Skip to content

It’s Time To Sell Peanut Butter

January 31, 2010

Guess what Saturdays aren’t for? Sleep. I love my job so much, I just need to be better at treating Friday night like a work night. I always hang out with friends, stay out/up late and then regret it when the 5:30 Saturday morning alarm rings. I should customize it to say “Time to sell peanut butter! Time to sell peanut butter!”

sellpbalarm

Here’s how my mornings go:

  1. Roll out of bed after two “sleep” cycles of my alarm (10 minutes a piece).
  2. Drag myself to the bathroom to brush my teeth, which is always my first priority in the morning. Seriously, some people would plow down any obstacles in their way to get to the coffee maker, and I would do the same to brush my teeth. I hate the taste of “morning mouth.”
  3.  Hop in the shower, get dressed and pull myself together.
  4.  Blend up some Love in a Cup*, grab a straw and then hop in the passenger’s side of my truck because the driver’s side door is permanently fused shut.
  5. Drive the speed limit to the Peanut Butter Factory. Freeze hands off while loading boxes of peanut butter into the truck.
  6. Drive to Farmer’s Market and set up. Harass guy from Mrs. London’s to bring out to coffee.
  7. Buy bread** from the best bread man in the world. Burn tongue 3 times trying to drink Mrs. London’s coffee, then finally drink it once it’s below 212* F.
  8. Wait for a farmer to yell “It’s 9:00 everybody!” and then sell peanut butter to the world.

IMG_0475

*Love in a Cup this morning was a butternut cheesecake protein shake. Too good to be true! 

IMG_0476

  • 4-5 ice cubes
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 c. butternut squash
  • 3 tbsp instant oats
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 scoop (30 g) vanilla Jay Robb protein powder
  • Xanthen and guar gum (about 1/4 tsp each)
  • Cinnamon and nutmeg

IMG_0480

** Bread of the day: sunflower honey whole wheat. It was a tough choice between this and the warm multigrain, but buying bread from this guy is like a game you can’t really lose. I promise next week I’ll find out the name of their bakery.

 IMG_0479

I get so hungry at Farmer’s Markets, so I usually buy an apple from Saratoga Apple. 😀 These are always so delicious… Today’s was Crispin.

IMG_0477 

I don’t eat bars that often anymore, but instead of consuming the jars of peanut butter that tantalize me (those are for the customers, Mae!) I usually eat a bar with 1.5 hrs left of the market.

Sometimes, if I’m really lucky, I run into this girl:

Becca’s the best (and only! :-P) local blogger. I can’t wait to go out to lunch with her!!

~~~

Sorry for the belated post and absence of e-mails/comments… I’ll catch up soon. To make it up to you here is some cheesecake protein ice-cream loving from yesterday morning:

IMG_0463

Pumpkin Cheesecake Protein Ice-Cream

Inspired by Evan from FoodMakesFunFuel

  • 1/2 cup pumpkin frozen in chunks like this:

 IMG_0458

  • 2-3 ice cubes
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast <-Best ever ingredient
  • 1 scoop (30 g) vanilla protein powder (Jay Robb)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon, pinch nutmeg, pinch allspice
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp xanthen gum, 1/4 tsp guar gum
  • Cinnamon and Udi’s granola for serving

Crush the frozen ingredients and then add the liquids and powders. Blend until smooth and uniform. Enjoy!

This is seriously the best cheesecake protein ice cream so far. It actually tastes like cream cheese pumpkin pie. Yah!

~~~

What motivates you to roll out of bed on early, cold winter mornings?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 7:17 am

    What a neat weekend job! It looks like you sell lots of peanut butter varieties. Tell us about the different flavors!

  2. January 31, 2010 7:18 am

    How cool!! I didn’t know you sell PB!! Your love in a cup sounds so good!! And your protein ice cream sounds quite heavenly as well!! I have really got to track down some of those ingredients soon!! 🙂

  3. January 31, 2010 7:19 am

    You have such a fun job! Seems like it is worth waking up that early on Saturday for. 🙂

  4. January 31, 2010 7:23 am

    That cheesecake sounds awesome! I like how you keep frozen pumpkin around, haha. If I had that for my job, I would be happy happy to wake up(that’s only like an hour earlier for me anyway).

    • January 31, 2010 9:54 am

      😀 Yah, I heart my job.
      Haha I have frozen EVERYTHING on hand, just incase I need it… this includes, but isn’t limited to frozen cubes of coffee, green tea, pureed spinach, oranges, chocolate pudding cubes… aha I need annother freezer

  5. January 31, 2010 7:41 am

    Your so pretty….you are so motivated and goal-oriented. Great.

  6. January 31, 2010 7:42 am

    What a great job! What gets me out of bed in the morning!? Breakfast of course!

  7. January 31, 2010 8:04 am

    Oh…how I remember those days when I used that that boundless energy. Hope you get a good nap in today.

  8. January 31, 2010 10:03 am

    Wow girl, 5:30 AM on saturday.. you are dedicated!! But i’d love a job like that.

    What gets me out of bed? Well when I can, a run. But right now, especially when it’s so cold outside, looking forward to my hot bowl of yummy oats 🙂

  9. January 31, 2010 10:21 am

    Butternut cheesecake protein shake?! Mmmm

  10. January 31, 2010 10:33 am

    I’m totally the same with the teeth brushing thing! Glad to know it’s not just me 🙂

    You’re so lucky to have such a great job! I wish I could make money from peanut butter… yummy!!

  11. January 31, 2010 10:37 am

    No way! NO WAY!! I had no idea you worked for my favorite PB company in the world! (I guess I didn’t read your “About Me” page closely enough) What a fun job! I can’t think of anything more fun than selling PB 🙂 Good luck at the Farmer’s Market! Do you think you could come sell down here in CT sometime? 😉

  12. January 31, 2010 10:39 am

    You’re so sweet! Can’t wait to have lunch with you!

  13. January 31, 2010 10:52 am

    I usually am motivated by 1) knowing my doggy will play with me 2) breakfast 3) loving my “job” as a student. You seem to love your job, and I’m thrilled for you.

  14. January 31, 2010 1:32 pm

    Mae–I have achieved perfection on the cheesecake ice cream front! Haven’t quite gotten around to posting about it yet, but look out for it in the next day, because you’re in for a simple/delightful treat…banana chocolate turtle cheesecake ice cream! (Say that 5 times fast!). Super delicious 🙂

    Lovin’ all the Saratoga PB swag, I’ve got to get an order in asap!

    • February 1, 2010 1:38 am

      Monica, I can’t wait to see/try that ice cream!! It sounds so awesome!!! 😀
      Hopefully I’ll end up paking up your order from SPB… I’ll include a note if I do! 😉

  15. January 31, 2010 10:21 pm

    wow – selling peanut butter! I wouldn’t be able to not EAT IT! that’s great and sounds like fun. The cheesecake ice cream, oh man!! Can’t wait to try it with my new purchase. 🙂

  16. January 31, 2010 11:37 pm

    Selling peanut butter sounds like a perfect Saturday morning to me! Since I’m not in the business, on cold, wintry mornings I settle for just sipping coffee with my Mom while Dad makes us pancakes 🙂

    • February 1, 2010 1:36 am

      I wish my parents would cook me pancakes! That sounds great!

    • ellen mohlape permalink
      March 28, 2012 5:29 pm

      I would like to sell peanut butter and I am asking for your contact number

  17. Hila permalink
    January 31, 2010 11:54 pm

    Looks good, but I believe you forgot the protein in the recipe

Leave a Reply

