Skip to content

The Dark Knight

February 24, 2010

IMG_1097

He comes around in the fits of flurry, with temperatures cold enough to scare even the most dedicated of shovelers away.

On his four wheeler he rides in the dark of the night. Nobody knows his name, but as we pull our cars up our long country driveways in the morning we say a silent prayer for the night rider.

The Superman of snow.

Our Batman.

The Dark Knight.

~~~

There is a man that comes in the dark to plow all the driveways on my road. (I live in the country so the driveways are 300 ft+) He drives a four wheeler with a plow attachment, and I have a letter to write to him:

Ahem.

Masked Snow Plow Man,

You remind me how awesome it feels to do random acts of kindness for others. Every time a storm hits, the dread sinks in that my brother and I will be out there shoveling early in the morning or late at night.

When you show up, it’s like a little glimmer of hope for the human race. You prove that there is good and kindness in the world. Maybe people don’t need a hero to save them. Maybe they just need a Masked Snow Plow Man as a  reminder of how great it is to have a guardian. A Dark Knight of Snow.

Thank You,

Meagan

Because he’s the hero Gotham Upstate NY deserves, but not the one it needs right now. So, we’ll hunt him, because he can take it. Because he’s not our hero. He’s a silent guardian. A watchful protector. A Dark Knight.

Haha I’m not dramatic. At all. 😉

(Edit: I just re-read this post… I sound like such a weird-o!! haha I promise, back to regular English as of now.)

IMG_1095

Do you love this photo? I turned the red filter on in Manual mode and took it laying down.

~~~

Seriously though, I love the man! How cool is that!? He’s never once taken off his mask and nobody knows who he is. All we know is he’s awesome and deserves a cookie! 😀

IMG_1099

Many of you asked what I did with the granola bar failures of yesterday.

IMG_1104

They made the best oat topping in the world! The nuts were crunchy, the dried fruit was chewy and the chocolate chips melted on top. Heaven.

IMG_1105

I spent breakfast trying to catch snow flakes on my spoon. 🙂

IMG_1102

Pureed buttercup squash French toast oats with

~~~

New experiment:

Vanilla infused wildflower honey.

IMG_1006

IMG_1004

I’m using the vanilla pod from my latest almond butter in some honey. It’s been in there four days so far. I think I’ll give it a week or two before using it.

~~~

[Snow day, snow day, snow day!!]

Do you have any good Samaritans in your life you want to thank?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 10:49 pm

    I am sure that the honey will turn out great. Good for you for not wasting those pods! I can never decide what to do with mine, and that is a fabulous idea.

  2. February 25, 2010 12:17 am

    Those squash oats look so amazing!

  3. February 25, 2010 12:17 am

    We have the same problem with our roads! Oh country life. The 3 feet of snow we got recently was a nightmare for us. Such a wonderful ode to your dark knight!

  4. February 25, 2010 12:28 am

    Glad you’re getting to enjoy a snowday, too 🙂
    That’s so cool about your “dark knight,” I love it when one person restores your faith in the human race just when hope is beginning to be lost, haha. Funny that no one knows who he is, though!
    The honey looks like it will be amazing!

  5. February 25, 2010 12:40 am

    Haha I love your dramatics girl… you’re awesome!!
    And what a cool guy!! People like that make you want to do more GOOD, you know?
    Vanilla honey… incredible idea! vanilla beans add so so so much flavor. I’m a chocolate person unless there is vanilla bean involved.
    And the granola bits on top of oats, amazing. I love Glo Bars on oats so I know that would be awesome.

  6. February 25, 2010 1:36 am

    I love the story about the masked snow plow man. That is so cool…and it just adds to the intrigue that no one knows who he is.

    Those are pretty pictures of the snow–so serene.

    Enjoy your snow day!!! 😀

  7. February 25, 2010 2:43 am

    I love the ode to the snowplow man- it must be a chilly job! So nice of him to do that, though! That infused honey sounds absolutely delicious 🙂 Have a great hump day!

  8. February 25, 2010 4:59 am

    Great photos, all of them! I only love buttercup squash in oats. For some reason, on its own it is just meh. You are seriously inventive with your vanilla wildflower honey. I may have to try that…

    • February 25, 2010 8:01 am

      I agree! I’m not a fan plain, but buttercup isn’t as bad as everyone says. I think it’s a close runner up to kabocha!

  9. February 25, 2010 8:15 am

    ahahaha interesting post!!! I love those pictures!
    the oats looks really yummy ! I just don’t have time to make those from butternut squash in the morning 😀

  10. Danielle permalink
    February 25, 2010 8:31 am

    haha do you think the snow plow man reads your blog?? If so, he’d be thankful 🙂
    I’ve had some granola bar failures and they never ended up in the trash- perfect oat topping!

    • February 25, 2010 9:04 am

      Danielle, I hopeee!! My plan is for him to find it from Google or something so he can find out how much we appreciate him.

      BTW, The big quote is from “The Dark Knight” haha I didn’t just pull this stuff from thin air! 😉

  11. February 25, 2010 9:40 am

    Wow that man sounds so wonderful! I have a man in my town who does sweet things all the time, his name is “Bubblegum Bob.” I love how different places have that one legend of a person!
    Your buttercup oats look so so good. And I can’t wait to hear how the vanilla infused honey turns out! Amazing I bet!

  12. February 25, 2010 10:17 am

    aww those oats look AWEESOME girlfrand! yumm!
    have you given any more thought about college choices girl?

    • February 25, 2010 6:54 pm

      I’m still waiting to hear from NC State and Cornell, but after that I should be able to make a decision. Eeeek!!! 😀 Thank you!

  13. February 25, 2010 12:35 pm

    haha, I love the open letter to your samaritan! NYCers can be so rude, but whenever someone is nice and does a good deed (even if not for me!)..it makes me smile, wish they could get a thank you every time!

  14. February 25, 2010 12:38 pm

    Your posts always make me smile 🙂 .. love the pictures!

  15. February 25, 2010 6:56 pm

    Yay for countrified extremely long driveways! I remember ours was way back in the woods. A little scary :O I loved the man who plowed our roads, too – even though he wasn’t supposed to (town employee), he would plow our enormous driveway so that I wouldn’t have to shovel it by hand. What a great guy!

    Vanilla honey … *droooool*

  16. February 25, 2010 11:52 pm

    That was so ridiculous but I loved it! We need to have another co-op adventure soon. I’m going to the Troy Farmers’ Market on Saturday to buy more PB!

Trackbacks

  1. A day in the life of Mae « Ohh May…
  2. Decadent Vanilla Bean Honey « Ohh May…

Leave a Reply

