Skip to content

Smoothie Boy

December 14, 2009

1smoothieboy

Calling all picky eaters, calling all nutrient-void kids, calling all Wendy’s Frosty lovers…

 

Similar to Angela’s quest to get her man hooked on green monsters, I have been presented with a challenge. My brother doesn’t eat breakfast… ever. He’s shorter for his age and my parents are concerned he isn’t getting enough nutrients to support his growth. I offered my help and my brother agreed to drink a meal in the morning “if it tasted like a chocolate frosty.” Coming right up my boy!!

So here’s the plan: I ordered Amazing grass chocolate super food because

1. it’s amazing… I LOVED this stuff when they sent me my samples and

2. It provides vitamins, minerals, probiotics… things that Joe isn’t getting even when he does eat his nutritious meal of pop-tarts.

I ordered Jay Robb Chocolate Egg White protein because:

1. It tastes like a chocolate milkshake

2. I’m hoping it gives Joe sustained energy through the whole morning.

The plan is to make this shake with the pudding cubes I use in most of my desserts (frozen nasoya chocolate silken creations,) frozen bananas (if the boy likes that…) and guar and xanthen gum. I also plan on using almond milk so I can taste it to make adjustments. Maybe eventually I could sneak a handful of spinach in there… no? 😉

I will be linking to this post as smoothie boy makes progress and his shakes become more and more nutritious! Check back to see how close we can get him to becoming a Green Monster lover!!

What will I need?

  • NaSoya Silken creations: Chocolate

Freeze this into (about) 2 tbsp cubes in an ice tray:

IMG_2047

And pop out with a butter knife once frozen completely.

  • Jay Robb protein, chocolate. I’m sure whey and rice are fine, but I can’t have dairy and I though I love the rice, it’s more of an acquired taste for junk-food eaters.

IMG_2045

IMG_2045

IMG_2017 

IMG_2018

(Notice the calcium, vitamin D, Vitamin E, and all natural ingredient panel.

  • Guar Gum and Xanthen Gum, if you so choose. These add thickness and creaminess.

  • Baby Spinach (you may need to work your way up to this point…)
  • Bananas, cut into 1” slices and frozen

  • Finely milled flax seed (If you’re ready for this step)

  • Cocoa powder, if you prefer your shakes more rich

 

The first Joe-Shake was a success… It was quite simple (version 1.0)

IMG_2048

  • 3 tbsp Jay Robb egg white protein powder (chocolate)
  • 1 scoop chocolate Amazing Grass
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 2 crushed ice cubes
  • 2 NaSoya chocolate pudding cubes (about 1.5 tbsp each)
  • 1/4 tsp xanthen gum, 1/6 tsp guar gum

His review: “This is good: cool and refreshing. I would like it a little sweeter and more chocolate-y”

Will do! Joe-Shake 2.0 was

IMG_2110

  • 3 tbsp Jay Robb egg white chocolate protein powder
  • 1 scoop chocolate amazing grass
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 2 crushed ice cubes
  • 3 NaSoya chocolate pudding cubes
  • 1 tbsp NaSoya chocolate pudding
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp xanthen, 1/4 tsp guar

Joe-Shake 3.0

IMG_2150

  • 3 tbsp Jay Robb egg white chocolate protein powder
  • 1 scoop chocolate amazing grass
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 3 crushed ice cubes
  • 3 NaSoya chocolate pudding cubes
  • 1 tbsp NaSoya chocolate pudding
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp xanthen, 1/4 tsp guar
  • 1 tbsp flax seed<Omega 3’s!

He had no idea there were flax seeds hidden in here. So much fun! 😛

Joe-Shake 4.0

  • 3 tbsp Jay Robb egg white chocolate protein powder
  • 1 scoop chocolate amazing grass
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 2 crushed ice cubes
  • 2 NaSoya chocolate pudding cubes
  • 1/2 small banana, frozen <A little added nutrition!
  • 1 tbsp NaSoya chocolate pudding
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp xanthen, 1/4 tsp guar
  • 1 tbsp flax seed<Omega 3’s!

Joe-Shake 5.0

  • 3 tbsp Jay Robb egg white chocolate protein powder
  • 1 scoop chocolate amazing grass
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 2 crushed ice cubes
  • 2 NaSoya chocolate pudding cubes
  • 1/2 small banana, frozen <A little added nutrition!
  • 1 cup baby spinach <Ahh! This boy is afraid of greens… we’ll see if we can make this work!
  • 1 tbsp NaSoya chocolate pudding
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp xanthen, 1/4 tsp guar
  • 1 tbsp flax seed
17 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 4:05 am

    What a fun little mission! I can’t imagine not eating breakfast. Hope the smoothies change his life.
    Just wanted to remind you that you won my NuNaturals giveaway. Please email me your address to elina@healthyandsane.com so I can forward it on to the company. 🙂

  2. December 14, 2009 4:14 pm

    Hi there,
    You are such a cute poster. I am afraid I am the only person left on earth who has not been doing these green smoothies. I have no patience for blenders and cleaning it, and all that stuff. I fail 🙂 You are creative though.

Trackbacks

  1. Breakfast by the fire « Ohh May…
  2. Live and Learn « Ohh May…
  3. Ou vous sont Noel? « Ohh May…
  4. Don’t Forget… « Ohh May…
  5. A Delectable Day « Ohh May…
  6. Overwhelmed « Ohh May…
  7. 2009 is winding down… « Ohh May…
  8. Lazy Bones « Ohh May…
  9. Made to order… « Ohh May…
  10. Gettin’ Green!! « Ohh May…
  11. Resolutionaries « Ohh May…
  12. Update « Ohh May…
  13. It’s a dinner party! « Ohh May…
  14. Momma’s Instant Oats « Ohh May…
  15. Beanyes « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

