Skip to content

Baskets, Bows, Glitter and Curry

December 3, 2009

IMG_1930

Rewind to last night: Dinner…

I was cold and hungry last night so I decided on something warm… per usual!!

Squash and Lentil Curry

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 large sweet onion, diced
  • 3 large stalks of celery, minced (about 1 cup)
  • 3 large cloves garlic, minced (about 3 tbsp)
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 cup crushed tomatoes
  • 1 large acorn squash, roasted and flesh scooped out (mine was about 2.25 cups)
  • 1 tbsp worshechier sauce
  • 1.5 tbsp yellow curry powder
  • 1 tsp siracha sauce
  • 1 15 oz can of lentils, drained and rinsed
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup plain almond milk
  • 2 scallions, thinly sliced

Sweat the onion and celery in oil and salt, raise the heat and cook for about 15 minutes until the onions look caramel in color. Reduce the heat, add garlic and cook for about 2 minutes. Add the tomatoes and cook for another 4-5 minutes, then add the flash of a winter squash, about 2.25 cups, and the lentils. Add the sauces, curry powder, and lemon zest and let simmer about 20 minutes.

Add the scallion and almond milk then serve in warm, whole what pitas.

I loved using canned lentils… it just made it so much easier! I’m not a huge fan of most canned products, but canned legumes are inexpensive, convenient, nutritious, and fast!

This meal was super filling… I couldn’t even think of dessert!!

…But I woke up craving chocolate:

IMG_1933

hmm… this was just okay for me. It was my typical oat-bran with chocolate Jay Robb Brown rice and cocoa powder with a protein frosting. It turned out way too runny and wasn’t at all photogenic, hence the concealed picture.

IMG_1934

When I came home, more curry was obviously on the menu, so I dished out a huge serving and cuddled up in a blanket. It was pouring last night here in New York! I woke up to floods on the roads… fun! 😉 The tea was Celestial Season’s Red Madagascar, one of my personal favorites. 🙂 IMG_1935

The last of the chocolate covered espresso beans for a pre-French exam boost!

After school I headed over to peanut butter and started attacking the gift baskets…IMG_1945

Seriously, how cute are those? Pictured are Maple with Apple Caramel Butter, Blizzard (white chocolate) with white raspberry preserves, Chillin’ (dark chocolate) with Bing Cherry preserves and Monkey Boy (Banana Raisin) with Banana walnut butter.

 IMG_0218

I had my favorite LaraBar to tide me over… IMG_1941

My baby with the label I designed (and a glittery star that got everywhere!!!)…

    IMG_1949    IMG_1948IMG_1946

Lots of work… right now I’m printing 300 labels and cutting them out, so I best be off! Hopefully I can get in the kitchen tonight to bake… We’ll see! 😀

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2009 11:41 pm

    Those gift baskets are PERFECT for the holidays.
    Props to you for making curry from scratch! I just by the sauce 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Not So Stellar… « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

