Skip to content

Humnut Humgrain Salad

February 19, 2010

IMG_0846

Once upon a time, I left a Japanese restaurant with a box of brown sushi rice. The next day I was snacking on some hummus and left only about 2 tbsp in the container. In efforts to conserve space, I put the hummus in the rice box and mixed it around. (I really didn’t have to mix to conserve space, but that’s besides the point.)

Humgrain was born. Since then, I’ve mixed every hummus/grain combination I could think of. Roasted red pepper hummus/quinoa, pine nut hummus/steel cut oats, and my favorite: roasted garlic hummus with barley.

Today I had some barley in the refrigerator and was craving humnut sauce (hummus+nutritional yeast) so I mixed everything together (with some tomato paste and sriracha sauce, of course!) and devoured it.

Seriously, this is the best food coming off of a hard work out! (say 4 hours of rescuing 180 lb guys?)

 IMG_0842

Cooked barley

IMG_0843

+ Roasted Garlic Hummus

IMG_0844

+ Nutritional yeast and tomato paste

IMG_0845

Mix, Mix, Mix

IMG_0849

Viola! This is like a cold grain salad and is so delicious to keep in the fridge as a sandwich filling, green salad component, side dish, or just on it’s own as a meal.

Humnut Humgrain Salad

  • 1 cup cooked barley or other grain
  • 2 tbsp hummus (roasted garlic in this application)
  • 1.5 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste (optional)
  • 1 tbsp water
  • Hot sauce, to taste

Mix all ingredients together. Serve cold or at room temperature.

IMG_0847     

I served it with a big pile of sautéed spinach (in olive oil), a fried egg and a drizzle of tahini.

Humgrain salads are so good because they blend perfect amounts of chewy and gooey. Make sure to use a whole grain, as they offer more texture (and better nutritional profile!)

So good! So easy! Try it now!

~~~

I received a few questions about Cacao Euphoria and Coconut Cream Cheese. The recipe calls for cold coconut cream, but the easiest way to find this is in coconut milk stabilized with guar gum.

image >image

Check the ingredients! Here’s what they should look like:

Ingredients
Coconut Milk, Guar Gum (A Natural Emulsifier).

The guar gum makes the cream separate so much easier, and makes for a much better result.

~~~

Thank you thank you thank you.

You are the best.

~~~

Check out this lovely girl’s giveaway! I ❤ Earth Muffin

I’m almost a lifeguard! T-4 hours. 😀 +

20 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 8:16 pm

    I have never had pearled barley – it looks good actually.
    Have a sweet day Mae (your last comment to me was real special and made me smile a lot – so thanks for that sweet girl).

  2. February 19, 2010 8:26 pm

    Hum- is a fun prefix to put at the front of words.

    Food Idiot here has never even bought regular barley. The horror!

    Thanks for that salad recipe. I bet it was humtastic (my puns suck!).

    • February 20, 2010 3:02 am

      Your puns are awesome!! I love inventing words with hum… humsalad, humrice, humgrain, humnut, humslamon…
      I think I say humbeque on another blog, I can’t remember where!!

      Mae

  3. February 19, 2010 8:27 pm

    I just might be the biggest humnut fan on the planet, so this looks AMAZING! I can’t wait to try it!! Thanks for the great idea!

  4. February 19, 2010 8:41 pm

    I love barley. Its one of my favorite grains! I’ll have to try mixing it with hummus. It looks fantastic!

  5. February 19, 2010 9:10 pm

    Girl that sounds goooood…

  6. February 19, 2010 9:44 pm

    This looks amazing! I love barley. Def. bookmarking this 🙂

  7. February 19, 2010 10:49 pm

    you are so creative!! i can ‘t wait to mix some grains with hummus 🙂

  8. February 20, 2010 12:12 am

    I bet that tastes awesome! I would just need a different grain(I think barley forms gluten? Shame, because I like how it looks 😦

  9. February 20, 2010 2:39 am

    This looks ah-may-zing. Or should I say ah-mae-zing. Haha. 😛
    Thanks for reminding me of the many uses of barley. I love how chewy it is and I had completely forgotten about it! I love this combo, too. Kind of like the spanish rice my mom makes (sans bell pepper and bacon, of course). I’ll definitely be making this!

    I was going to say that this looks far from ho-HUM, but I thought I had already made enough lame puns for one comment. Oops! I guess I said it. Oh well. 😀

  10. February 20, 2010 3:29 am

    Congrats on almost being a lifeguard/saver!!! YAY!

    I must say, reading your blog always makes me hungry! I need to try out that new sauce of yours with some whole grains… I’m thinking millet… but yeah, looks GREAT!

  11. February 20, 2010 4:34 am

    This salad sounds awesome! I will definitely be trying it out!! 🙂 And YAY, I almost have all the ingredients!!

  12. February 20, 2010 5:46 am

    What an awesome concotion.. Im certainly going to be trying this out!! I love pearled barley AND, in fact, its on sale at my co-op this week! 🙂

    Have a great weekend, honey!

  13. February 21, 2010 2:50 am

    Congrats on the acceptance! Yay!
    Normally I’m not big on eating most grains plain, but this sounds mighty delicious!

  14. February 21, 2010 11:51 am

    You are a girl after my food heart! Before I even read the text, just looking at that plate, I KNOW I’d love it.

  15. February 21, 2010 11:15 pm

    I have been mixing leftover grains with hummus and siriachi sauce for a long time now, and NEVER once thought of creating a clever name for it haha…I just called it hummus n’ rice, how boring! All boringness aside, haha, I seriously love the combo. Its a fab way to use up leftovers!

    Aaand thanks for the advice on the coconut milks, the one that I used before was just straight up coconut milk–no stabilizers. But by some twist of fortune, I happen to have a jar of the Goya milk sitting in my pantry. Looks like I’m gonna be noshing on some Cacao Euphoria before long… 🙂

    (PS-my SPB order came in last week, and I brought some of the Monkey Boy home with me to share with my family and they flat out devoured it! My sister who used to LOVE SPB had never even tried that flavor, so she was pretty psyched about it. So, you should be expecting some orders from my family members soon!)

    Whoaaa—sorry for the novel! Hope all is well and congrats on being a Lifeguard!

    -Monica

Trackbacks

  1. Flaw-free Barley « Ohh May…
  2. Roasted Pepper and Garlic Paste+Artichoke Hummus « Ohh May…
  3. Lactic Acid=Anti-Movement « Gluten Free Muse

Leave a Reply

