Skip to content

Fashion, Function and Curry

February 4, 2010

IMG_0537 IMG_0539 IMG_0522 

 

5Review I am not an impulsive buyer. I work really hard, and when I see something I want I always think it out before buying. I saw this really cute reusable ceramic coffee mug (eco cup!) at the market and passed. The next time I went shopping, I decided it was a smart purchase in the long run and would be perfect for my tea in the morning.

I hate travel mugs! The plastic ones taste awful and  the metal ones taste like metal, so I thought the ceramic/silicon combination would be perfect.

Unfortunately, this cup literally POURS coffee from under the rim, ruined my sweater, and stained the upholstery in my truck! I think I’m actually going to try to return it, even though it’s used. Why can’t cute things be functional!?

~~~

IMG_0520

Every day this week I’ve had cheesecake protein ice creams for breakfast. They’re the perfect way to start the day! (As long as they’re eaten in front of a space heater)

My smoothie of choice has been a combination of buttercup and butternut squash with cinnamon. Delicious!

  • 4 ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup cooked squash (either frozen or cold)
  • 1 scoop protein powder (brown rice, vanilla)
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 tsp xanthen gum, 1/4 tsp guar gum
  • cinnamon
  • 1 cup almond milk (unsweetened vanilla)

Granola is the perfect topping. Every time.

~~~

Make ahead meal this week

2newrecipe

IMG_0511

My lunches this week have all come from this big pot of Vegetable Dal Masala. I made it on Sunday and it came out really good!

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 3-4 bay leaves
  • 3 1/2 tbsp your own curry blend. (Mine is turmeric, fenugreek, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, allspice, black pepper, cayenne pepper, and cumin)
  • 1 (3 oz) can diced green chilies (I found this in the ethnic food section)
  • 1 parsnip, sliced
  • 1-2 large portabella mushroom(s) (about a cup chopped)
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2” of fresh gingerroot, minced
  • 1 eggplant (sliced, salted and dried at 350*)**
  • 1 cup red lentils
  • 1 can whole tomatoes
  • 2.5 cups water or vegetable stock

**Slice the eggplant and salt each side. Place the slices directly on the rack of a 350* oven for 10 minutes. The oven is hot enough to dehydrate it without the juice dripping. After this, the eggplant was really sweet so I think it may remove some of the bitterness. Further kitchen experiments are necessary!

Add the oil, onion, curry, ginger, and bay leaves to a pan over medium heat. Cook for about 5 minutes then add garlic, parsnips, chilies, mushrooms, and bell pepper. Cook about 10 more minutes.

Remove the eggplant from the oven. Carefully dice the hot eggplant and transfer to the pan. Add the tomatoes, crushing with your hands as they go in, the lentils and the stock.

Lid the pan and place in an oven at 350* for 45 minutes. Remove from oven and let rest 5 minutes before uncovering.

Enjoy with naan and baba gannoj!

IMG_0519    

~~~

Last Week’s Workout Update

Last week I had prolotherapy on Monday so workouts were few and far between. I swam for 45 minutes on Wednesday and Friday, and that was pretty much it.

There wasn’t really an excuse to not work my abs (WWM2!) but I didn’t have the motivation to do it. I think I get burnt out of things after 2 weeks, so I’m going to take advantage of it and change up my routine twice a month. In one session I’ll focus on abs, in another glutes, in another legs… etc. etc.

Total swim/cardio time: 90 min

~~~

It’s my (faux) sister’s 18th birthday today and we’re going out for sushi. Happy birthday Mooo darling!! 😛

Does anyone have travel mug advise?

What’s your favorite make-ahead meal?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 2:58 am

    Mae,
    Bummer about the mug. It was really cute. 😦 I am not a fan of travel mugs either, but if you find a good one, please let me know! I usually just pour my coffee into a big mason jar and screw on the lid. It definitely doesn’t spill, but it’s not easy to drink from, and the glass gets way too hot.

    I still have my frozen kabocha waiting in the freezer. Need to some of your squash cheesecake recipe soon!!!

  2. February 4, 2010 3:17 am

    Thanks for the heads-up about the mug, I almost bought it myself. 😦 I use random mugs I’ve found in Whole Foods and they do the trick for me, though I’m honestly not too picky and hardly use travel mugs.
    Those protein ice-creams look delicious, though they also look c-c-c-cold for the winter! It’s weird but sometimes I get ice cream/ smoothie cravings in the winter…and after I eat it I feel satisfied but …why would I get cravings like that in such weather!?
    Blah. Well granola is a lover of mine as well 🙂
    Also, that Dal looks great 🙂 Making my mouth water…’nuff said. 😛

  3. February 4, 2010 3:57 am

    I am so with you on not liking mugs. First off, I am not much of a tea/coffee/warm liquid drinker, but drinking it out of a travel mug just makes it worse. That is really a bummer cause that cup is so cute!

  4. February 4, 2010 4:31 am

    that curry dish looks yum…so unique !

  5. Darien permalink
    February 4, 2010 5:42 am

    starbucks (overrated, sugary, adored/despised starbucks) has, by far, the best travel mugs i’ve come across. they have those spiffy silicon ones, that have yet to drip on me. and some with a cool twisty top thing, which doesn’t let a whole ton of scalding liquid out. (i don’t burn my mouth as often with this one. very nice.) and that one comes in a bunch of sizes, with a neat eco-green design. cheers!

  6. February 4, 2010 6:42 am

    Love protein ice cream! And that curry looks amazing!

  7. February 4, 2010 6:42 am

    Too bad that coffee cup isn’t functional because it is totally cute! I don’t really have any travel-mug ideas, honestly. Whenever I need coffee on the go, I usually just bring it in a regular mug…well, I do that whenever I have to drive anywhere, then I drink it on my way and leave the mug in the car 🙂 Unless I want to look like Lady Gaga and carry around a teacup all day. I could do that.

    Also, that dal looks amazing! I’m such a huge fan of Indian food! Making your own curry powder is wiiiise, because its very easy to buy some jarred stuff and have it be totally disgusting and ruin an entire week’s worth of curry (not that this happened to me last night or anything….)

  8. February 4, 2010 6:54 am

    Your indian dish looks so delicious!! I’m still just so impressed that you’re into such unique and healthy foods. I didn’t even know what any of these foods were at your age. I wish I knew what you know and liked the foods you do!!

  9. February 4, 2010 7:08 am

    I’m loving your blog, so glad I found it! I’m from nearby, myself 🙂 And the Dal Masala looks amazing. Love curry.
    That’s too bad about the mug – have you tried the “Copco” brand, that looks very similar? I’m SO picky about mugs because it’s so hard to find one that doesn’t leak all over. This is the only brand I’ve had luck with. It’s plastic BUT doesn’t have that funky taste or smell – if you put a really REALLY hot beverage in it it gets a slight “plastic” smell, but that’s it.

  10. Rachel permalink
    February 4, 2010 7:35 am

    That meal looks amazing! The non-functional mug makes me think of an apple cozy I saw a week or so ago on etsy. I love super cute things, but, honestly, what’s the point of that, haha?

  11. February 4, 2010 9:13 am

    Oh no-silly mug! I’m agree with you on the travel mugs, I can never find one that I like. I personally think the metal ones are the worse! My friend just got one that’s microwaveable which she loves but I can’t remember where she got it 😦

    I love to make chili and soups especially in the winter! Nothing is better than a big bowl/mug of hearty soup 🙂 Especially in the massive snow mess in DC!!

    That Indian dish looks amazing!! You keep creating all these amazing recipes I need to try ASAP! Does your family eat as healthy as you?

  12. February 4, 2010 9:16 am

    Oh, what a mess! Too bad — it’s a very cute mug. I use travel mugs that LexisNexis and Westlaw reps pass out at the law school, and they are ugly but functional.

    My favorite make-ahead meal is some kind of spaghetti squash casserole. Your meal looks excellent!

  13. February 4, 2010 9:33 am

    Aw sorry about the mug fiasco. If only cuteness was enough. I use a metal one and I don’t taste anything weird. Maybe you just haven’t found the right one!

  14. runningfromtheheart permalink
    February 4, 2010 9:49 am

    Hey May! Got a new blog… blogger just wasn’t workin for me. 😀 Check it out!!

  15. February 4, 2010 9:53 am

    Yay for making your own curry blend! It’s always way better than store-bought.

    It’s a totally bummer when cute products don’t work! That could have burned you! if you can’t return it, you can always contact the company. But I bet you can return it 😉

  16. February 4, 2010 10:14 am

    yay for sushi!! Sorry about your mug 😦 I have one very similar but mine actually works, haha.

    And my make ahead meal… hm.. overnight oats? That’s really the only thing I can think of other than pre roasting veggies and keeping them in the fridge.

    Your workout sounds great! It’s good to switch things up.

  17. Sarah permalink
    February 4, 2010 10:34 am

    This tea mug from David’s Tea is fabulous! http://www.davidstea.com/our-favourite-gifts/the-tea-press-travel-mug.html I know you say you don’t like metal mugs but this one really has no after taste. Plus it has a strainer if you want to use loose leaf tea and it has a compartment in the bottom to bring extra tea! I take mine everywhere.

    Lately I’ve been making lots of soups for my make-ahead meals. This Chickpea-Tomato Soup with fresh rosemary is delicious: http://www.foodista.com/recipe/R3WJDN7L/chickpea-tomato-soup-with-fresh-rosemary
    Curries are a staple of mine too, lately it’s been cauliflower most often. Yum!

  18. February 5, 2010 4:33 am

    I’m new to your blog and I love your outlook and eats! The protein ice cream and veggie masala both look great. Happy birthday to your friend!

  19. tosha25italia permalink
    February 5, 2010 9:48 am

    You are not kidding about the space heater! I was having my “ice cream” late afternoon and becoming SO cold!

Trackbacks

  1. And I Force Them To Eat Vegan Food… Again. « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

