Skip to content

8 Weeks to Heal

September 2, 2009

Last night’s dessert was awesome…

2 of Newman’s chocolate alphabet cookies, doble chocolat almond butter and vanilladamia cashew butter, over mocha almond fudge soy ice-cream

This morning started brilliantly. With the addition of chia seeds (!) to my oats, they were rich, thick, creamy and decadent.

 

With 1/3 cup oat bran, vanilla chai tea, 1/3 cup pumpkin, 1/3 cup egg, ½ banana, and 1 tablespoon chia seeds these oats were AMAZING! I drizzled Naturally More Almond Butter and Vanilladamia Cashew Butter along with a little honey….

HOLEY YUM! Look at those stiff peaks! I had a kiwi (apple style) with breakfast and then worked on The Veg Expo and read for a couple hours before class.

Class went well, but I had to cut out way early for this surgeon appointment…

THE VERDICT:

He said my orthotics looked like they could use a little tweaking. He doesn’t know if that’s going to improve anything, but we can try. If the increased arch in the orthotics doesn’t heal my ankle (s) before November 3rd, I need surgery.

The surgery involves breaking my heal bone, realigning it, adding a bone graft to the outside of my foot, reconstructing the tibal posterior tendon and possibly lengthening the Achilles tendon. Routine procedure?! The cast time is about 8 weeks, recovery is 5-6 months after the cast comes off. This means if I was on the cutting table December 1st, I would be in a cast until February. I would have February, March, April, May, June, and July to recover, meaning it could potentially be healed before I go off to school. I may have to walk the stage on crutches… this feels kind’ve like a punch in the stomach. I’m not even sure how I feel right now… not scared, I don’t fear anything. But I mean… what are the chances with all that slicing and dicing in my foot that I will ever come back running again? Or even walking without pain? I’ve talked to too many people with replaced knees that were worse after the surgery…

The thing that hurts the most is everything I’ve dreamed of for the rest of my life. I want to be an active runner, and do MARATHONS. That’s my dream… and right now it’s dissolving. I miss running, but even more than that, I miss walking. I just want to take the dog for a walk without paying for it for a week.

ENOUGH of the negativity! J

I snacked on a delicious LARA Bar in between class and the doctor’s.

My dad took me to the Reel Seafood Company after the appointment for lunch. It was amazing!!!

Lunch started with these delicious poppy fried breadstick things, that were seriously piping hot they were so fresh. My dad ordered fried calamari balsalmico and I tried some of them… I wasn’t very impressed but I’m not a huge fan of fried foods. I ordered the Sea Stew and it was seriously one of the best dishes I’ve had in a long long time. Thank you daddy! Delicious lunch!

I worked on expo things all afternoon once I got home and then went to the market.

Just 1/3 of the produce reserves I had to rebuild! 😀

YUMMY! With 2 coupons, this came out to be only 1.50!

Bolthouse Farms sent me a coupon for one free product, and I saw this new chocolate soymilk that I had to try. It has 150 calories and 10 grams of protein per serving. But get this: the best part is it’s sweetened with apple juice. It’s so thick and creamy; I really think it’s my favorite chocolate soymilk so far. PERFECT for a recovery drink! (Silk only has like 6 g of protein in the chocolate flavors) Bolthouse has some awesome juices I can’t wait t try like carrot and green juice, with kiwi, broccoli, apples, sprinula and more yummy things!!

In the background is my dessert, a bowl of chocolate granola with BF chocolate soymilk and blueberries!

For dinner I had the leftovers from the stew in a salad… it was so delicious. Those scallops were the best thing I’ve ever eaten.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Evan Thomas permalink
    September 2, 2009 10:32 pm

    Sorry to hear about the news. I hope your foot does improve in that time. I think positive thinking has a lot to do with it, and you seem like a positive person, so keep that up and I’m sure you’ll be fine.
    That stew reminds me of some of my eats in Spain–yum!
    And I love the Bolthouse Mocha Cappuccino. They’re carrot juice is also pretty good, though I go with Odwalla because it’s cheaper.

    • ohhmay permalink
      September 3, 2009 12:00 am

      Thanks so much, that means a lot… You went to Spain!??! I’m so incredibly jealous! You don’t even know! 😀

Leave a Reply

