Skip to content

(More) Authentic Curry!

January 5, 2010

DSCN0155 

Today, after a 45 minute swim, I headed to the Green Grocer to pick up some new ingredients. I spent most all of my money in the bulk section and picked up, among other things:

DSCN0105

A mix of raspberry dream and almond vanilla granola– Me thinks this will make a delicious smoothie topper! No?

 DSCN0106

Nutritional yeast, which I discovered I adore! I think my first nutritional yeast recipe will be a hummus-type concoction with white beans, "nooch", tahini, and turmeric. Quesooooo!

And then there was spice:

DSCN0108

After doing some research I found that curry is just a mixture of spices that turn into sauces and simmers. I have used curry powder in the past, but in the words of Mallika "It takes all the fun out of Indian food!"

For my curry tonight, I used:

  • Cloves
  • Ginger (New!)
  • Cinnamon
  • Turmeric (NEW!)
  • Cumin
  • Black pepper (NEW!)
  • Anise
  • Fennel
  • Fenugreek (NEW!)
  • Bay leaves
  • Coriander
  • Cayenne pepper

Most of these were whole spices, so I tossed them all in an old pepper mill and milled away until they were fine.

Next I heated up canola oil (word has it olive is too strong for Indian cooking) and tossed in the spices. I cooked these with diced onions and garlic until everything was aromatic and the garlic looked toasty.

Next (this is the part where my authenticity fails…) I added a jar of tomatoes paste (about 1/4 c.) and about 1/2 a cup of water (gradually). I also tossed in 1 cup of chick peas and quartered crimini mushrooms (5 or 6?).

Then you just cook this lidded mixture over medium heat for 30 minutes to an hour, and add in chopped cilantro and spinach when you’re almost ready to eat.

I served it with long brown rice, but brown basmati would be wonderful!!

DSCN0154

(It also received an immediate dose of sriacha! Mmm)

This was spicy, complex, warming and reminded me of restaurant Indian food! I still have a long way to go, but creating my own curry blend was a small step toward authentic Indian cooking!

~~~

Is anyone else having trouble with hyperlinks?! Every time I try to insert one Windows Live Writer shuts down. It’s not fun after the third time you write the same post!!! 😦

I hope everyone had a great day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 9:07 am

    Granola! creative curry dish? Yeah, sounds like great stuff to me. Great pics Mae.

  2. January 5, 2010 11:31 pm

    Your pictures are great! They make me hungry!

Trackbacks

  1. Gettin’ Green!! « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

