Skip to content

Prolotherapy, Round 2

February 24, 2010

First, the food (so those of you grossed out by feet and needles can click off!)

Today I’ve been working so hard on a granola bar recipe for Saratoga Peanut Butter. I created three different versions with varying results.

IMG_1046

Round one didn’t impress me at all.

IMG_1053

Round two was so delicious, but they fell apart all over the place!!

IMG_1070

Round three has the perfect texture+look, but I think I need to work on the flavor. My brother devoured them, but he said they “taste like they have a million ingredients.”

I’m working with the Adirondack Jack (the peanut+ almond butter with cranberries, flax seed, sunflower seed and cinnamon). It’s the nature of the beast.

They’re coming along though, and I’m not giving up! I have the proportions, cook temperature, cook time and cool time down. I just need to play around with the flavors.

Here is a glimpse at the nutrition facts of round three. (Click to enlarge):

   image

Warning: food ends here. The following link contains a prolotherapy update with photos of swollen feet. Don’t click if you’re squeemish!!!

Click here for the prolotherapy update

~~~

Question of the day: What would your favorite peanut butter granola bar add-ins be?

I think

  • Maple + dates and peanuts,
  • Almond + figs and chocolate chips (duh!),
  • Monkey + raisins and walnuts,
  • Blizzard + white chocolate and dried strawberries,
  • Chillin’ + dark chocolate and dried cherries,
  • Plain Jane + dried cherries, and
  • Adirondack + cranberries, cinnamon, sunflower and almonds.
23 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 5:46 am

    Hi May and thank you so much for leaving a comment on my blog! I’m SO glad that I found yours…I’m absolutely loving the looks and feel of it all! You definitely seem like an avid baker and I’m excited to see more of your awesome food creations. 🙂 The pictures of your oats look fantastic too!!! No comment on your feet except I hope you get well soon!!!!

  2. February 24, 2010 7:17 am

    OH my girl…u have to go thru so so much hey?
    i wish u lots of luck and pain-free days.
    and your granola bars look great – you are so persistent…just not gonna give up until perfect!

  3. February 24, 2010 7:47 am

    Your granola bars look waaaaay better than kashi bars… and I LOVE me some kashi bars!! 😉

    Hope prolotherapy takes all your pain away very soon!! 🙂

  4. February 24, 2010 7:48 am

    Aw, poor Mae. 😦 Oliver sends your feet healing licks because, well, he likes feet.

    For other posters, that is a dog who likes feet.

    Also, ahem, I’d totally review anything you made that wasn’t trade-secret-protected by the company… whistle. But serious.

    • February 24, 2010 8:58 pm

      Hahahaha I just died a little. I love your dog, If you ever need to go away you know where to ship him for babysitting! 😉

  5. February 24, 2010 7:52 am

    Your granola bars still all look amazing to me. 🙂 I love figs + chocolate chips together – I LOVE both of those.

  6. February 24, 2010 7:54 am

    I think regular pb with dried peaches. does that sound weird? oh well, it sounds good to me!

    I made some rockin’ granola bars last week. It was my first attempt. The taste was so good, but the texture was off. WAY too hard. Do you think that because I used too much agave/brown rice syrup?

  7. February 24, 2010 8:23 am

    I’ll have to say, you have like the coolest job ever! Those bars look great. I’m sure you’ll get them perfect soon!

  8. February 24, 2010 10:49 am

    All 3 rounds look yummy! What do you do with the first 2 flop rounds?

  9. February 24, 2010 11:06 am

    my dream granola bar – oh wow hmmm that would be pb + coconut flakes + dried cherries (the really good quality ones)+ a chocolate chip (or two) = ok I think Im done. Thats it, perfection.

  10. February 24, 2010 11:06 am

    ps thanks for the prolo update!

  11. February 24, 2010 11:09 am

    Way to go with the granola bar creativity! My favorites are just the classics…chocolate chips and PB! Maybe some pretzels, too 🙂

  12. February 24, 2010 12:43 pm

    Don’t forget a banana, chocolate and cinnamon combination- heavenly! maybe something with coconut as well!

    • February 24, 2010 8:55 pm

      ooooh! Coconut white chocolate pb and cherries. I like, I like! You are brilliant!
      Monkey Boy+chocolate chips and cinnamon sounds nice too!!

  13. February 24, 2010 3:12 pm

    Good luck with your footsies. 😦

    I have major job-envy. That sounds like so much fun creating a granola bar. For work!!!?

  14. February 24, 2010 10:43 pm

    Ugh, I hope the feet start feeling better ASAP Mae! On a more positive note, your granola bars sound yummy and look good. My favorite pb add-ins for a granola bar might be maple, raisin, cinnamon, coconut. Mmmm. BTW, it’s so sweet that you make your mom oat mixes!

  15. February 25, 2010 8:39 am

    wow – all those are making me hungry. 🙂 (not the feet)

  16. December 10, 2010 12:42 am

    Great food….looks very tasty!!!

    Was hoping to read more about your thoughts on prolo…probably different page. let me look around here.

    Joe

Trackbacks

  1. The Dark Knight « Ohh May…
  2. Beanyes « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

