Skip to content

Focus Focus Focus

September 7, 2009

I don’t want vivid summer to end.

Don’t you want your oats to look like this?? Folks, chia and egg white produce the most fabulous oats… ever. 1/3 cup oat bran, 1.3 cups water, vanilla caramel tea and vanilla roobios tea, 1 tbsp chia, 1/3 cup egg white, 1/3 cup pumpkin, cinnamon, ½ melted banana, and PECAN BUTTER!!! 🙂 😛 (!)

I need to focus.

When I’m most overwhelmed, I’m most creative. Today Aunt Di and Uncle Ray stopped over, and we had my Petite Abuelita up for a while so everyone sampled the nut butter collection.

Homemade Nut Butter Collection, 2.0

Macadamia Cashew:

Aunt Di loves, Mom loves, Grandma Loves, Dad says grainy (?) Moriah loved

Vanilla Hazelnut Almond (with flax):

Mom says delicious, Uncle Ray pleasantly surprised, Aunt Di liked, Grandma doesn’t like the seeds

Pecan Butter:

Mom ADORES, Aunt Di loved, Grandma loved, Uncle Ray liked, I love, Moriah liked

Maple Almond Pecan Butter:

Grandma LOVES, Uncle Ray LOVES, Aunt Di loves, Mom loves, Moriah didn’t like

Dark Chocolate Almond Butter:

Mom likes, Aunt Di liked, but least favorite, Uncle Ray says it’s so-so

Interesting results! 😛 I can’t stop brainstorming new concoctions and my brain is going a million miles a minute!!

Today, on the theme of creative distraction from cough… summer reading… cough, I made hummus. I tried using a small boiled salt potato with 15 oz canned chickpeas to improve the consistency, and it made it very thick and fluffy. I enjoy it, but I’m not sure if it will be incorporated in the future.

Caramelized Onion Red Pepper Hummus


15 oz can organic drained chick peas

1 small boiled potato, peeled

2 tbsp EVOO

1 tsp toasted sesame oil

3 tbsp tahini

Juice of 1.5 lemons

2 cloves garlic

Salt, pepper, cayenne, paprika

Hot chopped pepper spread, to taste

½ huge onion, minced

1 large red bell pepper, minced

Water to thin

Sautee the onion and pepper with a little salt over very high heat. Puree the chickpeas, potato lemon juice, oils, water, garlic, and spices. Add a little of the sautéed mixture and continue to puree adding water if needed. Pulse in hot chopped pepper spread. Spread in large container, drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with paprika. Make a well in center and fill with caramelized onion and bell pepper.

If you’re me, you also swirl in tomato paste to make it even more DELICIOUS! Viola, Caramelized onion and pepper hummus a la Meagan.

I ate WAY too many samples! 😛 (times this by ten… plus tons of samples in the Nut Butter tasting party)

So the concoctions didn’t end there. With empty Snapple bottles lying around, I felt completely compelled to fill them with something good so I created Green&Berry Decaf Tea, Stevia Sweet

I combined 4 cups just (not) boiling water, 4 decaf green tea bags, 2 herbal berry tea bags and steeped for 4 minutes. Remove tea bags, add 2 packets sun crystals (stevia with sugar) and dissolve. Pour into 2 clean Snapple bottles and enjoy!

Ohh the culinary distractions will never end. There is zucchini and chocolate chips screaming at me to bake them into this… By the way Kevin in a culinary genius and officially hosts one of my favorite blogs. Just when you think he’s great, he comes out with something CRAZY GREAT like Korean Burritos, or Roasted Strawberry and Asparagus Quinoa Salad. CLOSET COOKING: visit it today!

So on the topic of my ankle… I didn’t even bother icing until tonight, I’m at the point where I just want to say “F it, cut me.” I’m a planner and I’m just having a hard time wrapping my mind around the surgical timetable. If I got whacked in November, I’m NWB in a cast for the holidays (no big) and I can still drive (woohoo!), BUT the other ankle is where the trouble comes in. I would have to wait until at least May to have it cut , that means prom and senior trip may not happen, graduation and party are in a cast, and I can’t drive. (This would be the right)… BUT I would be out of the cast by Uni time, which would please me. Then I could get screws from ankle A taken out Dec. ’10 and screws from ankle B taken out June ’11. Potentially, I could be NORMAL as of 2011. As in I can walk. I can do dishes, I can cook and I can shop without being in constant pain! Call me selfish, but I want more than that. I want to be able to RUN again. I feel like such a one hit wonder… I’ve been running since I was 11, and as soon as I got serious and got GOOD, BAM! I don’t want a surgery that’s going to restrict me from doing something I love or accomplishing goals that are reasonable. I’ve always wanted to run a marathon, I’ve always wanted to live somewhere that I can walk to where I need to go, I’ve always wanted to travel. I just can’t believe I’m going to have to make this life altering decision at 17. WOW.

Pronating is not a joke, people!!!

Dinner time, I was hungry so I threw tons of random things onto lettuce and called it food. These included but were not limited to:

Hummus, salmon, leftover cold pasta, tomatoes, vinaigrette, mushrooms, arugula…

GAH! Dessert was chocolate banana whip with Ghirardelli cocoa. I’m not huge on brands, but I could see a difference between Hershey’s and Ghirardelli… For sure! About 1 frozen banana, 1tsp cocoa, 1 cube (about 1.5 tbsp) frozen nasoya silken chocolate creations, a little Vanilla hazelnut almond butter, espresso, and DARK CHOCOLATE ALMOND GRANOLA!

I think I had 2 oranges and lots of other miscellaneous fruit, but there’s no way to know for sure! ;-P

Ahh, tomorrow will be more productive FOR SURE. (it has to be, I officially have 48ish hours until these 16 essays are due. SWEET!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Evan Thomas permalink
    September 7, 2009 5:15 pm

    vanilla hazelnut almond?! Sign me up. It sounds like a vanilla nutella!

Leave a Reply

