Skip to content

Troy Farmer’s Market

September 12, 2009

I hope my last post didn’t come across as cocky, I was proud of the new creations I’ve made but I defiantly didn’t mean for it to sound stuck up. When I read it posted, it really doesn’t sound like I meant it to.

Onward to today… I visited the Troy Farmer’s Market today to get a briefing for what I hope will be mu first day as a peanut butter employee tomorrow.

I didn’t take a ton of photos, but there was some amazing stuff there! Authentic Mexican and pan Asian cooking, Fresh artisan breads and rolls, vegan goodies, barbecue sauces, salsas and pestos, homemade soaps and lotions, and so much more. I only bought a couple things, and seriously if you were there you wouldn’t be able to turn them down.

Apple Crisp Jam:

This jam is the absolute best in the world. It tastes like a fusion of apple pie filling, apple crisp and apple butter. It has real pieces of rolled oats in it and has a complex flavor. Pixie’s Preserves is on my list of new favorite companies! Here are some of the other jams and jellies:

Spicy Peach, pepper, and pineapple jellies

What What?! Apple Crisp (!), White raspberry (amazing, my second choice!), Black Currant, Banana Nut butter (Banana jam with walnuts!), Apricot, Apple Caramel Nut Butter, Blueberry, Cherry, Pineapple, Red Currant, Pear and more. I am in love with this company… so many varieties!!! 😛

Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and May wine jellies (YUM!)

My second purchase was cinnamon creamed honey from a local farm. This could not have been more amazing. Believe it or not, I’ve never had creamed honey before and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

They also had cranberry, pecan, and original creamed. He sold the whole honey comb, which I want to try and tons of varieties of raw honey (wildflower, orange blossom, etc. etc.). There were some infused honeys with rosemary and other herbs, so needless to say my decision was very difficult. Why has nobody ever told me about creamed honey!?

Anyway, this paired fantastically with Adirondack Jack from the Saratoga Peanut Butter company. I picked up some local apples (Honey gold?) and headed home. I can’t wait for tomorrow… I hope I’m working!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 18, 2009 2:04 am

    lookie, theres a wasp in the jelly.

Leave a Reply

