Skip to content

Sicilian Semolina Piattos

January 5, 2010

 

IMG_2336

ANZAC cookies are an Australian cookie eaten in remembrance of a WW1 battle. Jenna’s family came from Australia and they have made these cookies for me several times. They’re my absolute favorite- I love the soft, chewy interior and crunchy outside. I love the caramel flavors and sweet coconut.

For our Italian family Christmas party, I wanted to bake cookies that would be appropriate for their audience but at the same time fulfill my ANZAC cravings. Enter Sicilian Semolina Piattos.

Piatto means flat in Italian so these are semolina flat cookies, by translation.

Yeild: 25-30 cookies

  • 1 c. rolled oats
  • 3/4 c. unsweetened dried coconut*
  • 1 c. semolina flour
  • 1 c. white sugar
  • 1/2 c. non-hydrogenated margarine, melted (I like smart or earth balance)
  • 1 tbsp amber honey
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp boiling water

Toast oats and coconut at 300* for 5-10 minutes. Combine with semolina and sugar, set aside.

Melt margarine, then mix with honey. Add the water to the baking soda then add this to the wet mixture.

Fold the wet into the dry until a dough is formed. Refrigerate for about 20 minutes then drop tbsp sized balls onto a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake at 300* for 15-20 minutes, depending on if you like them chewy or crunchy. (18 seemed perfect for me!)

IMG_2335

Enjoy!!

~~~

I’m having some technical difficulties- regular posting will *hopefully* resume tomorrow!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 7:01 am

    Hi! Thanks so much for the support! This was my first session, and I have weeks to go with this doctor. She does holistic medicine + acupuncture. It was an interesting experience… needles are never good for RSD, but in the long run it will help, I’m sure. I’ll write more about it in my blog as time goes on.

  2. Jenna Quick permalink
    January 5, 2010 10:24 am

    And they were deeelicious! 😀

Leave a Reply

