Skip to content

Nu Opportunities

September 24, 2009

Nu Naturals send me a variety of their products to test out, and I couldn’t be more grateful.

And so I’ve tried them several times…

This was maple vanilla tea with some vanilla stevia. The first attempt was undrinkable sweet, with a full dropper. The second attempt was delicious: 1/3- ½ of a dropper. I could taste the vanilla and really enjoyed it!

Tea blend two: chocolate chai, chocolate stevia and almond milk. I’m actually not a huge fan of this tea, but LOVE this liquid flavor! SO GOOD!

Blend three was half vanilla maple, half white chai, with vanilla nunaturals stevia… THIS was good!

Last night for dinner, I made Sundried Shrimp Farfalle. It came out really good! The recipe:

1 jar old world marinated mushrooms (pour in pan over medium high heat)

1 cup seafood stock

1 tsp corn starch (whisks together, and then simmer in a small pan)

1 cup chopped sundried tomatoes (soak in the hot stock)

1 tsp Dijon mustard

1 lb shrimp, raw, peeled and deveined

Basil, Parsley, pepper

1 lb whole wheat Farfalle

1 lb asparagus, cut on a diagonal

Juice and zest of one lemon

3 tbsp sundried tomato dressing (Newman’s Own)

Put on water for the pasta and salt, sauté the mushrooms then add the mustard. When the pasta has cooked for a minute or two, throw the shrimp in the sauce (mushroom) pan, cook until pink and only slightly transparent then add the thickened seafood stock with the sundried tomatoes. Add the herbs and pepper.

Throw the asparagus in the pasta water in the last two minutes of cooking.

Juice and zest a lemon into the sauce, add the dressing, and then pour over the pasta and asparagus. Toss to combine.

This was delicious and the leftovers heated up beautifully!

Desert was angel food cake from my grandma with strawberry puree and some pecan butter. YUM!

Today was a new and delicious Amazing foods experience. It’s no secret I love protein powder in cereal. I’m not sure why, but it creams it up and tastes so great! Today I put a packet of amazing meal: chocolate infusion in bran flakes with ½ a banana, some mixed nuts, a little cocoa, and chocolate covered espresso beans. I milked it (?) with almond milk and the result was SO delicious!!! I’m defiantly having this again!!!! I really liked the flavor of this Amazing Meal, it was awesome and in this application my mouth was very happy!

At lunch, I had a Peanut Butter LaraBar and I need to share my review!!

This tastes so similar to peanut butter cookie dough, it’s not even funny. SO DELICIOUS!!!

After the gym I had a salad with hummus, salmon and barbecue sauce:

And when I got home from the Open house at school, I filled a pita with homemade peanut butter (honey sea salt), some pumpkin, and a little fluff, and then toasted it. Comfort!

Well, my Dad and I are in a huge fight and I’m exausted so I’m off to bed. Night!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

