Skip to content

Aw, Shucks!

February 17, 2010

Look what I came home to!

IMG_0816

Really Mom? Taped to the door? 🙂

So, me thinks I need to stop doing these “pat myself on the back posts.” I seriously hope I never come across as boastful, and this is for my sweet  Clemson girls!! (Lily, Katherine, Rachael, and more- you guys are awesome recruits. :-))

~~~

5Review We went out to Chianti Il Ristorante (of Saratoga) for dinner to celebrate.

Chianti is one of the best reviewed Italian restaurants in Saratoga and I’ve never been there before!

image 

The atmosphere was charming and rustic. The tables and bar counter were so cool and the lighting was perfect for a relaxing but fun meal.

Our service was awesome, and there was a little boy about 12 years old filling up our water glasses and bringing us bread. He was so cute!

The meal started with awesome bread, oil and balsalmico. (My favorite!) For my entree I ordered the fish special: Scottish salmon crusted with poppy seeds, roasted herb potatoes and sautéed spinach.

I wasn’t going to take a picture, but then I saw another couple photographing their food so I had to!! 😉 Oh and this picture is “artistic.” That’s the look I was going for… (?)

IMG_0821

The fish was cooked perfectly and I LOVED poppy seeds as the crust. (I’m a poppy fanatic!) It was seated a top roasted fennel which was a little bit oily but delicious none the less.

The herbed potatoes were cooked perfectly but not heavily seasoned. I love potatoes too, but I would prefer them crusted with parsley, basil, oregano, and rosemary.

The spinach was heavy on the olive oil, but I have no problem with that! 😉 I ate about half the fish (it was probably 7-8 oz) , 2 potatoes, and most of the spinach. (Oh and ALL of the fennel!!) For $25 it was very satisfying and provided enough for leftovers.

I wish there was more roasted fennel (I could actually do without the spinach in exchange for a whole pile of it!!) and the potatoes were a little more seasoned but overall, the meal was good and our waiter was friendly and fun.

My parents both ordered pasta dishes which they liked, but weren’t amazed with.

Overall:

Food itunes-5-stars

Atmosphere itunes-5-stars

Service itunes-5-stars

Value itunes-5-stars

~~~

You guys have awesome superfood minds!! Ice cream? Mac and Cheese?? Definitely superfoods! 😉

We spent four hours practicing rescues yesterday. It was so much fun, but I was FREEZING by hour three. It’s just me and 3 other guys, so we’re having a blast.

Tomorrow the plan is to Go to Moe’s for lunch. If you know me, you know I rarely (read: less than once a month) eat out, so twice in one week is going to be a super treat!!

I want to thank all of you so much for the sweet and encouraging comments, especially about colleges. It means more to me than you will ever know!! Seriously.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 7:59 pm

    CONGRATS on the college acceptance!! So exciting! Was it your first choice? Dinner looks delicious, by the way 🙂

  2. February 17, 2010 8:05 pm

    Congratulations! 🙂 HIP HIP HOORAY!!
    This is such an *exciting* time. Most of my friends are still waiting, but some have found out…and it’s just insane. I have such mixed feelings right now about leaving….obviously I’m excited to graduate but there’s that teeny bit of sadness that keeps nudging me.

    Anyway, congrats also on eating out twice this week 😉 Do you have a favorite type of restaurant?

    xox

  3. February 17, 2010 8:15 pm

    congratulations mae !

  4. February 17, 2010 8:16 pm

    Mae: Don’t you dare apologize! If anyone comes across as a bragface, I feel like it would be me with my “look how much I love school” attitude. You are a delight! Congratulations!

  5. February 17, 2010 8:37 pm

    AWWW YAY!!! i LOVE it!!!! CONGRATS!!!!! YOU BETTER GO HERE! hehe 🙂 let me know if you have ANY Questions girl! please! kbwood@clemson.edu

  6. February 17, 2010 8:56 pm

    Congrats about Clemson, that is awesome! I know how great it feels to be accepted to colleges! So way to gooo!

    Glad you had a enjoyed dinner!

  7. February 17, 2010 8:57 pm

    Congratulations!!!!!!!!
    Chianti was my all time favorite restaurant growing up. I literally always get the same thing since I was about 6yrs old- their Caesar salad and Tortellini a la pana. We used to buy their dressing in vats. They have changed the recipe (about 8yrs back) and it’s not as good any more. I am glad you enjoyed your fish- I LOVE poppy seeds and am forever harassing other bloggers to try them on everything. Milled is the best (poppyseed paste/cake) or crusted halibut, salads etc.
    Congratulations on getting into the school you wanted! That is a big accomplishment!!!
    Barbara

  8. February 17, 2010 9:23 pm

    Yay girl!!! I’ve heard MUCH great things about Clemson. And you deserve to boast a little!!! GO YOU!

  9. Jenna Quick permalink
    February 17, 2010 9:31 pm

    Welcome to Moe’s!

    And you’re definitely entitled to bragging, you work so hard! Plus, I don’t think that’s bragging, more like sharing good news! 🙂 Congrats Meagan!!

  10. Alyson permalink
    February 17, 2010 10:32 pm

    Yay! A good friend of mine went to Clemson, and I’ve never met such a loyal alum. And you absolutely shouldn’t stop patting yourself on the back, you should be excited, you worked hard and totally desire it! .. Have a great day!

  11. February 17, 2010 10:47 pm

    Whoo hoo! C-L-E-M-S-O-NNNNNNNNN! (Have I mentioned that Clemson has an awesome cheer??)

    Good for you! You deserve some eating out celebrations. 🙂

  12. February 17, 2010 11:22 pm

    Congratulations!

  13. February 18, 2010 1:02 am

    Yay! Congrats!!!!

  14. February 18, 2010 1:09 am

    Wa-hoo!!! That is such a great feeling getting accepted somewhere! And you definitely don’t come across as boastful, just happy. But, feel free to boast away – hard work and dedication deserve some recognition, and why not? You deserve it!!! Now go eat some ice cream to celebrate!

  15. February 18, 2010 1:11 am

    Congrats on getting accepted to Clemson!!! I’m so excited for you 🙂

    I love the name of that restaurant. It’s my favorite red wine!

  16. February 18, 2010 1:33 am

    CONGRATULATIONS! How freakin’ exciting 🙂 🙂

  17. February 18, 2010 4:20 am

    You have every right to put that on your blog!! You better believe I’d be proud of myself as well!! 🙂 Way to go, Mae!! So happy for you!! 🙂

  18. February 18, 2010 7:38 pm

    Hi Mae!

    I’ve been lurking for a bit, but wanted to say congratulations on all of your acceptances so far! I also got into Clemson yesterday (MA in English) and am pretty excited. Waiting for a few more replies, but Clemson is definitely a contender. Go Tigers!

  19. February 19, 2010 4:02 am

    Yay!!! 🙂 “Boast” all you want — you deserve it!

    Love the “artsy” photo 😛

  20. February 19, 2010 8:48 am

    woo hoo Congrats!!

  21. February 19, 2010 10:44 am

    Mae – congrats.

    I mean I thought you were pretty amazing when I read about the chocolate coconut cream stuff, and I did not thing I could be more impressed but WAY TO GO GIRL! What an accomplishment!

    Thanks for all your encouragement, too. It really makes my day!

  22. Rachel permalink
    February 19, 2010 10:51 am

    WOOO! I think your Mom has made her pick 😉 haha! So excited for you 😀

  23. February 19, 2010 11:16 pm

    Congratulations!!! What a wonderful surprise!

Trackbacks

  1. Humnut Humgrain Salad « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

