Skip to content

How To: Almond Milk Cappuccino

January 12, 2010

I love the taste of strong coffee (as many of you have pointed out! :-P) I put coffee beans on my cereal or eat them like candy. My favorite after-dinner sippable treat is a cappuccino with just a little milk and just enough stevia to take the edge off my sweet tooth.

I bought my espresso maker on Craig’s List and the rest was history. Truth be told, I would never pay $70 for a new one while I’m trying to save money for college. $20 was the right price for me!

Its hard to come by coffee drinks made without milk or soy. If you do go with soy, Starbucks’ soy lattes are 1/2 froth, 1/2 weak coffee and I always end up disappointed. Almond milk is the perfect solution to your dairy-free cappuccino woes!

(I am pre-warning you about the crude photos! There is NO lighting by the coffee makers!!)

It all begins with decaf espresso. I’ve yet to find decaf espresso beans to grind myself, so until I do (or break down and make an online purchase) pre-ground it is.

IMG_0082

Sally forth!

IMG_0074

I usually brew 3 oz of espresso, follow your machines’ directions.

 IMG_0075 

Add about 1-2 oz (3 oz if you’re going to be authentic) of unsweetened Blue Diamond vanilla almond milk from the refrigerated section of your grocery store* to a mug.

* I’ve tried soy milk and other brands of almond milk. Both curdled, so I like Blue Diamond.

IMG_0077

Add 1/2 dropper of NuNaturals Vanilla Stevia. I don’t like mine too sweet, so you may have to adjust this to suit your own taste.

 IMG_0080

Spray with 4 squirts of vanilla extract (always kept in a spray bottle ;-)) IMG_0081  IMG_0084

Once the espresso is brewed to the correct 3 oz mark, stop the machine and turn it to the “froth” function. Froth your almond milk until it’s hot and fills up the cup. Contact with bottom=less froth, suspended=more froth.

 IMG_0085 IMG_0087

Add the hot espresso to the almond milk and spritz the top with vanilla for good measure.

IMG_0088

Complete with sprinkles if desired! 😀

Viola!

Variations:

Mocha- Use unsweetened chocolate almond milk instead of vanilla. Add NuNatural’ s cocoa extract along with the vanilla stevia

Chai Latté- Use a chai concentrate and 4 oz almond milk. Sprinkle with cinnamon.

Cinnamon Dolce- Add 1/2a tsp cinnamon to the espresso grounds before brewing. Finish with a sprinkle of cinnamon

I make these almost every night. So delicious…Enjoy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 11:44 pm

    now thats what i call a drink

  2. January 12, 2010 11:45 pm

    Nice tutoria. Maybe I should jump on the coffee bandwagon 🙂
    I never saw blue diamond before…usually i get almond breeze…i saw pacific brand only once before- that was good too…i like hemp milk too…try different ones.

    • Mae permalink
      January 13, 2010 5:21 am

      I think Almond Breeze is a sub-devision of Blue Diamond. Mmm and hemp milk is the best! (It stinks at cappuccinos though!)

  3. Alissa permalink
    May 7, 2011 4:51 am

    Not to be a snob or anything but this “foam” is not foam at all. As a matter o fact these photos give a perfect a perfect example of what foam should NOT look like. Foam is dense and creamy and for whatever reason almond milk just does not foam correctly. This is why places like Starbucks do not carry it.

  4. robyn B permalink
    November 11, 2011 11:54 pm

    Re: ** I’ve tried soy milk and other brands of almond milk. Both curdled, so I like Blue Diamond**……

    How can “Soy or Almond Milk” curdle? There’s no dairy in them. Shelf life should be 2 or 3 times what reg Milk is.

Trackbacks

  1. Espresso Machines, coffee beans and espresso equipment. » Cappuccino » How To: Almond Milk Cappuccino « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

