Skip to content

2009 is winding down…

December 24, 2009

Merry Christmas Eve!!!

I started my day with something “traditional”

IMG_2437

Panettone Oats. I used to have toasted panettone on Christmas Eve for breakfast, but this year I transformed it into a bowl of warm yummyness!

For the oats, I used a pack of orange spice tea and eggnog tea with my usual oat bran. I  added raisins and dried cherries, then whipped in applesauce and egg whites.

I topped it with more raisins, a little orange zest, toasted pecans and Macarona almonds, orange marmalade and a pad of smart balance butter.

It tasted just like it! 😀

Ugh, as I prepared the actual panettone bread pudding, I couldn’t resist snacking on it in all its dairy laden glory. I felt a little nauseous after and my throat still feels a little tight. Oh well, it was delicious! 🙂

(For the record, when casein slips into my diet my stomach feels like squirrels are fighting inside of it, I get nauseous and my throat tightens up.)

~~~~~~

While I take a break from cleaning, I feel its necessary to acknowledge the year that’s coming to a close… very soon.

Looking back to 2009:

December 2008

  • PR in the 2 mile
  • School record in the 2 mile, 4×800, DMR
  • Up mileage to 30-40/week

January

  • First time I noticed something was “off” with my ankle.
  • Start a blog: “Ohh May”
  • Start Physical therapy

February

  • End indoor season on a sour note
  • Take my first week off since the summer

March

  • Placed third in the Chemistry regional Olympiad

April

  • Went to NYC with Art Club
  • April 17th, went for my last 3 mile “shake out run.”
  • April 18th, blow out my ankle, crutches for 6 weeks
  • Chemistry Olympiad national competition

May

  • Published Ohh May
  • Start pool-running and swimming
  • Bike every day. (I worked out every. day!)
  • Took AP Chem exam
  • Failed road test.

June

  • Take finals, did great in college classes!! 🙂
  • Started working every day at Price Chopper
  • Visited NC State!!! Wooooo!
  • Got my license. 😀 FREEDOM!

July

  • Boston vacation with my best, Mo
  • Ankle still not healing, put in a cast for 5 weeks
  • Become an arm-bike champ! 😛
  • Babysitting job+ Price Chopper= work every day

August

  • Turn 17, get NEW camera! 😀
  • Get my cast off, find out it did NOTHING
  • Apply to Clemson!

September

October

  • Began to get really into swimming
  • Craig’s List espresso maker!!

November

  • Re-think surgery, decide to try alternative methods for now.
  • Developed “Catch Me If You Can” gingerbread peanut butter
  • Apply to colleges: Penn State, Cal Polytech
  • Thanksgiving!

December

  • New cousin!!!
  • “Catch Me” available online and at markets
  • Apply to Cornell
  • Got accepted to Penn State!!!

2009 was basically a 360 degree transformation for me. From a committed and successful runner to not being able to walk a mile on my ankle. From working random jobs to a really fun, steady Peanut Butter job! It has been really tough and I still have trouble thinking about February-May. These were some of the most difficult months I’ve faced, between my stomach, ankle, track, stress, physical therapy, work and a hard time at my house.

The good news of 2009? I applied & started getting accepted to colleges!! I actually accomplished something with Peanut Butter! I learned to swim! My stomach went from IBS so bad I couldn’t leave my house at least one day a week, to barely ever acting up! I’ve gotten a lot better at cooking! I became (mostly) vegetarian… Woah.

~~~

Tonight I’m heading to church with the family and then going to my Grandma Pauline’s for dinner, dessert and presents with my dad’s side of the family. There will be a new baby to play with so I’m very excited!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2009 6:10 pm

    Merry Christmas 🙂

  2. December 24, 2009 6:43 pm

    Wow, Mae.
    Your recounting of what you have accomplished…its amazing…and eye-opening to all the time I waste 🙂
    You have so much “acceptance” in your life and I respect that.
    I need that.
    I only walk…so its difficult to cope…maybe way down the road something more might be possible…running will likely never be possible again…not sure…not the same anyway…
    you are great Mae…have a very merry christmas.

Trackbacks

  1. I get my way! « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

