Skip to content

Overwhelmed

December 24, 2009

Hola. Christmas Eve is in 1 hour and here is what’s running through my mind: “Is it bad I want the holidays to come and go?”  Who am I?

I am a Christmas person. I love the infectious cheer of the holiday season and the cold but warm feeling. I love Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, but right now with gifts still to buy, wrapping to do, and a house to clean I feel a little overwhelmed.

My mom fell hard on a staircase today and I feel horrible for her! 😦 Tomorrow will be a challenge without her, because not only does the entire house need to be prepared for company but we need to cook (or pre-cook) Christmas Eve dessert and Christmas Dinner.

I know everything will get done, it always does. (I just learned about that fallacy!) I hope soon everyone can just kick back and enjoy Christmas day.

On another note, here’s the menu for our Christmas dinner:

Appertif

  • Antipasto course of:
  • Picholine olives
  • Nicoise olives
  • Kalamata olives
  • Macarona Almonds
  • Pepperoncini peppers
  • Anchovies
  • Provolone
  • Fresh Mozzarella
  • Basil
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Aged Balsamic vinegar
  • Roasted garlic
  • Grilled baguette

Salad

  • Baby greens with herbs and simple vinaigrette
  • Grapefruit segments

Soup

  • French onion soup with roasted onion toast points, gruyere cheese and thyme

Main

  • Beef tenderloin marinated in horseradish and rosemary, roasted with parsnips
  • Wasabi mashed potatoes with scallions and garlic
  • Roasted Brussels sprouts
  • Marinated and roasted portabella mushrooms, thinly sliced

Dessert

  • Fresh sliced Anjou pears
  • Dark chocolate mousse with cherry-vodka sauce
  • Served in vanilla meringue shells
  • Chocolate cheesecake
  • Assorted cookies

My Dad ended up winning this round: we went with beef, wasabi mashed potatoes and French onion soup. I’m hoping the flavors come together, because I was trying to tell him we’re really pulling from all corners of the globe right now.

I at least beat him out in a few categories: I really wanted to do some olives for an appetizer, and the chocolate mousse will be vegan so I can enjoy it. It should be nice! Even if the potatoes are out of place with the other courses, I don’t think anyone will mind too much.

IMG_2400

Eggnog tea and bananas make the best oatmeal! 😀

 IMG_2402

1smoothieboy From the chilly depths of the freezer: Smoothie Boy’s shake!

IMG_2403

I resurrected my Magic Bullet a week ago and realized it fixed itself. It broke last year and every time I put the cup on it would make the sound of a screaming child. Nice!

Anyway, lately it’s been doing a halfway decent job with S.I.A.B.’s and Smoothie Boy’s Shakes.

 IMG_2408

Obsession of 2009: Zesty Fries. I bought sprouted flax bread a little while back and noticed when it was toasted the flavor reminded me of French fries. Being the brilliant soul I am, I cut a few slices into strips the spritzed with oil and Old Bay. Toast for a few minutes, then let sit. Toast again until extremely crispy!

 IMG_2409

Zesty Fries alongside Generation Soup.

 IMG_2411

Obsession of 2009: Piñata apples with sesame tahini. 😀 😀 IMG_2413

I defiantly made Katie’s Chocolate covered brownie batter/ mudslide oatmeal!

 IMG_2417

I had a big bowl of cereal before we left to do the Christmas market shopping. That was fun! ;-)  IMG_2422 IMG_2424

I plan out the items for each course then rearrange them in a store-by-store color coded list. I know, I’m the biggest dork in the world.

IMG_2425

I picked up some wasabi from the SUPER-NICE people at the sushi bar on Route 9. 

IMG_2426

Citrus fail.

Hahaha do you spy the mistake? We went back to the market to get our $100 back after everything was put away.

I’m pooped and I have SO MUCH to do tomorrow:

  • Put away my clothes
  • Separate and do laundry from last week
  • Vacuum my room and office
  • Clean the upstairs bathroom (yay)
  • Bake pannettone bread pudding
  • Make the cinnamon syrup
  • Make the French Onion Soup
  • Make the meringue nests
  • Make the syrup and chocolate mousse
  • Finish painting one more cup
  • Wrap and decorate Mom, Dad & Joe’s gifts
  • Umm. Get something for my Grandma!!
  • Grab a few gift cards for friends
  • Vacuum and mop the kitchen
  • Pick up bread

All before church at 3:00!!! Ahh!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2009 1:59 pm

    Mae, try not to be overwhelmed. You are so busy…cut yourself some slack…it will all be over very soon 🙂
    Neat-o menu.
    You are so crafty with your eats,,,,nice to look at for sure…very creative and stuff…
    Hope you have a great christmas…i sent positivity toward you yesterday. Cheers.

  2. December 24, 2009 4:34 pm

    Oh my stars, how did you make that oatmeal look so good?

    And LOL most expensive lemons ever!!
    Merry Christmas, Mae!

Leave a Reply

