Skip to content

Vegan Overnight Oats

March 1, 2010

IMG_1287

So to all of you that eat those delicious sounding overnight oats concoctions, you make me jealous. Dairy allergy=no Greek yogurt=no overnight oats. But wile shopping at the co-op with Miss Becca, guess what I grabbed?

IMG_1272 IMG_1273

Coconut milk yogurt. I’ve tried it once before and it was way too sweet for me, but when I saw it in plain I thought I would give it a shot.

IMG_1274

Nutrition+ ingredients. It’s interesting that even the plain has 12 g of sugar. When you open the coconut milk yogurt, it looks like opaque jell-o. It’s really not appetizing. 

IMG_1276

I’ve never tried muesli (this was Udi’s brand) and thought this was the perfect opportunity.

 IMG_1277 IMG_1278 

  • 170 g container plain coconut milk yogurt
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup Udi’s muesli
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp rolled oats
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 over-ripe banana

Mix everything together, cover, and “marinate” overnight.

  • 1 tbsp sunflower seed butter
  • 1 tbsp almond milk
  • Drizzle vanilla bean honey
  • Granola

Microwave the sunbutter+ almond milk for 20 seconds. Stir together until fully combined, then drizzle on oats. Sprinkle with granola and drizzle with honey.

Viola, overnight oats for the herbivores! 🙂 Even though the yogurt initially freaked me out, this was really delicious. A treat for sure… perfect for Saturday mornings before work.

IMG_1284

~~~

I clogged my tea infuser with another barley tea experiment. Does anyone have suggestions to clear it out? I can’t actually acces the mesh with a cloth because it’s between layers of plastic. I’m not happy!

If you haven’t already, check out my marshmallow step-by-step recipe on Eating Bender! While your at it, watch Jenn’s engagement photo slide show. It’s so cute!!!

I hope you have a great Sunday!!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 3:38 am

    I love overnight oats!! I don’t make them nearly as often as I used to. I should make them soon!!!!! Your’s look great, esp with the chia seeds!! 🙂

  2. March 1, 2010 3:43 am

    mmm those oats look good! Though Greek Yogurt’s my favorite, I also really like the soy and coconut varieties but usually avoid them because of the sugar content, but oh does it taste good!

  3. March 1, 2010 3:52 am

    I must try overnight oats soon. I havent seen coconut yogurt, I like coconut milk though…and that muslei looks great Mae. Nice post.

  4. March 1, 2010 4:15 am

    I always use that coconut yogurt for my overnight oats 😉
    I’ve recently developed an addiction to soy yogurt as well – are you not a fan of soy?
    Also, how was the muesli/ how did the texture differ from regular oats? I’ve been dying to try Udi’s but I have way too many oats that I need to eat my way through first.

    • March 1, 2010 4:40 am

      Serena, Soy bothers my stomach a little. Not a huge fan. To tell you the truth, I’ve never had overnight oats before so I don’t really have anything to compare it to!

  5. March 1, 2010 5:12 am

    You and Rebecca are SO lucky to have such an awesome, health food co-cop!!! I’m so jealous… maybe you can drop a hint to the manager to open another one up in Chicago 😉

  6. March 1, 2010 5:30 am

    Oh girl.. I love my overnight oats but wow those look amazing!!! The muesili is a great idea! And adding the banana the night before..yum!
    Poor you! can’t imagine life without Greek yogurt…

  7. Danielle permalink
    March 1, 2010 5:57 am

    I loved the guest post 😀
    I’ve been experimenting with homemade yogurts. I’ve tried soy, hemp, coconut, and almond (I don’t recommend almond :?) But they always turn out tasty! I just haven’t figured out how to thicken them up to Greek yogurt consistency. grrrrrr

    • March 1, 2010 5:57 am

      Really!!?? I need to do this. Where did you find the cultures?

      • Danielle permalink
        March 1, 2010 8:28 am

        I’ve been using coconut milk yogurt (the one in your post!) as the starter. Maybe that’s why it’s not thickening up??

      • March 1, 2010 10:04 pm

        I think Coconut milk has stabilizing ingredients, I remember reading that that can prevent thickening, but I’ve never tried it before.
        You’ve inspired me, this is my next project!

  8. March 1, 2010 7:09 am

    This sounds great! I loe the so delicious soy yogurts. I just don’t like how they add sugar to the plain ones

  9. March 1, 2010 7:51 am

    I like making oatmeal the day of . . . the process is kind of calming for me. But I get a kick out of people who do it over the course of two calendar days.

    Hope you had a great weekend!

  10. March 1, 2010 7:58 am

    Your oatmeal looks lovely. 🙂 I tried overnight oats and am not really a fan, but I wish I was!

  11. March 1, 2010 8:10 am

    That looks wonderful!

  12. March 1, 2010 9:45 am

    I tried the blueberry flavor of this yogurt just a little while ago! Not bad! I always get overnight oats envy, too, so I need to try your combo!

  13. March 1, 2010 6:45 pm

    Yum yum! Overnight oats are nicely convenient for those busy days 🙂 Have you tried the So Delicious Coconut milk ice cream? The yogurts look like they have a lot of sugar because coconut milk has natural sugar of its own. Of course, the ice cream had plenty of added sugar 😛

    • March 1, 2010 10:06 pm

      MMmmmm The ice cream is good (but so expensive!) I don’t really mind added sugar, I thought it was interesting though!

  14. March 2, 2010 1:36 pm

    This looks great. I used to make an overnight oats recipe–it was actually called museli–that used apple juice, water, dried fruit, apples and oats that I really liked. Now that I think of it, though, I did dollop it with yogurt once it was done. 😛 I suppose I could skip that, though, or make my own: http://havecakewilltravel.com/2009/05/26/homemade-sorta-soygurt/

  15. April 8, 2010 9:50 am

    im doing a spin off of these tomorrow!!! Expect an AM shout out my love!

  16. August 19, 2010 7:03 am

    I’ve never tried coconut yogurt, is it completely vegan?

Trackbacks

  1. Oh She Glows » Blog Archive » Easy Vegan Overnight Oats
  2. Decadent Vanilla Bean Honey « Ohh May…
  3. ! Oats ! «
  4. Spectacular St. Helens «
  5. Overnight Oats! « Adventures with Little Miss
  6. A Week Of Firsts And Personal Bests | Learn Fitness
  7. Overnight Oats Part One « Fresh … A New Chapter
  8. EarthFare, Carob Vegan Overnight Oats, Sushi, and Beer Review « happypuppyluckylady

Leave a Reply

