Skip to content

Sixty Five

October 1, 2009

I set a new swimming PR… 65 minutes! I lose track of laps so easily, but I think that equates to… a lot.

Ohhh Yum… this was French Toast oat bran with vanilla caramel truffle tea infusion, ½ a melted banana, a little almond milk, and gobs of almond and pecan butter. Perfect start to my day!!

Lunch would have been soup, baby carrots and strawberries, a golden delish, and a MaeMix

This Mae mix contained: Triscut triangles, granolas, raw almonds, raw cocoa nibs, and Ghirardelli coffee beans.

Lunch didn’t go as planned. The teacher who uses the room with the microwave was really upset I was coming in again. I felt horrible and sprinted out of there. I went to the cafeteria to ask my good buddy Mr. McD (food service guy at the school) if I could use their can opener and microwave. He said their industrial can openers would explode my little can of organic soup… So no lunch. Well, I can’t be that dramatic, I did have some stuff J But I was starving so I swung into the gas station before the gym to grab an English muffin with Jif and honey. That’s gas station cuisine for ya! And it totaled $.55 so I was fine with it…

At the gym, I swam 65 minutes… I had to use the pulling block every 15 minutes for a couple laps so my ankle could recoup, but it felt SO GOOD.

I came home STARVING to a hummus (homemade hummus, not the nasty sodium benzoate crap! L) and spinach sandwich. Of course I threw a little Sriachi and mustard on there…

I picked up some hemp milk… my fave! It has so much calcium and vitamin D. I digest it WAY better than soy, but it still has protein and fiber.

My new tea is English toffee herbal tea… So yummy!!

For dinner I made Vicken (Vegan Chicken) soup

The recipe:

Big bulb of fennel

3 onions

1 head celery

5 big carrots

1 tbsp minced garlic

8 oz tempeh, marinated in liquid smoke, honey and vegan worshesier sauce

1 can pigeon peas

1.5 cups green peas

2/3 cup cooked rice

2 quarts organic vegetable stock

Paprika, bell’s, oregano, parsley, basil, salt, black+white pepper

2 tsp mustard

2 tbsp low sodium soy sauce

1 lemon, juiced

In a lightly oiled pan, panfry the marinated tempeh.

Employ the soup method: Sweat the veggies, add the pigeon peas and broth, along with spices and seasonings and tempeh. Simmer, add rice and peas. Cook until all veggies are soft and your family FINALLY comes down for dinner (about 30 minutes)

The verdict: Mom, Moriah and I liked it. I can’t read Dad… he was weirded out by the fermented soy idea, so I don’t think he enjoyed it.

Banana whip with almond extract. YUMMY!

Ahh! I was so hungry after dinner and dessert! Bowl of bran flakes with honey and Naturally More… Actually, I’m still really hungry. I hope tomorrow I can get in the pool… I have so much to do!

Oh and for the record, yesterday I ate an entire cantaloupe. By myself. No help!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 1:59 pm

    That soup sounds great. I’ve been on such a tempeh kick lately I’ll have to try it

Leave a Reply

