Skip to content

Pajamas With A Plan

January 23, 2010

I’m sure you all know about the devastation in Haiti. I’ve been working to start a fund raiser at my school for the Red Cross and Haiti relief. Right after this post I proposed dress down/pajama day to my principle and he rejected both ideas.

After a talk with my French Teacher, she decided French Club would support any fundraising endeavor (the nation of Haiti is French-speaking). She talked to the principal and he approved Pajama Day!

IMG_0317

A huge thank-you to Mrs. Heflin, Mr. Fernandez and Jack Byrne!

IMG_0308

IMG_0310

So many people participated!

 IMG_0311

Even teachers…

IMG_0312

 IMG_0313

   IMG_0302

With a High School of just 403 students,

 IMG_0306

We were able to raise a total of $410.35!

IMG_0305

$410.35!!! All the money is going to the Red Cross ASAP.

   IMG_0309

Today was a huge success and I’m so happy about the enthusiasm throughout the school. Everyone- with or without pajamas- had stickers on.  It feels so great to be able to make a contribution, especially from such a small school.

I want to give a HUGE thank you hug to everyone who supported the fundraiser and sported their pajamas all day (or at least the sticker! ;-)) It really means a lot.

Every little bit helps! Thank you Val for raising awareness and proposing fundraising ideas. In fact, you guys are all awesome for being so supporting and encouraging.

Have an awesome day!

In what small way have you made a change?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2010 4:29 am

    That looks awesome! I remember in high school thinking “I can’t wait until I can wear PJ’s to class in college every day”. Haha I haven’t done that once

  2. January 23, 2010 5:19 am

    Wow, that’s one tiny high school! My senior class had at least 500.

    What a thoughtful idea though – That’s so great of you to put all that together!

  3. January 23, 2010 5:55 am

    Mae…you have the kindest heart I have ever seen. And you are so so cute! Eat up tiny girl ! 🙂

  4. January 23, 2010 5:57 am

    this is awesome!! such an example of Gods love!

  5. January 23, 2010 6:51 am

    What a great idea! I’m glad so many people participated!

  6. January 23, 2010 11:11 am

    Haha, what fun! Sadly, I never participated in Pajamas Day after wearing my pjs on the WRONG day. Talk about humiliation. But anyway…glad you had fun, and I want those cute slippers!

  7. January 23, 2010 12:33 pm

    That’s so amazing what you and your school were able to accomplish. Great job and thank you so much again for raising awareness!!

  8. January 23, 2010 3:10 pm

    What a fab idea! Well done you, thanks for stopping by x x

  9. January 23, 2010 8:50 pm

    Wow it is such a breath of fresh air to see things like this, makes me smile : ) such a great idea and Im so glad you had alot of people participate!!! You are a wonderful person! xo

  10. Tracy & Dustin permalink
    January 24, 2010 2:45 am

    Came across your blog from Heather Eats Almond Butter! Loved this post! You have such a big heart and it’s great seeing the amount of people you were able to get involved in the fundraiser. Just shows how one person can really make a difference! It also reminded me of when I was in high school. I used to organize all the fun theme weeks…I kind of miss it now! 🙂

    Excited to keep reading your blog!!

  11. January 24, 2010 4:14 am

    What a great idea with the Pajamas With A Plan! I’m impressed with how much money you raised for such a good cause. Keep up the good work! 🙂

  12. January 24, 2010 5:21 am

    I’m so incredibly impressed with you and your blog! I’m a middle school teacher, and I can tell you that I can’t see ONE of my kids being this insightful in just a few years… way to go with the fundraising!

  13. January 24, 2010 7:18 am

    This is such a great idea!

  14. January 24, 2010 9:51 am

    That’s an amazing idea!!! It’s so fun that everyone got so involved!

  15. January 24, 2010 11:09 am

    What a great idea! I’m so glad the school was in favor and so many people participated – I mean who WOULDN’T want to wear PJ’s to school? Way comfy!!

  16. January 24, 2010 12:52 pm

    How cute! I love what you did!

    We already donated to help Haiti. It’s so amazing to see people making a difference. You should be so proud.

  17. January 25, 2010 2:25 am

    Congratulations to you and to everyone at your school who made this happen.

Trackbacks

  1. What Are Saturdays For? « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

