Skip to content

It’s a dinner party!

January 18, 2010

Bonjour mes amis! Last night we hosted a dinner party so after I got done with 6 hours of work (here I met the lovely Becca and her sweet boyfriend!!)I came home and got a-cookin’!

The menu:

  • Spinach Salad with brined Artichokes, Olives, and a Red Wine Vinaigrette
  • Cranberry Walnut Salmon
  • Cranberry Orange Roasted Chicken
  • Cinnamon Orange Cranberry Sauce
  • Green Beans tossed with Sesame Seeds and Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Smashed Confetti Potatoes

IMG_0187

When I got home I started by making the cranberry sauce. My version involved honey, cinnamon and orange zest+juice. 🙂

 IMG_0204

The pectin developed within a matter of minutes and the sauce set up beautifully.

I put the chicken in a cranberry, orange and garlic brine for 4 hours (as long as I had!! Alton Brown, don’t hate me!!) Once they were soaking I cooked the potatoes to prepare them for the second cooking. 3 lbs of salmon were placed in their cranberry-orange-ginger marinade and then the chickens came out of the brine to cook.

They went in the oven while appetizers came out and with 20 minutes to go on the chicken, I seared the skin side of the salmon and then placed it on the lower rack of the oven. The chickens came out to rest and then just 5 minutes later, the salmon was done. I heated water for the green beans and drizzled the pressed potatoes with oil to bake at 500*. The green beans steamed for 5 minutes while I carved chicken, and then plated everything while guests ate salad.

It seemed really overwhelming while I was in the kitchen, but everything really came together nicely. I was proud of myself for timing the oven perfectly (Chicken was timed right, salmon cooked for just long enough, potatoes came out right on cue) but I was upset about my counter-space disorganization. I was putting the cutting boards on the stovetop to carve the chicken because there was nowhere else to do it!

Next time, I’m clearing off the table in the pantry and using that as a “hot plate” zone. Everything that comes out of the oven or off the stove will go there until it’s ready to be served. All the recipes are coming this week, but I just wanted to give you a glimpse of how to time this kind of meal.

 

 IMG_0205

Shrimp appetizer (brought by our guests! 🙂 It was really yummy shrimp!!)

 IMG_0210

Salads are out- (my mom put these together… her vinaigrettes are absolutely delicious.)

IMG_0211

Green Beans with Sesame and Olive Oil

 IMG_0213

Cranberry Walnut Salmon with smashed potatoes on the other side of the platter

 IMG_0214

Cranberry Orange Chicken with Cinnamon Orange Cranberry Sauce

(my brother ate all the skin before I could snap a picture! haha) IMG_0216

Served family style…

 

IMG_0218

Haha and my little cousin and her friend brought a giant green cupcake for dessert! It was so cute!! 😀

~~~

I hope everyone’s having a fantastic weekend. Please keep doing all you can for those devastated by the earthquake and if you have any good ideas for high-school fundraisers, let me know! (My principal turned down hats on and dress down. :-()

4News Miss Chocolate-Covered Katie is giving away Lucille Ball.

Just KIDDING- She’s giving away a Vita-mix 5200!!! (insert happy girl shriek here!!)

katievitamix

Miss Katie- I totally stole your picture and Photoshopped you in!… I hope you don’t mind!! 😛

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 2:48 am

    I am in awe of how you taught yourself Photoshop!!
    Boo to your principal, but it’s so incredibly awesome that you tried; you obviously have a huge heart, little lady!

  2. January 18, 2010 11:46 am

    It was great meeting you yesterday! We’ll have to do lunch sometime!

Leave a Reply

