Skip to content

Mark My Words

February 1, 2010

I love Food Processing Magazine. (I’m a total dork) Every year they have a food trends post based on what consumers are demanding more of. This is my favorite part of the magazine and I have some predictions of my own:

1. New higher-tech microwaves becoming streamline.

I’m talking the microwaves that weigh your potato and determine cook time and setting based on the information. With the boom in frozen quality family dinners and freezer isle gourmet, I think smart microwaves will soon catch up.

2. Cranberry seed protein isolate, Almond protein isolate.

I’ve done research on protein powders and both of these are currently patented. I say we see one of them sold commercially by the end of 2010.

3. Custom foods.

From Me& Gogi to Chocomize to YouBar to Mix My Granola, I don’t see an end to the customized food industry any time soon. I’m willing to bet the next boom will be in ice cream and freezer isle meals. Smart Choice My Choice?

4. Everything sweetened with Rebina-A

In 2007, after some research I found a (slightly sketchy) website where the author claimed the soda industry was paying off the FDA to keep Stevia banned as a sweetener.

Sound like a conspiracy? I thought so too. Well 32 seconds after the FDA determined Stevia extract as GRAS (Generally regarded as safe) both Coke-a-Cola and Pepsi introduced their own lines of stevia: PureVia and TruVia. Interesting… Martha Stewart style!

I’m willing to bet breads, cakes, cookies, puddings, Asian sauces, soups and cereals will all be sweetened with stevia soon! Not to mention instant beverage mixes and refrigerated beverages (Snapple- I know you’re next! 😉 ).

Right now, Blue California’s Reb-A Stevia Sweetener, Good &Sweet tm is 10% cheaper than sugar (when comparing sweetening power.) Obviously this isn’t the case for HFCS, but anything marketed to potentially health conscious clientele is getting away from HFCS. It’s too risky to have your product turned away for one ingredient.

5. Omega-6 is the new “evil food”

Many products have hinted foods are better with more Omega-3 and less Omega-6. I see safflower oil, vegetable oil, and soybean oil going out of style and everything fortified with O-3 fatty acids. The industry needs a new bad guy, and I bet Omega-6 will fill those shoes!

~~~

What’s your favorite product trend, or which of these 5 would you like to see?

Enjoy your Sunday!

~~~

PS. Has anyone tried bee pollen before? The bee farmer from the Farmers’ Market was telling me about it and I think I’m going to buy some next week.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 1:44 am

    I think that meat is getting better these days, and I like that trend. Even though grass fed isn’t becoming common in the stores, at least it’s gettting attention for being better and I think it’s just a matter of time

  2. February 1, 2010 2:46 am

    I have never heard of that magazine but it seems like it has alot of great information. I will be anxious to see what really happens with Omega 6!!

  3. February 1, 2010 3:11 am

    My stepdad doesn’t hop on the health trend bandwagons ever but he swears by bee pollen. He says he notices a definite energy boost from it. I’m not sure what he mixes it into though. Worth a try?

  4. February 1, 2010 3:28 am

    Oh my gosh customizable foods are SO DARN FUN!! 🙂 I really enjoyed this post.

  5. February 1, 2010 3:33 am

    Wow this is so interesting!! I love the idea of the 1st one! I’m sure that you’re right- I would love to have a perfectly microwaved potato! #2 sounds interesting! I’ve never heard of either of those- But I’m up for new things! #3 OMG I want custom foods all the time!!!!!
    I’m skeptical about #4… I’m into things being Naturally sweetened, with sugar… I’m not into Stevia, Truvia, anything like that so that’s my least fav of the predicted food trends

    Thanks for posting this!!

  6. February 1, 2010 5:03 am

    the microwaves and customized foods are great trends. I use the mircowave for everything.. even though some people HATE mircrowaves…

  7. February 1, 2010 5:08 am

    You’ve officially blown my mind with your predictions. I’m right with ya on there always being some new “evil” thing everyone’s going crazy to avoid.

    I’m not sure what I think will be a trend except for things becoming easier and easier to prepare for people who perhaps AREN’T as into food being good quality. Then again, I have no clue what I’m talking about!

  8. February 1, 2010 6:01 am

    What an interesting post! Also, I can empathize with your truck situation… I spent months getting in and out of my passenger door because the lock was broken on the driver’s side. I definitely got a LOT of funny looks from people at work…. in my building’s garage… at the store….

  9. Lexi permalink
    February 1, 2010 7:08 am

    Very, very interesting. I’d love to see the Almond protein isolate surface asap!

  10. February 1, 2010 8:01 am

    Very interesting! I’ve also never heard of the magazine. I’m missing out!!

    And i’d say customization is going to be BIG!!! And personally, i’d like to see more frozen yogurt bars around 🙂 But I am really liking the move towards tons of organic items available in regular grocery stores.

  11. February 1, 2010 8:31 am

    I love the idea of customization. I remember the first time I saw the grind your own nut butter in Whole Foods-I was in heaven!!

    Plus I totally customize most of my meals when I eat out 🙂 I’m a veggie diva like that…

  12. February 1, 2010 9:33 am

    That magazine sounds interesting. The protein powder I use (Spiru-tein) has been pollen in it. Not sure what exactly it does, though.

  13. February 1, 2010 9:59 am

    Thanks so much for the new info! I had never heard of Food Processing mag, but the site looks very interesting.
    I like the idea of a suped up, better microwave. I’m sure a lot of Americans rely on a microwave for many of their meals. Perhaps a higher-quality microwave and, in conjunction, an attempt to make healthy foods more enjoyable with microwave cooking.
    I love custom foods – I just made my first MixMyGranola order and I am already hooked!
    I haven’t yet tried bee pollen, but Oxygen mag’s Tosca Reno is a huge supporter and a few of the trainers at my gym sprinkle it on morning oatmeal. They love it.

  14. February 1, 2010 10:44 pm

    I’ve never heard of food processing magazine but it sounds interesting. I’m definitely looking forward to “smart” microwaves!

  15. Yoda Smith permalink
    February 1, 2010 11:56 pm

    Fyi, Rebaudioside-A (Reb-A) is one of the 11 glycoside compounds within the stevia leaf is produced by the action of lunight on the leaves, and it is about 400 times sweeter than sugar. However, Rebiana in Truvia and I understand PureVia as well, is not an ingredient in the stevia plant, nor is it found in nature. It is produced by the action of chemicals and stringent alcohols on various stevia glycosides. Rebiana is simply the trade name Cargill gave their chemically derive product in 2008. The FDA “No Questions” letter states that Rebiana contains residues of ethanol and methanol.

    Truvia is 9/10 of 1% Rebiana and masking agent (added to cover up their bad taste profile) and 99.1% erythritol, a sugar extracted from corn with alcohol ( a sugar alcohol), which can be hard on the digestive system. Cargill has admitted that 30% of their corn is genetically modified organisms (GMOs).

    I understand PureVia is 8/10 of 1% Rebiana (though I’ve noticed they list Reb-A in the ingredients) and 99.2% forms of sugars. Both of these products are essentially sugar products, not stevia products.

    I like SweetLeaf Sweetener, which actually was the first to gain GRAS status about 9 months before Truvia and PureVia. It is a very pure form of stevia extract with 0 calories, 0 carbs, and a 0 glycemic index, with added inulin fiber.

    • February 2, 2010 9:06 am

      Hey Yoda! You’re right, the FDA’s statement said “stevia”, my bad!
      I like NuNaturals brand (also contains inulin as a “bulking agent”) but I think anyone with digestive issues should go with something like PureVia or Sun Crystals, as they don’t contain sugar alcohols or added fiber.

      Blue California’s Good & Sweet is, strictly speaking, Reb-A. It’s derived from “natural sources” and can be used in organic products. The price is currently 12% less than cane sugar, so that was what I was trying to focus on in the “prediction”. I think they will end up supplying many companies hoping to introduce stevia sweetened products in the next year.

      • Yoda Smith permalink
        February 2, 2010 10:26 am

        Well, I understand that inulin fiber actually helps digestion and it feeds the good bacteria in the intestines, which in turn, strengthens the immune system. I am in no way an expert on diabetes, but I understand that inulin fiber is beneficial for diabetics as well–that they need fiber.

        Fyi, I understand that PureVia is 8/10 of 1% Rebiana and 99.2% forms of sugar. Sun Crystals is 96.5% table sugar.

        Thanks for the reply!

      • February 3, 2010 12:55 am

        Though it’s not the best way to get soluble fiber, inulin can be beneficial. However, people that aren’t used to it can experience bloating or cramping. As long as your system is ready, added soluble fiber is beneficial to diabetes, IBS, IBD, and can reduce cholesterol.

  16. February 2, 2010 12:27 am

    This post is fun! Ive never heard of that magazine but it sounds like it would be right up my alley im a nerd about stuff like that too I find it so interesting!

Leave a Reply

