Skip to content

Momma’s Instant Oats

February 23, 2010

IMG_0974

I try to get the rest of my family to eat healthy. Case in point: Smoothie Boy’s daily shake and Momma’s Instant Oats.

I’ve been making these for her forever, experimenting with different combinations. The recipe may seem really basic (because it is!).

IMG_0964

I use instant oats with just a little old fashioned oats for texture, dried fruit, nuts, cinnamon, brown sugar (or maple sugar) and (always) milled flax seed.

IMG_0967

The assembly line process is usually pretty fun. A little of this, a little of that!IMG_0966

IMG_0968

IMG_0969

Momma’s Instant Oats

  • 1/3 cup instant oats
  • 1 tbsp rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp dried fruit (I used raisins and dates)
  • 1 heaping tbsp chopped nuts (almonds)
  • 1 tbsp milled flax seed
  • 1 tsp maple sugar or brown sugar
  • 1 tsp dry milk powder or dry soymilk powder (optional)
  • sprinkle of cinnamon

Combine ingredients in zip lock bags. Make several bags at a time. (I usually make 15+)

To cook:

Add 1/2 cup boiling or hot water, stir and let sit for 2-3 minutes.

These are perfect to bring to work; what my mom does every day.

IMG_0973

 

 

 

 

IMG_0977

After cooking: creamy and quick oats!

 

 

 IMG_0999        

She deserves it! Look at the awesome earrings she made for my outfit the other day. They’re pink pearl with sterling silver wire. I love coming down with an outfit on and having my mom whip up a custom pair of earrings. Awesome!!

~~~

Prolotherapy today was… not fun. It hurt a lot more than the first ankle, but I’ll take it. It’s so much better than having my feet reconstructed (the original plan… eeek!)

I don’t think I’m going to school tomorrow. My parents don’t want me driving with my left foot and I don’t have another ride in. Hehe I’ll take that too!!

~~~
image 

Since I’ve started swimming, I’ve worked out by time instead of distance. There is some malfunction in my brain that keeps on making me lose track of laps!

I solved my problem today: swimmers count each time they hit a wall as a lap for a good reason. It’s easy, you don’t have to think of what “lap” you’re on, and you can’t loose track because odd laps end on the far side and even laps end on the near side.

Every 20 “swaps” (swimmer laps) I move the notch on my water bottle. 68 swaps=2 miles!

IMG_1021

So I swam an actual distance today. Woohoo!

~~~

Have a great night everyone!!!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 9:11 am

    Love your instant oats idea… too cool!! It’s so awesome when you get your family eating healthier… I’m trying… the dad is a bit of a problem haha
    Cute earrings! And yay for no school!!! 😀

  2. February 23, 2010 9:37 am

    Great job on your swim, love! 🙂

  3. February 23, 2010 9:41 am

    Great idea! My mom eats two packets of quaker instant oats – the peaches and cream flavor – almost every morning. Aka, she eats a bowl of processed sugar and carbs about five times a week. Yikes. I’ve told her I wanted to make her REAL peaches and cream oats, on the stovetop, that are better for her, but I have yet to do so. She’s stubborn and generally never wants to mix up her routine!
    Maybe she’d go for something more like this… :]

  4. February 23, 2010 9:51 am

    Great job, 2 miles in the pool is A LOT! Great idea on the Instant Oats, I usually make up crazy creations each morning and it takes a long time!

  5. February 23, 2010 9:53 am

    What a great idea to make those little homemade instant oatmeal packets. And so sweet that you prepare them for your momma!! You are such a sweetie!! 🙂

  6. February 23, 2010 10:13 am

    u feed your mom well 🙂
    and looks like u get your work ethic and creativity from your mom…nice earrings!

  7. February 23, 2010 10:16 am

    I am very unoriginal, but it’s true that you are SO sweet.
    For some reason, I thought you had been a competitive swimmer! Silly me!

  8. February 23, 2010 10:46 am

    That is so sweet of you to make those oats for your mom. It’s a great idea! Also, your mom’s beadwork is beautiful!

    You’re one brave girl for going through with that prolotherapy. The good thing is that it’s over now, right?

  9. February 23, 2010 10:54 am

    That looks delicious 😉 I love my oats but they can get a tad boring. Thanks for inspiring me to mix ’em up!

  10. February 23, 2010 10:57 am

    I make oat meal/museli/nut/dry fruit mixes up all the time and then I end up eating them all the time too (snack , dessert, breakfast, snack again). Totally yummy.

    Way to go on your 2 mile swim, that is a very legit distance! Enjoy your day off and I hope your foot gets better!

  11. February 23, 2010 12:23 pm

    Love making and pre packing healthy foods!

  12. February 23, 2010 6:13 pm

    I was going to compliment you on your earrings the other day but I kept forgetting! haha They’re so cute!! My gym doesn’t have a pool, otherwise I’d probably swim. My apartment complex has an Olympic size one that opens in the May or June. You should come swimming with me!

    • February 24, 2010 3:14 am

      That would be so much fun!! I could life guard you too. 😉
      You’ll love swimming once the pool opens. It’s great!!

  13. Jenna Quick permalink
    February 23, 2010 6:37 pm

    Have a good day off!! I can’t believe I’ll be all alone in French, but I guess we need to even it out a little ’cause I go to lessons all the time ;-p

    But I hope your ankle feels better and doesn’t eat you today 🙂

    • February 24, 2010 3:16 am

      Bahamamama (teehee) Have fun with Johnny Damison. 😉

      & Tomorrow I’ll be alone with Senora, and that’s a little bit scarier.

      • Jenna Quick permalink
        February 24, 2010 5:18 am

        *Shudders* Okay, you win. It is scarier. And he was um…. special? today. Hahaha oooh no. That boy, I tell ya. :-p

  14. February 23, 2010 7:52 pm

    Great Idea!! I should mix the oats beforehand so I don’t have to rush my mornings in infinite numbers of jars!!!
    looks like you are an almond lover too!! hand here!

  15. February 23, 2010 8:32 pm

    What a sweet daughter you are! It is so hard to get my mom to eat anything in the morning! Maybe I need to make her some instant oat packets.

  16. February 23, 2010 8:51 pm

    Those oats are such a great idea! I need to pass this onto my mom…she’d love it! It’s great that you’ve started swimming! It’s still my dad’s favorite form of exercise, since it’s so easy on the joints and he has a bad back and knees. Have a great week!

  17. February 23, 2010 11:23 pm

    These look great! I used to do this – but less ingredients – when I was going to work. So convenient and so much cheaper & healthier than buying it.

    • February 24, 2010 3:18 am

      Agreed! Haha I’m sure the packets would be just as good with less ingredients. I have a compulsion to complicate everything. It’s the story of my life. 😉

Leave a Reply

