:

Those ( about 1/3 of the can, oil drained), tomato paste, rehydrated chopped sundried tomatoes, pine nut hummus, arugula, and red pepper flakes made the most amazing sandwich on a sprouted bun:

NOO espresso. Yum.

And in my dining room was a package from my Aunt Patty. Inside were hand-me down art supplies, but when I say art supplies I mean legit awesome things: water colors and paper, calligraphy things, a fountain pen and ink, a china painting kit, colored pencils, and more!

 

Christmas come early!!! I’m really artsy, so these things are so perfect! Thank you so much Aunt Patty P!

God please let tomorrow bring peace to my ankle. JL

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

