Skip to content

Arrrre Yoooou Okkkkay?

February 21, 2010

Ocean City 2007 (46)

The big joke on all of our vacations is my goofy brother and his cousin re-enacting Baywatch and yelling “are you okay”.  It sounds really dumb but it’s (embarrassingly) funny while they do it.

Ocean City 2007 (10)

Are you okay?!

vacationinmaryland 104

Get him a stretcher!!!

Myrtle Beach (18)

Everyone looks so young in these pictures!!!

Anyway, I’m an actual lifeguard now so I can legitimately ask people if they’re okay. I thought I would share. 😉

~~~

My dad cooked dinner tonight, and it was a shellfish extravaganza!

IMG_0944

Action shot of some plating.

IMG_0943

Pinot garlic clams. These were SO good!

IMG_0952

All together now…

IMG_0949

Look at that cute little crawfish peeking out!

~~~

I was on winter break this week, but because I was so busy I didn’t get very far on school work. Need to catch up tonight and tomorrow!!

image

I’m reading Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food for a rhetorical analysis final report. My job is to refute his argument! I think a lot of what he says is legitimate, but there are some things that drive me crazy in this book. He keeps on saying “you”, in the context of “you eat 20% of your calories from refined sugar” or “you are confused about how to eat.” Excuse me Mike, but I don’t eat 20% sugar and I’m not confused about how to eat, thank you very much.

Another thing that bothers me is his references to non-westernized cultures and how they don’t need dentists. Apparently if you don’t eat white flour you don’t have crooked teeth or get cavities. Why am I picturing our ancestors toothless then?

Oh yah, because they were.

Other than that it’s a really interesting book and I think I’ll enjoy the project. He really hates food scientists! I bet we would get along famously. 😉

Did anyone else read this book? Thoughts? Opinions? Is there room to refute his argument?

~~~

I’ll leave you with a tea review. (I updated the recipes, concoctions and reviews page! Woohoo!) Monday is more prolotherapy and I really don’t want to go. Another week of stinky workouts isn’t my idea of fun.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 7:37 am

    I read and adored that book. The biggest thing I thought was wrong and funny though was when he talked about the food ‘our grandparents” ate. My grandmother eats little debbie pies and nasty beef on white bread, haha

  2. February 21, 2010 7:57 am

    I’ve never read that book. I’ve thought about it though. I saw him on Oprah, and he really didn’t say anything too revolutionary. I think his book might be a bit boring.

  3. February 21, 2010 8:16 am

    I never read that book.
    Those pics look wonderful. You are so tanned and pretty girl!
    And your brother kind of has a look like you (obviously u dont look like a boy…u know what i mean 🙂

  4. February 21, 2010 8:26 am

    I love Pollan. I think it’s important to remember that he is talking to the majority of Americans and doing a bit of generalizing, which is well deserved. He writes in a way that makes it easy for those who do not study food, the average American, to understand and put into practice. He’s made these ideas mainstream and adoptable instead of just being a bunch of philosophy only raw vegan can dig. I admire him for that.

    You look so pretty!

  5. February 21, 2010 10:21 am

    I probably won’t read that book because I like stories — yes, I’m 28 going on 8. 😉

    It is so clear how much you love and are loved by your family. I loved the glimpse into your life! The Baywatch thing = totally cute.

  6. February 21, 2010 11:00 am

    Oh my goodness, pinot garlic clams? So tasty!
    And I really liked “In Defense of Food” and Pollan’s ideas, but I agree with the examples you highlight where he is assuming too much of his reader. Good points!

  7. February 21, 2010 12:34 pm

    I LOVE Pollan. I’ve read all his books. he gets a bit preachy at times, but I agree with Maria. The vast majority of the population doesn’t think about food the way we food bloggers do. I think bringing the idea to the forefront of the media is a huge step in the right direction!

  8. February 21, 2010 12:35 pm

    Get’em Mae! I have not read that book, but it makes me mad too when authors assume all of their readers do this or that! I do have his food rules book, which I enjoy a lot.

    But it doesnt assume that I am eating 20% refined sugar (good thing too bc I did the calculations yesterday and they came out to 33.2% – opps).

  9. February 21, 2010 12:58 pm

    In Defense of Food. Yes. I have enjoyed all his writing and work. I am a high raw vegan and very conscious of food choices and sometimes yes, his writing is for the masses, and in that sense, I am not “them”. LOL 🙂

  10. February 21, 2010 8:31 pm

    Oh my goodness, that seafood looks incredible!! I love shrimpies especially. I loved Michael Pollen’s book, even though I already knew most of what he was talking about. I think it’s important to make this information available to a wide audience in a simple way. At least people are talking about it now! Have a great weekend!

  11. February 21, 2010 10:01 pm

    Oh wow… that meal looks fantastic!!! Lucky you 😀 I heart seafood, a LOT!
    Congrats on the lifeguard!!!!

    I haven’t read that book but I want to, just for curiosity’s sake.

  12. February 22, 2010 1:41 am

    Ok first, that dinner looks amazing! Growing up in Seattle, I am such a seafood brat, I just love it!
    I’m in the process of reading that book too. I picked it up over winter break, along with a handful of other books to read for fun, and I only got a 1/4 into each before it was back to school. I’m hoping to get more into it now that my school schedule is more relaxed. Oh, I picked up Coconut Milk and I’m hoping to try one of your fun recipes today, yay!

  13. February 22, 2010 4:24 am

    Omg that is a seafood extravaganza for sure! I am kind of scared to buy clams in shells because of the cleaning, throwing out the ones that don’t open, etc… I’m scared I’d somehow end up poisoning myself. But yours look so gorgeous!

  14. February 23, 2010 6:54 am

    I’m currently reading the book as well- and I really like his style of writing, but I see what you’re saying. He does seem to have a little bit of hate in his heart when it comes to the “science of food”. Hopefully I’ll have more time this week to get further into it!

Leave a Reply

