Skip to content

Jar of Jack

December 8, 2009

My brother is a you-tube addict and he finds the funniest videos. He showed me this one yesterday and I knew I had to make it the video of the day!!!

Today was nice, it was really low key: no essays or reports due, no quizzes or tests, no macro (!) so I was a happy girl.IMG_1996

This morning:

So. Groggy. So. Early! I obviously am apologizing for this poor-quality picture, but Adirondack Jack oats-in- a jar were on the menu this morning. The oatmeal was:

  • 1/4 c. oat bran+1 c. water
  • French vanilla and apple chamomile tea bags
  • 1/4 apple cooked in, 1/4 apple chopped and sprinkled on top, 1/2 apple to snack!!
  • 1/3 c. egg whites
  • 1 tbsp Jay Vanilla
  • Cinnamon

Heaven in a jar! Adirondack Jack is so delightful with apple oats and is one of my all time favorite “oatmeal nut butters…” It’s so hearty and satisfying! I love it when you get a big chunk of cranberry. The flavor is really unique, with sunflower making it reminiscent of a trail mix. The almonds and peanuts work in a synergy: it doesn’t taste like peanut butter or almond butter. Really unique!

IMG_2002

Snow, snow, snow it’s everywhere!! 😀 Will it be a white Christmas?! IMG_1998

I came home for lunch to a freezing cold  house, so soup was in order! It’s so simple to just open a can and heat it up, so that’s what I did…

Blah!! This was Health Valley and I have pretty bad luck with their soups. They taste like a combination of perfume and makeup to me…  IMG_1999

Apple with lioness butter

 IMG_2000

Yumm and vanilla tea for the ride back into school. I also made my super awesome teacher, Mr. Mullin a double French vanilla espresso… 😀 he enjoyed it!

IMG_2006

Before the National Honors society meeting I snacked on an orange and some nuts. I love these packs, they’re SO convenient to throw in a bag and go!

The meeting went well and then I headed to the gym…I discovered my bathing suit was at home so the workout plans were altered a little bit.

I did:

  • 20 minutes stationary bike (level 5, 6 and a little 4) this is a test for the ankle, we’ll see how it goes!
  • 20 minutes arm bike, .36 miles?
  • 10 more stationary bike minutes, another 1.88 miles
  • Stretching
  • 16 minutes abs (including 2 minutes of each plank)
  • Weighted squats ( a few sets of 30, 8 lb weights)
  • 20 8 lb deltoid “pours”
  • 2 sets 20 quad machine pull (60 lb)
  • 1 set 20 quad machine push (60 lb) Then someone stole my machine!!

IMG_2004 IMG_2005

At home I snacked on some produce, then a million baby carrots with hummus.  IMG_2010

My grandma (petite- abuelita) made stew for dinner so It was nice to not have to cook! I toasted a whole wheat pita and spread a little smart balance and amber honey, for dunking.

IMG_2009

Organic fair trade Amber Honey, Wholesome Sweeteners

This honey is really distinct… There is a strong and rich wildflower theme with a fragrant finish. I swear it tastes just like a field of flowers, one in particular I can’t place my tongue on.

I really enjoy this Amber Honey, its interesting and slows you down with its complexity.

IMG_2012

My night will be relaxing with Digital Photo magazine, (hopefully) trimming the tree, and enjoying a frothy decaf cappuccino.

I hope everyone had a fantastic Monday!!! 😀 😀

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 2:10 am

    Oooo egg whites in oatmeal? Never thought of it before, but I can see it working!

    I have a question– are you an owner of yopeanut.com? While a student in high school?

  2. December 8, 2009 3:02 am

    That honey and that nut butter both sound heavenly

  3. ohhmay permalink
    December 8, 2009 2:06 pm

    Yasmin- No, I’m doing an internship with them but it’s a really small company so I’m VERY involved… and the eggwhites make it light and fluffy, add protein and make it thicker… I love french toast oats!

Leave a Reply

